Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation KIMONO

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: Kosovo Verification Mission (KVM)

International Mission Name: Kosovo Verification Mission (KVM)

Mandating Organization: OSCE

Region Name: Europe

Location: Kosovo

Mission Date: October 1998 - March 1999

Canadian Operation:

Op KIMONO- October 1998 to 23 March 1999

Mission Mandate:

Their mandate was to verify compliance by all parties in Kosovo with UN Security Council Resolution 1199, verify the cease-fire, monitor movements of forces, look for and report unsanctioned road blocks, monitor border control activities, and promote human rights and democracy-building. To supervise elections and to ensure their openness and fairness in accordance with regulations and procedures agreed.

Supported by UNSCR 1160, 1199 and 1203 (Chapter VII)

Mission/Operation Notes:

During the spring and summer of 1998, hostilities between Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (FRY) forces, and the underground Kosovo Liberation Army (KLA) had reached the boiling point. FRY forces had carried out several “security” operations between mid-February and Mid-September 1998 and had implemented a “scorch the earth” policy that significantly reduced the ability of the KLA to carry out any of its own attacks, and allowed the Serbian forces to gain at least temporary control of the province.

Commencing in June 1998, several countries contributed military and diplomatic observers to an ad hoc mission (Kosovo Diplomatic Observer Mission – KDOM). Each of the five missions operated independently in an effort to stay apprised of the situation within the province.

In September 1998, the UN issued UNSCR 1199 under chapter VII of the UN charter expressing concern about the situation in Kosovo. It also sent US Special Envoy Richard Holbrooke to negotiate a monitoring and cease-fire agreement with FRY President Slobodan. According to the agreement the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) would establish a Kosovo Verification Mission (KVM) to monitor the situation on the ground. And under the direction of NATO, an operation would be established to monitor the situation from the air (Op EAGLE EYE). On 24 October 1998, the United Nations Security Council passed Resolution 1203 supporting the establishment of both operations and late October KVM began operations.

To help coordinate the efforts of the OSCE and NATO, the Kosovo Verification Coordination Centre (KVCC) was established in Kumanovo, in the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia. Manned 24 hours a day, the 60-man team from various NATO nations performed the duties of liaison, planning coordination and information exchange between the two missions. By tracking both operations, the centre was able to coordinate efforts between missions and provide NATO headquarters in Brussels with a clear picture of the situation in Kosovo. Canada’s contribution to the KVCC was in support of Operation EAGLE EYE under the designation Operation KAYAK. Canada supplied one senior liaison officer (LO), one billeting NCO, and six military police officers for security.

Though the number of KVM verification personnel was initially set at 2000, the number never rose above 1350. OSCE KVM established five Regional Centers (RCs) in Pec, Prizren, Kosovska Mitrovica, Gnjilane, and Pristina. Their mandate was to verify compliance by all parties in Kosovo with UN Security Council Resolution 1199, verify the cease-fire, monitor movements of forces, look for and report unsanctioned road blocks, monitor border control activities, and promote human rights and democracy-building.

Canada’s contribution to OSCE KVM consisted of up to 60 civilian and police personnel, and a military component under the designation Operation KIMONO, consisting of 23 CF personnel. The main body of the military component deployed to Kosovo in November and December of 1998, with the two CF personnel assigned to the Kosovo Diplomatic Observer Mission (KDOM) being reassigned to the KVM operation in December 1998 thus closing out that mission.

While the FRY retained overall responsibility for the security of the OSCE personnel deployed in Kosovo, NATO took the extra precaution of establishing a 1500 man strong Extraction Force operating in the Former Republic of Macedonia (FYROM) under the Operation name JOINT GUARANTOR incase the situation deteriorated. Canada committed approximately 62 support personnel to this force under the designation Op GUARANTOR. The operation included airfield construction engineers, medical and headquarters personnel who were deployed to Kumanovo, in the FYROM in mid-December.

Despite the KVM presence, the situation in Kosovo flared up again at the beginning of 1999. On the morning of 20 March 1999, the OSCE placed all members of KVM and Op KIMINO on three hours notice to move, and began to evacuate them to the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM). When negotiations failed, NATO began air strikes against the FRY and all members of Op KIMONO were repatriated to Canada. With an air campaign in progress it was impossible to return to Kosovo, resulting in the complete loss of all personal and military kit left behind. This marked the end of Canada’s contribution to the mission.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) KIMONO

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Mission de vérification au Kosovo (MVK)

Nom de la mission internationale: Mission de vérification au Kosovo (MVK)

Organisme responsable: Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (OSCE)

Opération canadienne:

Op KIMONO- d’octobre 1998 au 23 mars 1999

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Kosovo

Date: octobre 1998 - mars 1999

Mandat de la mission:

La mission était de surveiller le respect de la résolution 1199 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies par toutes les parties au Kosovo, de veiller à l’application du cessez-le-feu, de contrôler les déplacements des forces, d’observer et de signaler tous les barrages routiers non autorisés, de surveiller les activités de contrôle des frontières et de favoriser les droits de la personne et l’établissement de la démocratie. Elle était aussi de superviser les élections et de veiller à leur équité et leur transparence conformément aux règlements et aux procédures convenus.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

Au printemps et à l’été 1998, les hostilités entre les forces de la République fédérale de Yougoslavie (FRY) et l’Armée de libération du Kosovo (UÇK) clandestine ont atteint un point culminant. Les forces de la FRY avaient lancé plusieurs opérations de « sécurité » entre la mi-février et la mi-septembre 1998, en plus d’adopter une « politique de la terre brûlée » qui avait fortement réduit la capacité d’attaque de l’UÇK et avait ainsi permis aux forces serbes de reprendre le contrôle de la province, temporairement du moins.

Dès juin 1998, plusieurs pays ont dépêché des observateurs militaires et diplomatiques dans le cadre d’une mission ad hoc (Mission d’observation diplomatique au Kosovo – KDOM). Les cinq missions travaillaient indépendamment dans leurs efforts pour rester informées de la situation dans la province.

En septembre 1998, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a voté la résolution 1199 aux termes du chapitre VII de la Charte des Nations Unies, exprimant ainsi ses inquiétudes quant à la situation au Kosovo. Les Nations Unies ont également chargé Richard Holbrooke, envoyé spécial des États-Unis, de négocier une entente de cessez-le-feu et de surveillance avec le président de la FRY, Slobodan Milosevic. Conformément à l’entente, l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (OSCE) devait lancer une mission de vérification au Kosovo (MVK) pour surveiller la situation au sol, et l’OTAN devait mettre en œuvre une opération pour patrouiller des airs (Op Eagle Eye). La résolution 1203 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, votée le 24 octobre, appuyait la mise en œuvre des deux opérations, et les activités de la MVK ont commencé à la fin du mois d’octobre.

Pour aider à la coordination des efforts de l’OCSE et de l’OTAN, le centre de coordination de la vérification au Kosovo (KVCC) a été installé à Kumanovo, dans l’ancienne République yougoslave de Macédoine. Active 24 heures par jour, l’équipe, constituée de 60 personnes de différents pays membres de l’OTAN, était chargée des échanges d’information, de la coordination, de la planification et de la liaison entre les deux missions. En faisant le suivi des deux opérations, le centre pouvait coordonner les efforts entre les missions et informer clairement le siège de l’OTAN à Bruxelles de la situation au Kosovo. La contribution du Canada au KVCC, appelée opération Kayak, avait pour objectif de soutenir l’opération Eagle Eye de l’OTAN. Le Canada y a envoyé un officier de liaison supérieur, un sous-officer de cantonnement et six policiers militaires pour la sécurité.

Même si l’effectif de vérification de la MVK avait été fixé à 2 000 officiers au début, il n’a jamais dépassé 1 350. La MVK de l’OSCE a installé cinq centres régionaux à Pec, Prizren, Kosovska Mitrovica, Gnjilane et Pristina. Ceux-ci avaient pour mandat de vérifier le respect de la résolution 1199 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies par les parties, de veiller au cessez-le-feu, de surveiller les déplacements des forces, d’observer et de signaler les barrages routiers non autorisés, de surveiller les activités de contrôle des frontières et de favoriser les droits de la personne et l’établissement de la démocratie.

La contribution canadienne à la MVK de l’OSCE a compté jusqu’à 60 civils et policiers ainsi qu’une composante militaire, sous la désignation d’opération Kimono comptant 23 membres des Forces canadiennes (FC). L’ensemble de la composante militaire déployée au Kosovo en novembre et en décembre 1998 et les deux membres des FC affectés à la mission d’observation diplomatique au Kosovo (KDOM) ont été réaffectés à l’opération de MVK en décembre 1998, ce qui a mis fin à cette mission.

Même si la FRY était responsable de la sécurité générale du personnel de l’OSCE déployé au Kosovo, l’OTAN a cru bon de prendre des précautions supplémentaires en établissant une force d’extraction de 1 500 militaires dans l’ancienne République yougoslave de Macédoine, l’opération Joint Guarantor, au cas où la situation tournerait mal. À la mi-décembre, dans le cadre de l’opération canadienne Guarantor, le Canada a envoyé à Kumanovo, en Macédoine, environ 62 militaires de soutien, dont des spécialistes du génie d’aviation, du personnel d’état-major et du personnel médical.

Malgré la présence de la MVK, la situation au Kosovo s’est mise à dégénérer de nouveau au début de 1999. Le matin du 20 mars 1999, l’OSCE a donné un préavis de mouvement de trois heures aux membres de la MVK et de l’opération Kimono et a commencé à les évacuer vers l’ancienne République yougoslave de la Macédoine. Suite à l’échec des négociations, l’OTAN a lancé une campagne d’attaques aériennes sur la FRY et tous les membres de l’opération Kimono ont été rapatriés au Canada. La mise en œuvre de la campagne aérienne a rendu impossible le retour au Kosovo, ce qui a entraîné la perte de tout l’équipement militaire et personnel laissé sur place. Cet échec a mis fin à la contribution du Canada à cette mission.

Haut de la page