Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation MAGNIFICENT

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

MAGNIFICENT
Aerial view of HMCS Magnificent;
Halifax, NS, with R.C.A.F. Sabre
Jets on the Flight Deck.

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation MAGNIFICENT

International Mission Name: Operation MAGNIFICENT

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Europe

Location: West Germany

Mission Date: 2 February 1957 - 14 February 1957

Mission Mandate: To return Canadair Sabre Vs to Canada.

Mission/Operation Notes:

Throughout the mid-1950s, the RCAF was improving the quality of its aircraft. A contract had been signed with Canadair to produce the North American F-86 Sabre under license in Montreal. As Canadair built newer, improved versions of these aircraft, they were flown to Europe to equip No. 1 Air Division. In 1956, the Mark VI Sabres flown to Europe created a surplus of Mark V aircraft, which had been allocated to the RCAF Auxiliary. The problem was how to get them back to Canada.

In the autumn of 1956, the RCAF asked the Royal Canadian Navy to transport the Sabre Vs to Canada on the aircraft carrier HMCS Magnificent. The RCN agreed, with the task being given the name Operation Magnificent. On 7 November, Maggie was waiting to sail from Belfast for Glasgow to pick up 50 Sabres. At 2000 hours, she was ordered back to Halifax to pick up the Canadian contingent for the first United Nations Emergency Force.

Having completed her delivery, Maggie returned to her previous task. On 2 February 1957, she hoisted 59 Sabres onboard - 48 on deck and 11 below. Severe storms enroute caused the ship to heave to on three consecutive nights. At one stage it was feared that some of the Sabres might break loose from their moorings. On 14 February she entered Halifax for the last time before she was paid off. The Sabres were off-loaded, thus ending Op Magnificent.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) MAGNIFICENT

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

MAGNIFICENT
Vue aérienne du NCSM Magnificent, à Halifax
(N.-É.), transportant des avions à réaction Sabre
de l’ARC sur le pont d’envol.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération MAGNIFICENT

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération MAGNIFICENT

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Ouest de l'Allemagne

Date: 2 février 1957 - 14 février 1957

Mandat de la mission: Ramener les avions Sabre V de Canadair au Canada.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

Au milieu des années 50, l’Aviation royale du Canada (ARC) améliorait la qualité de ses avions. Elle a conclu un marché avec Canadair en vue de produire sous licence à Montréal le F-86 Sabre nord-américain. Au fur et à mesure que Canadair construisait des versions nouvelles et améliorées de cet avion, la société les envoyait en Europe pour équiper la 1re Division aérienne. En 1956, les Sabre Mark VI envoyés en Europe se sont trouvés en excédent. Le surplus a été attribué à l’ARC (force auxiliaire), mais il fallait trouver un moyen de les ramener au Canada.

À l’automne de 1956, l’ARC a demandé à la Marine royale du Canada (MRC) de transporter les Sabre V au Canada à bord du porte-avions NCSM Magnificent. La MRC a accepté, et la tâche a reçu le nom d’opération Magnificent. Le 7 novembre, le Magnificent attendait de partir de Belfast pour Glasgow afin de prendre possession des 50 Sabre. À 20 h, le navire a reçu l’ordre de retourner à Halifax pour embarquer un contingent canadien destiné à la première Force d’urgence des Nations Unies.

Après avoir effectué ce transport, le Magnificent est revenu à sa tâche précédente. Le 2 février 1957, on hissait 59 Sabre à son bord (48 sur le pont et 11 sous le pont). En raison de violentes tempêtes, le navire a tangué pendant trois nuits consécutives. À un certain moment, on a même craint que certains Sabre rompent leurs amarres. Le 14 février, le navire est entré au port d’Halifax pour la dernière fois avant d’être désarmé. On a déchargé les Sabre, ce qui a mis fin à l’opération Magnificent.

Haut de la page