Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation MACEDOINE

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

MACEDOINE

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation MACEDOINE

International Mission Name: Operation MACEDOINE

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Europe

Location: Armenia

Mission Date: 12 December 1988 - 22 December 1988

Mission Mandate: To deliver humanitarian aid to Armenia.

Mission/Operation Notes:

On December 7th, a magnitude 6.9 earthquake struck the Armenian Soviet Socialist Republic. Four minutes later, a second earthquake, magnitude 5.8, struck. Whole towns in northwest Armenia were reduced to rubble, including Kirovakan Leninakan, Spitak, and Stepanovan. The destruction killed 25,000 (2.5 percent of Armenia’s population) injured 40,000 and left 400,000 homeless at the start of winter. With the transportation network in ruins and rubble filling the streets, rescue efforts were hindered and aid was slow in arriving.

Red Cross relief supplies and food and clothing donated by the Armenian community in Montreal were flown to Larnaca, Cyprus using 437 Squadron Boeing. It was then flown to Armenia in shuttle runs by 436 Squadron Hercules from 12 to 22 December.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) MACEDOINE

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

MACEDOINE

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération MACEDOINE

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération MACEDOINE

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Arménie

Date: 12 décembre 1988 - 22 décembre 1988

Mandat de la mission : Livrer des secours humanitaires en Arménie.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

Le 7 décembre, un tremblement de terre d’une amplitude de 6,9 a frappé l’ex République socialiste soviétique d’Arménie. Quatre minutes plus tard, il y a eu une deuxième secousse de 5,8 à l’échelle de Richter. Des villes entières dans le Nord-Ouest du pays, dont Kirovakan, Leninakan, Spitak et Stepanovan, ont été détruites. Cette catastrophe a fait 25 000 victimes (2,5 p. 100 de la population d’Arménie), blessé 40 000 personnes et laissé 400 000 sans abri au début de l’hiver. Les réseaux de transports étant anéantis et les rues jonchées de débris, les secours arrivaient lentement et les organismes d’assistance avaient beaucoup de difficultés à accomplir leur travail.

Les FC ont alors envoyé à Larnaca, à Chypre, un appareil Boeing du 437e Escadron transportant des fournitures de secours de la Croix Rouge ainsi que de la nourriture et des vêtements donnés par la communauté arménienne de Montréal. Ensuite, du 12 au 22 décembre, des avions Hercules du 436e Escadron ont fait la navette pour acheminer ces fournitures en Arménie.

Haut de la page