Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation MARITIME GUARD

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

MARITIME GUARD

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation MARITIME GUARD

International Mission Name: Operation MARITIME GUARD

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Europe

Location: Former Yugoslavia

Mission Date: 22 November 1992 - 15 June 1993

Mission Mandate:

To enforce the United Nations embargo against the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia.

Mission/Operation Notes:

In late 1991 and early 1992, The UN Security Council imposed sanctions on the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (Serbia and Montenegro) through resolutions 713 and 757, but these resolutions and the resultant embargoes had little effect in halting the violence in the former Yugoslavia, and more especially in Bosnia-Herzegovina. Following up these Chapter VII actions, the Security Council passed Resolution 787 on 16 November 1992, which further tightened the embargo.

On 20 November, the North Atlantic Council (NAC) approved the commitment of NATO forces in support of the resolution, and in coordination with Western European Union (WEU) forces in the Adriatic. At 1600 hours, 22 November, those NATO forces participating in Operation MARITIME MONITOR were directed to start the new operation - Operation MARITIME GUARD. These forces included the Standing Naval Force Mediterranean and NATO Airborne Early Warning Force (NAEWF) aircraft flying from Geilenkirchen, Germany. WEU forces included maritime patrol aircraft and war ships conducted under the name Operation SHARP FENCE.

On 17 April 1993, the United Nations passed Resolution 820 that further tightened the embargo. This resolution authorized the use of force if required when enforcing the sanctions, even into the territorial waters of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (Serbia and Montenegro). NATO forces began enforcing this resolution on 29 April.

Operations Maritime Guard and Sharp Fence ended on 15 June 1993 when NATO began Operation SHARP GUARD, the joint NATO - WEU enforcement operation. During Op Maritime Guard, 12,367 merchant vessels were contacted, 1,032 were inspected and nine found to be in violation of the UN embargo.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (MARITIME GUARD)

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

With NATO and WEU forces operating in different patrol areas, hailing vessels and determining their status, some coordination was required between the aircraft and ships of the two forces. NAEWF aircraft provided this coordination. Canadian Forces participation in Op Maritime Guard and Op Sharp Fence was through the Canadian Contingent NATO Airborne Early Warning Force, located at Geilenkirchen, Germany. These personnel were integrated into the various aircrews flying the E3A aircraft.

Additionally, in 1992 Canada began sending maritime patrol aircraft (MPA - CP 140 Aurora) to the Mediterranean to familiarize the air and ground crews with the different working environments in the eventuality that they may deploy to this region. These MPA flew from Nimes-Garon, France and Sigonella, Italy. 415 Squadron had five such deployments in 1993, and 405 Squadron one. Of these, one deployment from 415 Squadron was in support of Op Maritime Guard.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) MARITIME GUARD

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

MARITIME GUARD

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération MARITIME GUARD

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération MARITIME GUARD

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Ancienne Yugoslavie

Date: 22 novembre 1992 - 15 juin 1993

Mandat de la mission:

Faire observer l’embargo des Nations Unies contre la République fédérale de Yougoslavie.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

À la fin de 1991 et au début de 1992, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a imposé des sanctions à la République fédérale de Yougoslavie (Serbie-Monténégro) au moyen des résolutions 713 et 757. Cependant, les résolutions et les embargos subséquents n’ont eu que peu d’effet sur la violence en ex-Yougoslavie en surtout en Bosnie-Herzégovine. Le 16 novembre 1992, pour donner suite aux mesures prises en vertu du Chapitre VII, le Conseil de sécurité a adopté la résolution 787, qui resserrait davantage l’embargo.

Le 20 novembre, le Conseil de l’Atlantique Nord a approuvé la mobilisation des forces de l’OTAN à l’appui de la résolution et en coordination avec les forces de l’Union de l’Europe occidentale (UEO) dans l’Adriatique. À 16 h le 22 novembre, les forces de l’OTAN qui participaient à l’opération MARITIME MONITOR ont reçu l’ordre d’entamer la nouvelle opération baptisée opération MARITIME GUARD. Ces forces comprenaient des avions de la Force navale permanente de la Méditerranée et de la Force aéroportée de détection lointaine de l’OTAN (NAEWF) en provenance de Geilenkirchen, en Allemagne. Au sein des forces de l’UEO se trouvaient des avions de patrouille maritime et des navires de guerre servant dans le cadre de l’opération Sharp Fence.

Le 17 avril 1993, les Nations Unies ont adopté la résolution 820, qui resserrait encore davantage l’embargo. Cette résolution permettait d'utiliser la force au besoin pour appliquer les sanctions, même dans les eaux territoriales de la République fédérale de Yougoslavie (Serbie Monténégro). Les forces de l’OTAN ont commencé à mettre la résolution à exécution le 29 avril.

Les opérations Maritime Guard et Sharp Fence ont pris fin le 15 juin 1993, lorsque l’OTAN a entrepris l’opération Sharp Guard, menée conjointement avec l'UEO pour faire observer les sanctions. Au cours de l’opération Maritime Guard, il y a eu prise de contact avec 12 367 navires marchands et inspection de 1 032 navires, dont 9 ne respectaient pas l’embargo des Nations Unies.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (MARITIME GUARD)

Historique de la mission:

Les forces de l’OTAN et de l’UEO interpellaient les navires et déterminaient leur statut, mais comme elles opéraient dans des secteurs de patrouille différents, il fallait assurer une certaine coordination entre les avions et les navires des deux forces. Ce sont les avions de la NAEWF qui s'en sont chargés. Les Forces canadiennes ont participé aux opérations Maritime Guard et Sharp Fence par le truchement du Contingent canadien de la NAEWF, établi à Geilenkirchen, en Allemagne. Les membres du contingent ont été intégrés aux divers équipages des avions E3A.

En 1992, le Canada a commencé à envoyer des aéronefs de patrouille maritime (APATMAR -CP 140 Aurora) dans la Méditerranée pour que le personnel navigant et le personnel de piste se familiarisent avec les différents milieux de travail au cas où ils seraient affectés dans la région. Les APATMAR sont arrivés de Nîmes-Garon (France) et de Sigonella (Italie). En 1993, le 415e Escadron a effectué cinq déploiements de ce genre, tandis que le 405e Escadron en a fait un. L'un des déploiements du 415e Escadron a appuyé l’opération Maritime Guard.