Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation MEMORIA

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

MEMORIA

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation MEMORIA

International Mission Name: Operation MEMORIA

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Europe

Location: France

Mission Date: 12 December 1998 - 28 May 2000

Mission Mandate:

To create a Tomb of the Unknown Soldier at the National War Memorial in Ottawa to symbolize the sacrifices of Canadians in the restoration of peace, past, present, and future. It involved the repatriation of the remains of an unknown Canadian soldier from a Canadian Military Cemetery in Europe and the internment of these remains in a granite sarcophagus.

Mission/Operation Notes:

The plan for what would become Op Memoria received final approval on 16 December 1998. It involved several Canadian government agencies and departments as well as The Commonwealth War Graves Commission and the Government of France. Given the significance of the battle of Vimy Ridge in Canadian military history, it was decided that Canada’s unknown soldier would be selected from there “known only unto God” from the Cabaret-Rouge Military Cemetery close to Vimy. The remains came from Plot 8, Row E, Grave 7.

The ceremonies began on 23 May 2000, with the handover by France of the remains to the government of Canada. Held at the Vimy Memorial in France, a French military bearer party and the Prefect of Pas-de-Calais presented the remains to the Canadian bearer party. From Vimy, the Canadian delegation moved to Lille, France on 25 May 2000. Here, a CC-150 Polaris from 437 Transport Squadron, 8 Wing, CFB Trenton, transported the remains to CFB Uplands at Ottawa International Airport. The remains were moved to Cartier Square Drill Hall in downtown Ottawa and then placed on a 100-year old gun carriage, donated by the RCMP. From there, a procession brought the remains to lie in state for three days in the Hall of Honour in the Centre Block of Parliament Hill. On 28 May 2000, the remains were brought from Centre Block to their new place of rest: the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier at the base of the National War Memorial on Elgin Street, downtown Ottawa.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) MEMORIA

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

MEMORIA

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération MEMORIA

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération MEMORIA

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: France

Date: 12 décembre 1998 - 28 mai 2000

Mandat de la mission:

Installer la Tombe du Soldat inconnu près du Monument commémoratif de guerre à Ottawa afin de symboliser les sacrifices passés, présents et futurs des Canadiens en vue du rétablissement de la paix; pour ce faire, rapatrier les restes d’un soldat canadien inconnu enterré dans un cimetière militaire canadien en Europe et les déposer dans un sarcophage de granite.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

Le plan de l’opération Memoria a finalement été approuvé le 16 décembre 1998. L’opération supposait la participation de plusieurs organismes gouvernementaux et ministères canadiens, de même que celle de la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth et du gouvernement français. Étant donnée l’importance de la bataille de la crête de Vimy dans l’histoire militaire canadienne, il a été convenu que la dépouille d’un soldat canadien inconnu (« connu de Dieu seul ») serait exhumée du cimetière militaire de Cabaret-Rouge, près de Vimy. Les restes étaient ensevelis dans la Tombe 7, Rangée E du Lot 8.

Les cérémonies, qui ont eu lieu au Mémorial de Vimy en France, ont commencé le 23 mai 2000 lorsque les représentants français ont remis la dépouille mortelle à leurs homologues canadiens, par l’intermédiaire de porteurs militaires et du préfet du Pas-de-Calais. La délégation canadienne s’est rendue ensuite à Lille le 25 mai 2000, d’où un CC-150 Polaris du 437e Escadron de transport (8e Escadre, BFC Trenton) a transporté les restes jusqu’à la BFC Uplands (Aéroport international d’Ottawa). Les restes ont ensuite été apportés au Manège militaire de la place Cartier au centre-ville d’Ottawa, puis placés sur un affût de canon vieux de 100 ans, don de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada. De là, un cortège les a transportés au Hall d’honneur, dans l’édifice du Centre de la Colline du Parlement, où ils ont reposé sur un lit de parade pendant trois jours. Le 28 mai 2000, ils ont été emportés à leur nouveau lieu de repos : la Tombe du Soldat inconnu, située au pied du Monument commémoratif de guerre, rue Elgin, au centre ville de la capitale.

Haut de la page