Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation PERSERVERANCE

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

PERSERVERANCE

International Information

International Operation Name: Kosovo Diplomatic Observer Mission

International Mission Name: Kosovo Diplomatic Observer Mission (KDOM)

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Europe

Location: Kosovo

Mission Date: 1 August 1998 - 31 December 1998

During the summer of 1998, fighting in Kosovo between the ethnic Albanian Kosovo Liberation Army (KLA) and the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (FRY) forces escalated. In July, Serbian military and police forces (MUP) launched an offensive against the KLA, regaining at least temporary control of the province. However, as the summer progressed, the open conflict between the opposing parties resulted in ever increasing numbers refugees, and raised fears of an impending humanitarian disaster during the winter.

As the Government offensive continued, international pressure on FRY President Slobodan Milosevic to bring the situation under control increased. The United Nations Security Council demanded that FRY forces withdraw from the province and called for negotiations between Belgrade and the ethnic Albanian leadership. With few signs of compliance coming from the FRY government, in the early fall of 1998 several nations of the European Union and three separate nations (Canada, the US, and the Russian Federation) took the initiative to augment their Belgrade embassy staffs with military and diplomatic personnel in order to stay better apprised of the situation. The four KDOMs, which eventually expanded to include France and the UK, were ad-hoc operations and conducted independent missions without any formal interrelationships.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (PERSERVERANCE)

Name: PERSERVERANCE

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement:

Canada’s KDOM is to observe and report on issues of Freedom of Access and Freedom of Movement and other security and humanitarian issues throughout the province in order to keep the Government of Canada apprised of the situation in Kosovo.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

The Canadian contribution to the Department of Foreign Affairs Industry and Trade (DFAIT) led KDOM mission, designated Operation PERSEVERANCE, had two components. The first included frequent extended visits by Belgrade embassy permanent staff, principally but not exclusively the Canadian Forces Attaché personnel. The political officer and the ambassador also visited. The second component involved the dedicated efforts of two personnel, one a military officer and the other, a Foreign Service officer from the Department of Foreign Affairs Industry and Trade (DFAIT). Those two officers’ participation comprised the Canadian full time presence in Kosovo, or Canada KDOM.

Following September negotiations between FRY President Slobodan Milosevic and US Special Envoy Richard Holbrooke, the Kosovo Verification Mission (KVM)(Op KIMONO), and a NATO aerial surveillance mission (NATO Op EAGLE EYE)(Op ECHO) were established. The UN with the passage of UNSCR 1203 endorsed both of these missions.

Beginning with two and eventually rising to a high of nine military and civilian personnel, Op PERSERVERANCE ran from August 1998 to December 1998, when the two military personnel involved in KDOM were reassigned to Kosovo Verification Mission (KVM) under Op KIMONO.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) PERSERVERANCE

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

PERSERVERANCE

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Mission d'observation diplomatique au Kosovo

Nom de la mission internationale: Mission d’observation diplomatique au Kosovo (KDOM)

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Kosovo

Date: 1 août 1998 - 31 décembre 1998

À l’été 1998, au Kosovo, les affrontements opposant l’Armée de libération du Kosovo (UÇK) du groupe ethnique albanais et les forces de la République fédérale de Yougoslavie (FRY) se sont intensifiés. En juillet, les forces militaires et policières serbes (MUP) ont lancé l’assaut contre l’UÇK, rétablissant ainsi, du moins temporairement, leur mainmise sur la province. Pourtant, le conflit ouvert entre les antagonistes s’est poursuivi plus tard dans l’été, laissant entrevoir le risque d’une catastrophe humanitaire en hiver, car les réfugiés étaient de plus en plus nombreux.

Alors que se poursuivait l'offensive du gouvernement, les pressions internationales se sont accrues pour que le président de la FRY, Slobodan Milosevic, reprenne le contrôle de la situation. Le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a exigé que les forces de la FRY se retirent de la province et a exhorté Belgrade et les dirigeants du groupe ethnique albanais à négocier. Comme le gouvernement de la FRY ne semblait pas décidé à obtempérer, au début de l’automne 1998, plusieurs pays de l’Union européenne et trois autres pays (le Canada, les États-Unis et la Fédération de Russie) ont pris l’initiative d’ajouter au personnel de leurs ambassades à Belgrade des militaires et des diplomates afin d’être mieux informés de la situation. Les quatre KDOM, auxquels se sont éventuellement ajoutées la France et la Grande-Bretagne, étaient des opérations ponctuelles et réalisaient leurs missions de manière indépendante sans liens officiels.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (PERSERVERANCE)

Nom: PERSERVERANCE

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Le mandat de la KDOM du Canada est de surveiller et de signaler les problèmes de liberté d’accès et de mouvement, ainsi que d’autres problèmes de sécurité ou d’ordre humanitaire, qui surviennent dans la province afin de tenir le gouvernement du Canada au courant de la situation au Kosovo.

Historique de la mission:

La contribution canadienne à la KDOM dirigée par le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI), appelée opération Perseverance, était constituée de deux volets. Le premier comprenait de fréquentes visites prolongées par le personnel permanent de l’ambassade à Belgrade, surtout (mais pas seulement) le personnel des attachés des Forces canadiennes. Le spécialiste politique et l’ambassadeur faisaient également des visites. Le second volet exigeait les efforts soutenus de deux membres du personnel : un officier militaire et un agent du service extérieur du MAECI. À eux deux, ils constituaient la présence canadienne continue au Kosovo, soit la KDOM canadienne.

En septembre, suite aux négociations entre le président de la FRY, Slobodan Milosevic, et l’envoyé spécial des États-Unis, Richard Holbrooke, on a établi la Mission de vérification au Kosovo (MVK) (opération Kimono du Canada) et une mission de surveillance aérienne de l’OTAN (opération Eagle Eye de l’OTAN et opération Echo du Canada). Par l'adoption de la résolution 1203 du Conseil de sécurité, les Nations Unies appuyaient ces deux missions.

Entre août et décembre 1998, l’effectif de l’opération Perseverance est graduellement passé de deux à neuf membres militaires et civils. À la fin de la KDOM, ses deux membres militaires ont été réaffectés à la Mission de vérification au Kosovo (MVK) dans le cadre de l’opération Kimono.