Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation MENTOR

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

MENTOR

International Information

International Operation Name: Dayton Peace Accord

International Mission Name: Dayton Peace Accord (DPA)

Mandating Organization: Dayton Peace Accord

Region Name: Europe

Location: Former Yugoslavia

Mission Date: 14 December 1995 - Present

The violence accompanying the breakup of the Yugoslav Federation in 1991 eventually spread to Bosnia-Herzegovina, where Croatians, Serbs and Bosnian Moslems all laid claim to particular “territories”, almost all of which overlapped each other. Moreover, while the Bosnian government tried to foster an independent identity for the new state, the Bosnian Serbs did not wish to secede from Serbia. Despite UN efforts, violence reigned until NATO, on behalf of the UN, brought the belligerents to negotiations in Dayton, Ohio and, with the treat of further air operations always present caused the Bosnian Serbs to back down.

Signed in Paris in December 1995, the Dayton Peace Accord brought some stability to the area. Introducing civil, military, and political annexes it called on the belligerents to withdraw behind cease-fire lines and create demilitarized zones, with NATO sending in the Implementation Force (IFOR) to ensure that the provisions of the treaty were met.

Annex 1A of the accord also contained provisions for a regional arms control agreement under Articles II and IV. The former is a confidence and security building measure (CSBM), while the latter is designed to reduce major conventional weapons systems and equipment in Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia and the Republic of Yugoslavia and Montenegro, similar to the CFE Treaty. This provision of the Accord came into effect in 1996.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (MENTOR)

Name: MENTOR

Date: 1 July 1997 - Present

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement:

To promote stability, transparency and openness in military affairs through the application of a range of confidence and security building measures, and the reduction of major weapons systems and equipment.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Canada has been participating in the arms reduction verification and CSBM since 1997, under the rubric of Operation MENTOR. To date, Canada has participated in 22 individual mission of this type, with personnel drawn from National Defence Headquarters, J3 Arms Control Verification. As the number of weapons are reduced in the region, it is anticipated that Canada’s role will be reduced.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) MENTOR

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

MENTOR

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Accord de paix de Dayton

Nom de la mission internationale: Accord de paix de Dayton (DPA)

Mandat de l'opération: Accord de paix de Dayton

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: ex-Yugoslavie

Date: 14 décembre 1995 - Présent

La violence qui a accompagné la dissolution de la République fédérale de Yougoslavie en 1991 s’est finalement répandue en Bosnie-Herzégovine, où les Croates, les Serbes et les Musulmans bosniaques revendiquaient tous des « territoires » particuliers qui se chevauchaient presque tous. En outre, même si le gouvernement bosniaque souhaitait favoriser une identité indépendante pour le nouvel État, les Serbes bosniaques ne voulaient pas se séparer de la Serbie. Malgré les efforts de l’ONU, la violence a régné jusqu’à ce que l’OTAN, au nom de l’ONU, rassemble les parties pour des négociations à Dayton (Ohio) et, en continuant de faire planer la menace d’autres opérations aériennes, mène les Serbes bosniaques à un retrait de leur position.

Signé à Paris en décembre 1995, l’Accord de paix de Dayton a ramené une certaine stabilité dans le secteur. Grâce à des annexes civiles, militaires et politiques, l’Accord exigeait que les parties belligérantes se retirent derrière les lignes de cessez-le-feu et créent des zones démilitarisées, pendant que l’OTAN envoyait la Force de mise en œuvre (IFOR) pour veiller au respect des conditions du traité.

L’annexe 1A de l’Accord contient également des dispositions concernant une entente régionale sur le contrôle des armements en vertu des articles II et IV. La première de ces dispositions est une mesure de confiance et de sécurité (MDCS), alors que la deuxième vise à réduire les principaux systèmes et équipements d’arme conventionnels en Bosnie Herzégovine, en Croatie et dans la République de Yougoslavie et au Monténégro, un peu comme le Traité FCE. Cette disposition de l’Accord est entrée en vigueur en 1996.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (MENTOR)

Nom: MENTOR

Date: 1 juillet 1997 - Présent

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Promouvoir la stabilité, la transparence et l’ouverture dans les affaires militaires par l’application d’un éventail de mesures de confiance et de sécurité, ainsi que par la réduction des principaux systèmes et équipements d’arme.

Historique de la mission:

Le Canada a participé à la vérification de la réduction des armements et à la MRCS depuis 1997, dans le cadre de l’opération Mentor. À ce jour, le Canada a participé à 22 différentes missions de ce type, le personnel affecté venant du J3 Vérification du contrôle des armements du Quartier général de la Défense nationale. Comme le nombre d’armes diminue dans la région, on prévoit que le rôle du Canada sera réduit.