Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation PARAPET

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: Buckingham Palace Guard Duty

International Mission Name: Buckingham Palace Guard Duty

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Europe

Location: London, England

Mission Date: 14 April 1998 - 25 May 1998

Mandate: To conduct guard duties at Buckingham Palace and other venues in London


In late 1997, the Chief of the General Staff of the British Army invited the Canadian army to provide a Queen's Guard that would include ceremonial and security duties for the Royal Household. Although largely ceremonial, the contingent would support of the London Police in maintaining night-time security. The provision of a Guard was considered complimentary to the re-opening of Canada House in London. Approval to accept this invitation was made in January 1998.

On 14 April, the order was issued for the Queen's Guard, with the name of the tasking to be Operation PARAPET. The contingent from 3rd Battalion Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry was to also provide a Guard of Honour for Her Majesty the Queen at the re-opening of Canada House on 13 May. The contingent consisted of 96 individuals, including a colour party and a small music section. They would mount guards at Buckingham Palace, St. James Palace and the Tower of London between 29 April and 23 May, except for 12 to 15 May when they would participate in the Canada House re-opening. The tasking ended on 25 May.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) PARAPET

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Service de Garde au Buckingham Palace

Nom de la mission internationale: Service de Garde au Buckingham Palace

Organisation mandante: Le gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Londres, Angleterre

Date: 14 avril 1998 - 25 mai 1998

Mandat: De participer au service de garde au Buckingham Palace et à autres sites au Londres.

Notes sur la mission:

Vers la fin de 1997, le chef d’état-major général du British Army invita les membres de l’Armée canadienne à fournir un Queen’s Guard ayant des responsabilités cérémonielles et sécuritaires pour la résidence royale. La fourniture de cette garde fut complémentaire à la réouverture de la Maison du Canada à Londres prenant place le 14 mai 1998. On accepta officiellement l’invitation en janvier 1998.

Le 14 avril, l’ordre pour le Queen’s Guard fut issu et l’opération fut surnommée Operation PARAPET. Le contingent du 3e Bataillon, Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry, consistant 96 membres, incluant une garde du drapeau et une petite section musicale, vit donc l’ajout du fournissement de la Garde d’Honneur pour Sa Majesté lors des cérémonies d’ouverture de la Maison du Canada le 13 mai à leur déjà illustre liste de tâches. Ils furent responsables des sentinelles au Buckingham Palace, à St. James Palace et au Tower of London entre le 29 avril et le 23 mai, exceptant les 12 au 15 mai pendant lesquelles ils participèrent aux cérémonies de réouverture de la Maison du Canada. La tournée finit officiellement le 25 mai.