Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation KINETIC

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

KINETIC
Photo by MCpl Ken Allan,
DGPA/J5PA Combat Camera

On the Kosovo-Serbia border, Federal Republic
of Yugoslavia Soldiers of The Royal Canadian
Dragoons use the surveillance equipment
in their Coyote reconnaissance vehicles to
overlook the Serbian border town of
Prešovo from high ground in the American
sector of Kosovo.

International Information

International Operation Name: Kosovo Force

International Mission Name: Kosovo Force (KFOR)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Europe

Location: Kosovo

Mission Date: 24 March 1999 - Present

Mission Mandate:

The objectives of KFOR are to establish and maintain a secure environment in Kosovo, including public safety and order; to monitor, verify and when necessary, enforce compliance with the agreements that ended the conflict; and to provide assistance to the UN Mission in Kosovo (UNMIK).

Mission/Operation Notes:

During the spring and summer of 1998, open conflict between the Kosovo Liberation Army (KLA), the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (FRY) and Serbia’s Ministry of Interior Police (MUP) forces, led to the United Nations passing Resolution 1199 calling for an immediate cease-fire and the drawdown of Serb forces in Kosovo. US special envoy Richard Holbrooke negotiated with FRY President Slobodan Milosevic in early October 1998 in an attempt to have the FRY comply with the UN resolution. Finally, following nine days of intense negotiations, an agreement was reached that allowed for the establishment of two monitoring operations. It was agreed that the Kosovo Verification Mission (KVM)(Op KIMONO) would monitor the situation on the ground, and that the NATO led Operation EAGLE EYE (Op KAYAK) would conduct unarmed monitoring operations from the air.

Despite written agreement, FRY continued to be built up its forces in Kosovo during the latter part of 1998, and open conflict continued in the face of KVM monitors. This open disregard for the agreement lead a group of nations called the Contact Group to bring the parties involved in the dispute to Rambouillet, France in February 1999 in an effort to find a diplomatic solution to the situation.

Negotiations at Rambouillet, and later in Paris, led to a basic agreement with the Kosovars but one that the government of the FRY refused to accept. In March of 1999, the failure of the Kosovo Liberation Army, and FRY forces to comply with the basic tenants of UN Security Council Resolution 1199, forced the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) to pull all Kosovo Verification Monitors (KVM) out of Kosovo.

In the face of continued warnings that NATO military action was imminent, a final diplomatic effort was made to reach agreement. When these efforts failed, NATO pursued military action and on 24 March 1999 NATO launched Operation ALLIED FORCE and began air operations against FRY. The purpose of the air operations was to restore peace and security to the area and thereby resolve the humanitarian crisis in Kosovo. Milosevic’s forces responded with an all-out campaign to ethnically cleanse Kosovo of its Albanian population driving hundreds of thousands of Albanians across the border into Macedonia, Albania, and Montenegro.

When the bombing campaign began, the Canadian military element consisted of six CF-18s stationed at Aviano, Italy - code-named Task Force Aviano, Operation ECHO. These aircraft began their attacks over Yugoslavia on 24 March in conjunction with dozens of other NATO aircraft. Within a week, this Task Force was increased when it was announced that six more aircraft and support personnel would be joining the TF. On 17 April the Defence Minister announced a further increase in the Canadian contingent with the addition of a further six aircraft, and an additional 50 support personnel, thus bringing the total number of aircraft to eighteen, and the total support personnel to 300. NATO commanders and the Yugoslav government signed The Military Technical Agreement that brought a suspension of the bombing on 10 June. Ten days later, on 20 June, the NATO Secretary General formally ended the air campaign.

Though KFOR continues to operate at a much-reduced size, at its height it comprised more than 50,000 personnel from 45 NATO and non-NATO countries. To date KFOR has helped more than 1.3 million Kosovo Albanians return to their homes and villages; cleared more than 16,000 houses, 1,165 schools and almost 2,000 kilometres of roads of mines and unexploded ordnance; and continues to support some 4,500 international Police as part of the United Nations Mission in Kosovo (UNMIK).

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (KINETIC)

Name: KINETIC

Date: 24 March 1999 - 21 June 2000

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

The end of the air campaign required peacekeepers on the ground to enforce the cease-fire. In late April 1999 the Canadian government was asked to provide an armoured reconnaissance squadron and support units as part of a British led armoured brigade then being deployed into the neighbouring Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia as part of NATO’s Allied Rapid Reaction Corps.

Approximately 800 Canadian troops arrived in Macedonia in May of 1999, joining the 4th (UK) Armoured Brigade under the Canadian designation Operation KINETIC (NATO designation Operation JOINT GUARDIAN). In addition to national command and support element personnel, a reconnaissance squadron equipped with the new Coyote reconnaissance vehicle from Lord Strathcona’s Horse (Royal Canadians), a helicopter detachment equipped with eight Griffon helicopters, and engineers formed the initial Canadian contribution. On 12 June 1999, the first elements of KFOR entered Kosovo. As agreed to in the Military Technical Agreement, deployment of the Kosovo Force (KFOR) was synchronized with the departure of Serb security forces from Kosovo. By 20 June the Serb withdrawal was complete and KFOR was well established in Kosovo.

The Canadian reconnaissance squadron arrived in the vanguard of the British armoured brigade, while other Canadians soon followed or were fully tasked in support roles in Macedonia. KFOR elements were deployed to assist with the implementation of the cease-fire, provide public security for civilians, assist displaced persons in returning home safely, provide humanitarian relief and assist international organizations and non-governmental organizations in their efforts.

Soon after KFOR’s initial deployment into Kosovo the Canadian government announced that an additional 500 troops would be added to the Canadian contingent. Soldiers from the 1st Battalion, Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry, and tanks from the Strathconas were formed into an infantry battle group with armoured support. The battalion began its deployment in early July and soon replaced overburdened British infantry units. The new arrivals raised the total strength of Operation KINETIC to approximately 1,400 personnel.

In December 1999 the first rotation of Canadian Forces units serving with Operation KINETIC took place, and after performing duties similar to those of the first Canadians deployed, all Canadian military personnel were withdrawn from KFOR in June of 2000.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) KINETIC

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

KINETIC
Photo par le cplc Ken Allan,
DGAP/Caméra de combat J5 AP

Sur la frontière du Kosovo et de la Serbie,
République fédérative de Yougoslavie Des soldats du
Royal Canadian Dragoons utilisent l'équipement de
surveillance de leurs véhicules de reconnaissance
Coyote pour observer la ville frontalière serbe de
Prešovo à partir d'un terrain surélevé dans le
secteur Américain au Kosovo.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Force pour le Kosovo

Nom de la mission internationale: Force pour le Kosovo (KFOR)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Kosovo

Date: 24 mars 1999 - Présent

Mandat de la mission:

Les objectifs de la KFOR sont d’établir et de maintenir un environnement sûr au Kosovo, y compris la sécurité et l’ordre publics, de surveiller, de vérifier et, au besoin, de faire observer les ententes qui ont mis fin au conflit, en plus de fournir de l’aide à la Mission d'administration intérimaire des Nations Unies au Kosovo (MINUK).

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

Au printemps et à l’été 1998, le conflit ouvert entre l’Armée de libération du Kosovo (UÇK), la République fédérale de Yougoslavie (FRY) et les forces de la police du ministère de l’Intérieur de la Serbie (MUP) a mené à l’adoption de la résolution 1199 par les Nations Unies pour en appeler à un cessez-le-feu immédiat et au retrait des forces serbes du Kosovo. L’envoyé spécial des États Unis Richard Holbrooke a négocié avec le président de la FRY, Slobodan Milosevic, au début d’octobre 1998 dans le but de le convaincre de respecter la résolution des Nations Unies. Enfin, après neuf jours d’intenses négociations, ils ont signé une entente permettant la mise en œuvre de deux opérations de surveillance. Il a été convenu que la mission de vérification au Kosovo (MVK) (opération Kimono du Canada) assurerait la surveillance de la situation au sol et que l’opération Eagle Eye dirigée par l’OTAN (opération Kayak du Canada) mènerait des opérations de surveillance aériennes non armées.

Malgré l’entente écrite, la FRY a continué de masser ses forces au Kosovo durant les derniers mois de 1998 et le conflit ouvert s’est poursuivi avec, pour témoins, les observateurs de la MVK. Ce non-respect évident de l’entente a mené à la rencontre des antagonistes à Rambouillet, en France, en février 1999, à l’insistance d'un ensemble de pays, le Groupe de contact, dans le but de trouver une solution diplomatique.

Les négociations à Rambouillet et, plus tard, à Paris ont permis d’en arriver à une entente de base avec les Kosovars, que le gouvernement de la FRY persistait malgré tout à refuser. En mars 1999, l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (OSCE) a été forcée de rappeler tous les observateurs de la vérification au Kosovo, car l’Armée de libération du Kosovo et les forces de la FRY ne se conformaient toujours pas aux conditions de base de la résolution 1199 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies.

Malgré des avertissements répétés annonçant l’intervention armée imminente de l’OTAN, on a tenté un dernier effort diplomatique pour parvenir à un règlement. Devant l’échec de ces nouveaux efforts, l’OTAN a lancé une intervention armée et, le 24 mars 1999, a donné le feu vert à l’opération Allied Force et a commencé à mener des opérations aériennes contre la FRY. Ces opérations aériennes avaient pour but de rétablir la paix et la sécurité dans la région et, du coup, de résoudre la crise humanitaire au Kosovo. Les forces de Milosevic ont répondu à l’attaque par une campagne intensive de nettoyage ethnique pour éliminer la population albanaise du Kosovo, ce qui a poussé des centaines de milliers d’Albanais à traverser les frontières de la Macédoine, de l’Albanie et du Monténégro.

Au début de l’opération de bombardement, la participation militaire canadienne était constituée de six CF-18 stationnés à Aviano, en Italie – et portait le nom de code de Force opérationnelle Aviano, de l’opération Echo. Ces avions ont lancé leurs premiers assauts sur la Yougoslavie le 24 mars, en même temps que des douzaines d’autres avions de l’OTAN. Moins d'une semaine après, la Force opérationnelle a été élargie. On y a ajouté six autres avions, ainsi que du personnel de soutien. Le 17 avril, le ministre de la Défense a annoncé une autre augmentation du contingent canadien consistant en six avions et en 50 membres du personnel de soutien. À l’époque, la participation canadienne s’élevait donc à 18 avions canadiens et à 300 membres du personnel de soutien. Les commandants de l’OTAN et le gouvernement yougoslave ont signé un accord militaire technique (The Military Technical Agreement) qui a permis la suspension des bombardements le 10 juin. Dix jours plus tard, le 20 juin, le Secrétaire général de l’OTAN a officiellement mis fin à l’opération aérienne.

La KFOR est encore active au Kosovo, mais ses effectifs sont beaucoup moindres. À son point culminant, elles comprenaient plus de 50 000 militaires de 45 pays membres et non membres de l’OTAN. À ce jour, la KFOR a aidé plus de 1,3 million d’Albanais du Kosovo à réintégrer leurs domiciles et leurs villages et a assuré la sécurité de plus de 16 000 maisons, de 1 165 écoles et de près de 2 000 kilomètres de routes parsemées de munitions explosives et de mines non explosées. Elle continue à soutenir quelque 4 500 policiers internationaux dans le cadre de la Mission d'administration intérimaire des Nations Unies au Kosovo (MINUK).

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (KINETIC)

Nom: KINETIC

Date: 24 mars 1999 - 21 juin 2000

Historique de la mission:

L’achèvement de l’opération aérienne nécessitait l'affectation de Casques bleus au sol pour veiller au respect du cessez-le-feu. À la fin d’avril 1999, on a demandé au gouvernement canadien de fournir un escadron blindé de reconnaissance et des unités de soutien à la brigade blindée britannique en déploiement dans l’ex-République yougoslave de Macédoine, voisine du Kosovo, comme parties intégrantes du Corps de réaction rapide du Commandement allié en Europe (CAE) dirigé par l’OTAN.

Environ 800 soldats canadiens ont été envoyés en Macédoine en mai 1999 afin de rejoindre la 4th Armoured Brigade (Royaume-Uni) pour l’opération Kinetic (désignation canadienne) ou Joint Guardian (désignation de l’OTAN). En plus du personnel de l’élément de commandement et de soutien national, la contribution canadienne initiale était constituée d’un escadron de reconnaissance équipé du nouveau véhicule de reconnaissance Coyote du Lord Strathcona’s Horse (Royal Canadians), d’un détachement de huit hélicoptères Griffon et d’ingénieurs. Les premiers éléments de la KFOR sont entrés au Kosovo le 12 juin 1999. Comme convenu dans l’accord militaire technique, le déploiement des forces de la KFOR au Kosovo était synchronisé avec le départ des forces de sécurité serbes du Kosovo. Le 20 juin, le retrait des Serbes était terminé et les forces de la KFOR étaient bien installées sur le territoire.

L’escadron blindé de reconnaissance canadien est arrivé avant la brigade blindée britannique, et d’autres Canadiens ont bientôt suivi ou se sont vu confier des postes de soutien en Macédoine. Les éléments de la KFOR étaient déployés pour aider à la mise en œuvre du cessez-le-feu, assurer la sécurité des civils, aider les personnes déplacées à retourner chez elles en toute sécurité, offrir des secours humanitaires et soutenir les efforts des organisations internationales et non gouvernementales.

Peu après le déploiement initial des forces de la KFOR au Kosovo, le gouvernement canadien a annoncé qu’il envoyait 500 militaires supplémentaires. Des soldats du 1er Bataillon, Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry, et des chars d’assaut du Lord Strathcona's ont formé un groupement tactique d’infanterie avec appui blindé. Le bataillon s’est déployé dès le début de juillet et a rapidement pris la place des unités d’infanterie britanniques surchargées. Les nouveaux arrivants ont porté l’effectif canadien total de l’opération Kinetic à environ 1 400 militaires.

La première rotation des unités des forces canadiennes au service de l’opération Kinetic a eu lieu en décembre 1999. Les remplaçants ont continué à accomplir des tâches semblables à celles qu'exécutaient les premiers Canadiens participant au déploiement, et tout le personnel militaire canadien s’est retiré de la KFOR en juin 2000.