Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation MIKADO

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

MIKADO

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation ALLIED HARBOUR

International Mission Name: Operation ALLIED HARBOUR

Mandating Organization: North Atlantic Treaty Organisation

Region Name: Europe

Location: Albania and Macedonia

Mission Date: 13 April 1999 - 1 September 1999

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (MIKADO)

Name: MIKADO

Date: 9 April 1999 - 17 April 1999

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement:

On order, co-ordinate and assist in the flow of personnel and material into Albania and FYROM in support of Humanitarian Assistance operations for the refugees from Kosovo and to assist in the evacuation of refugees to countries ready to receive them.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

For more than a year leading up to the beginning of the Kosovo Air Campaign in March 1999, relations between the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (FRY) and ethnic Albanian Kosovars had been deteriorating. In February, negotiations between Kosovar and Serb negotiators at Rambouillet, France, led to a basic agreement between the parties but one that the government of the FRY refused to accept. In March of 1999, the failure of either party to comply with the basic tenets of UNSCR 1199, the UN’s call for an end to hostilities in the region, forced the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) to withdraw all Kosovo Verification Monitors (KVM) from Kosovo.

When last minute diplomatic efforts failed to reach an agreement, NATO pursued military action and on 24 March 1999 NATO launched Operation ALLIED FORCE (Op ECHO). The beginning of the air campaign against FRY forces in Kosovo triggered a mass exodus of Kosovars from the area into neighboring countries. By the end of March, civilian and UN humanitarian agencies were overwhelmed. With the numbers continuing to increase at a rate of 14,000 per day, NATO initiated OPLAN 10414, Operation ALLIED HARBOUR, NATO’s first humanitarian operation. Normally the purview of non-governmental organizations, these agencies were unable to cope with the nearly 500,000 refugees that flooded into Albania, leaving NATO the only organization capable of dealing with the expanding need.

In support of this NATO operation, the Canadian government offered to provide two CC130 aircraft and the associated personnel and equipment for intra-theatre airlift of humanitarian supplies into Albania and Macedonia. Dubbed Operation MIKADO by the CF, the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) led Canadian operation consisted of an airlift component and a camp construction component.

The United Nations High Commission for Refugees NHCR Air Co-ordination Cell in Geneva, which consisted of LOG experts from UNHCR, and personnel seconded by NATO member states, collected and prioritized all humanitarian assistance requirements for both Albania and Macedonia. All national, civilian, military, and NATO, offered airlift capacity were matched with the prioritized list of requirements by this cell. As a result, on 9 April CF aircraft were tasked with flying to Bergen, Norway to airlift up to 500 metric tones of biscuits and canned fish into Skopje, Albania. Following the delivery of the final load of supplies, CIDA determined that Op MIKADO would not be required to carry out humanitarian airlift ops beyond the 17th of April. However, the dynamic nature of Canadian participation in ongoing NATO ops required that a capability be retained to respond tactically within Europe to unforeseen operational airlift requirements. To this end a minimal Air Lift Control Element (ALCE) was established from Op MIKADO personnel. Tasked with keeping abreast of the developing situation in the Balkans, it was able to respond on 12 hrs notice to tactical airlift requests in support of Task Force Albania (TFA) and ops within the Balkans area.

The camp construction component consisted of a staff check to look at preliminary costing for the construction of a camp capable of supporting 5000 personnel through the Albanian winter. The camp would consist of sleeping accommodations for 5000 persons, ablution facilities, kitchen and messing, HQ facility for 250 personnel, camp support area, water purification and storage facilities, waste water treatment, power generation, roads, security, and fire fighting installation. Estimated time of construction was 50-60 days, at a cost of $19.2 - $38.4 million dollars, depending on which combination of civilian and military assets would complete the work. In the end, the requirement never materialized and no further action was taken.

Though Canada’s participation ended early on, Operation ALLIED HARBOUR operated up until the end of August 1999, when on 1 September it handed over command to NATO-led KFOR Communication Zone West (COMMZ (W)) command. The NATO presence in Albania prevented Serbian President Slobodan Milosevic from destabilizing the country and was instrumental in sustaining the refugees. During its five months of operation, ALLIED HARBOUR was responsible for nearly 3,500 flights into the country moving more than 14,000 metric tones of supplies. It repaired 189 kilometers of road, and constructed 21 camps providing some 129,050 places. At the time of handover, planning had been completed for a further 120,550 places when the need ceased.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) MIKADO

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

MIKADO

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Operation ALLIED HARBOUR

Nom de la mission internationale: Operation ALLIED HARBOUR

Mandat de l'opération: Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord (OTAN)

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Albanie et Macédoine

Date: 13 avril 1999 - 1 septembre 1999

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (MIKADO)

Nom: MIKADO

Date: 9 avril 1999 - 17 avril 1999

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Sur commande, coordonner et contribuer à l’acheminement de personnel et de matériel en Albanie et dans l’ex-République yougoslave de Macédoine, dans le cadre des opérations d’aide humanitaire destinées aux réfugiés du Kosovo, et aider à l’évacuation de réfugiés vers des pays prêts à les recevoir

Historique de la mission:

Pendant plus d’un an, avant le début de la campagne aérienne du Kosovo, en mars 1999, les relations entre la République fédérale de Yougoslavie (FRY) et les Kosovars albanais de souche s'étaient détériorées. En février, les négociations entre les négociateurs kosovars et serbes, à Rambouillet, en France, ont mené à la conclusion d’un accord de base entre les parties, mais le gouvernement de la FRY a refusé de l’accepter. En mars 1999, le refus des deux parties de se conformer aux principes fondamentaux de la résolution 1199 du Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU, qui demandait la fin des hostilités dans la région, a forcé l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (OSCE) à rappeler tous les membres de la Mission de vérification au Kosovo (MVK).

Comme les démarches diplomatiques de dernière minute n’ont pas abouti à un accord entre les parties, l’OTAN a entrepris des opérations militaires, et le 24 mars 1999, elle a lancé l’opération Allied Force (Op Echo). Le début de la campagne aérienne contre les forces de la FRY au Kosovo a déclenché un exode massif des Kosovars de la région vers les pays voisins. À la fin de mars, les organismes humanitaires civils et onusiens étaient dépassés. Comme les chiffres continuaient de grimper, atteignant 14 000 par jour, l’OTAN a lancé l'OPLAN 10414, soit l’opération Allied Harbour. Il s’agissait de sa première opération humanitaire. Ce type d’opération est normalement du ressort des organisations non gouvernementales, mais celles-ci n’étaient pas capables de composer avec les quelque 500 000 réfugiés qui arrivaient en masse en Albanie. L’OTAN était la seule organisation capable de répondre au besoin croissant.

Pour appuyer l’opération de l’OTAN, le gouvernement canadien a offert deux avions CC130, ainsi que le personnel et l’équipement connexes, pour l’aérotransport de fournitures humanitaires en Albanie et en Macédoine. Appelée opération Mikado par les FC, cette opération canadienne sous l’égide de l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) comportait deux volets : l'aérotransport et la construction d'un camp.

La cellule de coordination aérienne du Haut Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés (UNHCR), à Genève, composée d’experts en logistique de l'UNHCR et de personnel détaché des États membres de l’OTAN, a regroupé tous les besoins en aide humanitaire de l'Albanie et de la Macédoine et les a classés par ordre de priorité. C’est cette cellule qui a réparti tous les avions civils, militaires et de l’OTAN offerts, selon la liste de priorité des besoins. Le 9 avril, les avions des FC ont donc été chargés de s’envoler vers Bergen (Norvège), d’où ils transporteraient jusqu’à 500 tonnes métriques de biscuits secs et de poisson en boîte jusqu’à Skopje, en Albanie. Une fois la dernière cargaison livrée, l’ACDI a déterminé que l’opération Mikado ne serait plus nécessaire pour l’aérotransport humanitaire après le 17 avril. Cependant, compte tenu de la nature dynamique de la participation du Canada aux opérations courantes de l’OTAN, il était nécessaire qu’une certaine capacité demeure disponible pour une intervention tactique en Europe en cas de besoins opérationnels imprévus au chapitre de l’aérotransport. À cette fin, un élément de contrôle du transport aérien (ALCE) minimal a été constitué par le personnel de l’opération Mikado. Chargé de se tenir au fait de la situation en évolution constante dans les Balkans, l’ALCE était capable de répondre dans les 12 heures à des demandes d’aérotransport tactique pour aider la Force opérationnelle en Albanie et les opérations dans la région des Balkans.

Le volet de construction d'un camp consistait en une vérification d’état major visant l'établissement préliminaire des coûts de construction d’un camp capable d’accueillir 5 000 membres du personnel pendant l’hiver albanais. Le camp devait comprendre des installations pour dormir pour 5 000 personnes, des lavabos, une cuisine et un mess, un quartier général pour 250 personnes, un secteur de soutien du camp, des installations de purification de l’eau et d’entreposage, des systèmes de traitement des eaux usées et de production d’énergie, des routes, des dispositifs de sécurité et une installation de lutte contre les incendies. Selon les estimations, la construction devait exiger de 50 à 60 jours et coûter de 19,2 à 38,4 M$, selon l’agencement de ressources civiles et militaires requises pour réaliser les travaux. Finalement, le camp ne s'est pas révélé nécessaire et aucune autre mesure n’a été prise.

Même si la participation du Canada a pris fin tôt, l’opération Allied Harbour s’est poursuivie jusqu’à la fin d’août 1999. Le 1er septembre, son commandement a été transféré à la Zone de communication Ouest (COMMZ [W]) de l’OTAN. La présence de l’OTAN en Albanie a empêché le président serbe, Slobodan Milosevic, de déstabiliser le pays et a été cruciale pour les réfugiés. Pendant les cinq mois qu’elle a duré, les participants à l’opération Allied Harbour ont effectué près de 3 500 vols dans le pays, transportant plus de 14 000 tonnes métriques de fournitures. Ils ont réparé 189 kilomètres de routes et construit 21 camps offrant quelque 129 050 places. Au moment du transfert, ils avaient fini de planifier l’ajout de 120 550 places, mais elles n’étaient plus nécessaires.