Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation OPEN VIEW

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.


International Information

International Operation Name: Chemical Weapons Convention

International Mission Name: Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC)

Mandating Organization: Chemical Weapons Convention

Region Name: Europe

Location: Across Europe and North America

Mission Date: 29 April 1997 - Present

Top of Page

Canadian Forces (CF) Information (OPEN VIEW)


Mission Statement:

To ensure compliance with the Chemical Weapons Convention

In 1972, international negotiations resulted in the Biological and Toxin Weapons Convention. Participants pledged to continue the work by creating a chemical weapons convention; however, it was twenty years before an international agreement was reached and negotiators in Geneva produced the Convention on the Prohibition of Development, Production, Stockpiling and use of Chemical Weapons and on Their Destruction, commonly known as the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC). Not until 1997 did the Convention come into force, when 87 original signatories had ratified the Convention. By 2003, there were 152 members who accounted for 90 percent of the world's population and 98 percent of its chemical industry.

As part of the Convention, the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) was created, whose role is to implement the Convention. To verify compliance, the OPCW assesses declarations by member nations, conducts on-site inspections and challenge inspections and investigates any reports that chemical weapons have been used. Inspections can occur at military, industrial or research sites, with inspectors drawn from signatories and selected for their expertise. The size of the inspection teams and the length of their inspection depend upon the type of facility under examination. The lengthiest missions are those involving the verification of the destruction of chemical weapons at Chemical Weapons Destruction Facilities.

To date, Canada has participated in 9 missions. Canada has also been inspected once, at the Defence Research Establishment Suffield, Alberta in February 2000.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) OPEN VIEW

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

OPEN VIEW

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Convention sur les armes chimiques

Nom de la mission internationale: Convention sur les armes chimiques (CWC)

Mandat de l'opération: Convention sur les armes chimiques

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: À travers l'Europe et l'Amérique du Nord

Date: 29 avril 1997 - Présent

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (OPEN VIEW)

Nom: OPEN VIEW

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Assurer le respect de la Convention sur les armes chimiques

Historique de la mission:

En 1972, des négociations internationales ont permis d'aboutir à la Convention sur les armes biologiques et à toxines. Les participants s'étaient engagés à poursuivre les travaux en établissant une convention sur les armes chimiques; toutefois, il a fallu 20 ans avant qu'un accord international ne soit conclu et que les négociateurs à Genève ne formulent la Convention sur l'interdiction de la mise au point, de la fabrication, du stockage et de l'emploi des armes chimiques et sur leur destruction, connue sous le nom de Convention sur les armes chimiques (CAC). Ce n'est qu'en 1997 que la Convention est entrée en vigueur, lorsque les 87 pays signataires initiaux l'ont ratifiée. En 2003, la Convention avait été signée par 152 pays représentant 90 p. 100 de la population mondiale et 98 p. 100 de l'industrie chimique dans le monde.

Dans le cadre de la Convention, on a créé l'Organisation pour l'interdiction des armes chimiques (OIAC), qui a pour rôle de faire appliquer la Convention. Pour veiller au respect de cette dernière, l'OIAC évalue les déclarations des pays membres, effectue des inspections sur place et par mise en demeure et étudie de façon approfondie tout rapport signalant l'utilisation d'armes chimiques. Les inspections peuvent s'effectuer sur des sites militaires, industriels ou de recherche. Les inspecteurs viennent des pays signataires et sont choisis pour leur expertise. La taille des équipes et la durée de leur inspection dépendent du type d'installations à examiner. Les missions les plus longues sont celles qui ont pour but de vérifier la destruction d'armes chimiques dans des installations prévues à cet effet.

À ce jour, le Canada a participé à neuf missions. Il a également fait l'objet d'une inspection, en février 2000, au Centre de recherches pour la défense Suffield, en Alberta.