Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Norway 1995

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: Norway 1995

International Mission Name: Norway 1995

Canadian name: No Canadian operation name

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Europe

Location: Lake Mjossa, Norway

Mission Date: 23 September 1995 - 12 December 1995

Mission Mandate: To return the salvaged remains of a Handley Page Halifax to Canada from Norway.

Narrative:

During the Second World War over 70 percent of the operations flown by No. 6 (RCAF) Group were flown on the Handley Page Halifax bomber. Of the 6,176 Halifaxes built only two remained in 1995 – one unrestored aircraft at the RAF Museum and one aircraft at the Yorkshire Air Museum that had been rebuilt from the parts of many different aircraft.

As a result of the CBC series “The Valour and the Horror”, airline pilot Karl Kjarsgaard of Ottawa decided to find a way to honour the members of Bomber Command and No. 6 Group. He therefore set out to find a Halifax bomber that could be brought back to Canada. After locating one at the bottom of Lake Mjossa in Norway, he received permission to salvage it and return it to Canada. The Halifax Aircraft Association was created in 1994 and by August 1995, the team was ready to raise the Halifax from its resting place 234 metres below the surface of the lake.

In Canada, 8 Wing Trenton had agreed to dismantle and crate the remains, and fly them back to Canada. A 426 Squadron CC-130 Hercules brought the tail section and other parts back in late September, while four more flights in December, the last on the 12th, brought back the rest of the aircraft.

After 10 years of effort the restored Halifax was unveiled at a ceremony on 5 November 2005 at the RCAF Museum, Trenton.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Norvège 1995

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Norvège 1995

Nom de la mission internationale: Norvège 1995

Nom de l’opération canadienne: Sans nom

Organisme responsable : Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Lac Mjossa, Norvège

Date: 23 septembre 1995 - 12 décembre 1995

Mandat: Ramener de Norvège les débris d’un Handley Page Halifax.

Notes sur la mission :

Pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, 70 % des opérations effectuées par la 6e escadre (ARC), le furent sur des Handley Page Halifax. Des 6176 avions construits, seuls deux existaient encore en 1995 : l'un se trouve au RAF Museum et l’autre, qui fut reconstruit en utilisant des pièces de plusieurs avions, est exposé au Yorkshire Air Museum.

Après avoir visionné la série télévisée The Valour and the Horror, à la CBC, un pilote civil, Karl Kjarsgaard d'Ottawa, décida, en hommage à la 6e escadre (ARC) et au Bomber Command, de partir à la recherche d'un bombardier Halifax. Il en trouva un à 234 mètres sous la surface du lac Mjossa en Norvège et on lui permit de le récupérer et de le ramener au Canada. La Halifax Aircraft Association fut créée en 1994, et en août 1995, les membres de l’association étaient en mesure de faire émerger l'avion.

Au Canada, la 8e escadre de Trenton accepta de démonter et d'emballer les morceaux de l’avion, et de les transporter au Canada. Un Hercule CC-130 du 426e escadron transporta au Canada la queue et d'autres parties vers la fin de septembre. Quatre autres volsm en décembre, furent nécessaires pour rapporter tout le reste le dernier ayant lieu le 12.

Après 10 ans passés à le restaurer, le Handley Page Halifax fit l'objet d'une cérémonie au Musée de l’aviation de Trenton.