Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation MARITIME MONITOR

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation MARITIME MONITOR

International Mission Name: Operation MARITIME MONITOR

Mandating Organization:
United Nations Security Council Resolution 713 (25 September 1991) and 757 (30 May 1992)

Region Name: Europe

Location: Former Yugoslavia

Mission Date: 16 July 1992 - 22 November 1992

Mandate:

To enforce the United Nations embargo against the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia.

Mission Notes:

Throughout 1991, the situation in Yugoslavia became increasingly violent and dangerous as ceasefires and agreements were repeatedly violated. In September 1991 the UN Security Council, under Chapter VII of the UN Charter, passed resolution 713 imposing a weapons and military equipment embargo on Yugoslavia. Resolution 757, also under chapter VII, followed on 30 May 1992. This resolution included the imposition of a complete embargo on all goods and products originating in or destined for the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (Serbia and Montenegro), with the exception of medical supplies and foodstuffs.

On 10 July 1992, the foreign ministers of the North Atlantic Alliance agreed to a NATO contribution in support of the two Security Council resolutions under the name Operation MARITIME MONITOR. The NATO units deployed on this operation were ordered to conduct “surveillance, identification and reporting of maritime traffic in areas to be defined in international waters in the Adriatic Sea”.

On 16 July 1992, the NATO Standing Naval Force Mediterranean (SNFM) started patrolling in international waters off the coast of Montenegro. In the air, American, British and Portuguese maritime patrol aircraft checked out all surface contacts, while NATO Airborne Early Warning Force (NAEWF) E3-A aircraft provided the integration of all surveillance pictures. Beginning on 16 October 1992, the NAEWF aircraft assumed the dual role of supporting Op Maritime Monitor, and helping to enforce UN Security Council Resolution 781 under the name Op SKY MONITOR, by monitoring the airspace over Bosnia - Herzegovina.

Concurrently, the Western European Union had deployed naval and air forces in support of resolutions 713 and 757. Under the name Op SHARP VIGILANCE, these naval and air units patrolled in international waters off the Straits of Otranto. The NAEWF aircraft also supported the Western European Union (WEU) forces.

It is with the NAEWF that Canadian Forces personnel first became involved with Op Maritime Monitor and Op Sharp Vigilance. The Canadian contingent at Geilenkirchen was integrated into the various aircrews flying the AWACS and was thus involved in supporting both the NATO and WEU forces enforcing the Security Council Resolutions.

Additional Canadian participation in Op Maritime Monitor came with the arrival of HMCS Gatineau, part of the Standing Naval Force Atlantic (SNFL) in September 1992. HMCS Gatineau joined SNFL on 20 July in Portsmouth, England. At that time, the Commander of SNFL, Rear-Admiral Dyer (USN) advised the ship’s company of the possibility of participating in Op Maritime Monitor. On 27 August, SNFL was advised that they would be deploying to Op Maritime Monitor, to temporarily replace SNFM. SNFL assumed the embargo duties from SNFM on 9 September, handing over to SNFM again on 26 September. During this time, HMCS Gatineau conducted two operational patrols (10-17 and 20-25 September). Because of the excellent communications suite on board, she twice acted as flagship for RAdm Dyer.

Operations Maritime Monitor and Sharp Vigilance ended on 22 November 1992 when NATO began Operation MARITIME GUARD and the WEU commenced Operation SHARP FENCE in support of UN Security Council Resolution 787 (16 November 1992).

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) MARITIME MONITOR

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération MARITIME MONITOR

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération MARITIME MONITOR

Mandant:
Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, résolutions 713 du 25 septembre 1991 et 757 du 30 mai 1992

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Ancienne Yugoslavie

Date: 16 July 1992 - 22 November 1992

Mandat:

Faire respecter l’embargo des Nations Unies contre la République fédérale de Yougoslavie.

Notes sur la mission:

Pendant toute l’année 1991, la situation en Yougoslavie est devenue de plus en plus violente et dangereuse en raison de la violation fréquente des cessez-le-feu et des accords. En septembre 1991, le Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU, en vertu du chapitre VII de la Charte des Nations Unies, a adopté la résolution 713 qui imposait à la Yougoslavie un embargo sur les armes et l’équipement militaire. La résolution 757, le 30 mai 1992, relevant également du chapitre VII a suivi le 30 mai 1992. Celle-ci comprenait notamment l’imposition d’un embargo total sur toutes les marchandises et produits provenant de la République de Yougoslavie (Serbie et Monténégro) ou destinés à celle-ci, à l’exception des fournitures médicales et des denrées alimentaires.

Le 10 juillet 1992, les ministres des Affaires étrangères de l’Alliance de l'Atlantique Nord ont convenu que l’OTAN contribuerait à faire respecter les deux résolutions du Conseil de sécurité, dans le cadre de l’opération Maritime Monitor. Les unités de l’OTAN déployées pour cette opération ont reçu l’ordre « de surveiller, de repérer et de signaler le trafic maritime dans des secteurs à définir dans les eaux internationales de la mer Adriatique ».

Le 16 juillet 1992, la Force navale permanente de la Méditerranée (SNFM) a commencé à patrouiller dans les eaux internationales, au large des côtes du Monténégro. Quant à l’espace aérien, les avions de patrouille maritime américains, britanniques et portugais ont surveillé tous les contacts de surface, tandis que les aéronefs E3-A de la Force aéroportée de détection lointaine de l’OTAN (NAEWF) ont effectué l’intégration de toutes les photos de surveillance. À partir du 16 octobre 1992, les aéronefs de la NAEWF ont joué un double rôle : appuyer l’opération Maritime Monitor et contribuer à faire appliquer la résolution 781 du Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU sous le nom d’opération Sky Monitor, en surveillant l’espace aérien au-dessus de la Bosnie-Herzégovine.

Parallèlement, l’Union de l’Europe occidentale (UEO) a déployé des forces navales et aériennes pour appuyer les résolutions 713 et 757. Sous le nom d’opération Sharp Vigilance, ces unités navales et aériennes ont patrouillé dans les eaux internationales au large du détroit d’Otrante. Les aéronefs de la NAEWF ont également appuyé les forces de l’EUO.

C’est en collaboration avec la NAEWF que le personnel des Forces canadiennes a commencé à participer aux opérations Maritime Monitor et Sharp Vigilance. Le contingent canadien a été intégré à Geilenkirchen à plusieurs équipages des AWACS et a ainsi appuyé les forces de l’OTAN et de l’UEO qui faisaient respecter les résolutions du Conseil de sécurité.

La participation additionnelle du Canada à l’opération Maritime Monitor a coïncidé avec l’arrivée, en septembre 1992, du NCSM Gatineau qui faisait partie de la Force navale permanente de l’Atlantique (SNFL). Ce navire s’est joint à la SNFL le 20 juillet à Portsmouth, en Angleterre. Le commandant de la SNFL, le contre-amiral Dyer (USN), a alors avisé l’équipage du navire de la possibilité que celui-ci participe à l’opération Maritime Monitor. Le 27 août, la SNFL a été avertie qu’elle serait affectée à l’opération Maritime Monitor afin de remplacer temporairement la SNFM. Le 9 septembre, la SNFL a assumé les fonctions de la SNFM pour ce qui est de l’embargo et les lui a retransmises le 26 septembre. Pendant ce temps, le NCSM Gatineau a effectué deux patrouilles (du 10 au 17 septembre et du 20 au 25 septembre). En raison des excellentes installations de communication à bord, il a servi deux fois de navire amiral au contre-amiral Dyer.

Les opérations Maritime Monitor et Sharp Vigilance ont pris fin le 22 novembre 1992 lorsque l’OTAN a lancé l’opération Maritime Guard et que l’UEO a commencé l’opération Sharp Fence pour appuyer la résolution 787 adoptée par le Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU le 16 novembre 1992.