Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Portugal 1974

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Portugal 1974

International Information

International Operation Name: Portugal 1974

International Mission Name: Portugal 1974

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Europe

Location: Portugal

Mission Date: 25 April 1974 - 25 April 1974

Mission Mandate: Potential non-combatant evacuation operation if the coup of 25 April 1974 had become prolonged or violent.

Mission/Operation Notes:

For 48 years, Portugal had been ruled by a dictatorship, first by Antonio Salazar and then by Marcello Caetano. On 25 April 1974, members of the Movimento das Forcas Armadas (MFA - Armed Forces Movement), composed primarily of military personnel at the captain and major ranks, staged an almost bloodless coup d’état. Known as the “Carnation Revolution”, the revolution converted Portugal from a fascist state into a liberal democracy in two years. The MFA was led and organized by Major Otelo Saraiva de Carvalho.

Although the MFA did not have the support of senior officers, many of whom were loyal to the regime, they faced little opposition from the rank and file of the Portuguese armed forces and it took only one day for them to bring down the government.

Canada’s relationship to the coup was purely by chance. NATO naval Exercise Dawn Patrol was scheduled to start on the morning of 25 April. On 16 April, HMC Ships Preserver, Huron, Iroquois, Assiniboine, and Annapolis departed Halifax for Lisbon. They and other NATO vessels rendezvoused in Lisbon on 23 April for pre-exercise briefings and a two-day port visit. HMCS Yukon was the flagship for the Standing Naval Force Atlantic, meeting up with the other NATO ships in Lisbon, where she turned over flagship duties to HMCS Annapolis. While events unfolded ashore, the NATO ships were moved from berths alongside Lisbon harbour to anchorages in the harbour – this was part of the normal schedule and not related to the coup. Later that morning, around 11:00 AM, they departed, following the script of the exercise.

The only Canadian ship to remain in Lisbon was HMCS Assiniboine. Enroute to Lisbon, she had been detached from the Canadian Task Group on 22 April to assist the MV Trade Mariner, which had suffered an engine failure. Assiniboine towed the ship into Lisbon, arriving on 24 April. As a result, she received permission to stay in Lisbon an extra day, to 26 April. At 7:00 AM on 25 April, Assiniboine was moved to an anchorage so the rest of the NATO fleet could sail later in the morning. Shortly after 9:00 AM, the Almirante Gago Countinho, guns at the ready, was observed circling the harbour and the Assiniboine. Assiniboine moved to a higher state of watertight readiness; however, by mid morning the tension was defused when the Coutinho elevated its guns skywards, indicating its neutrality in the coup attempt.

About 10:25 AM, the commanding officer of Assiniboine took a small party ashore to meet the Canadian ambassador and seek guidance. Unfortunately, lack of knowledge about what was happening prevented the Ambassador from providing any specific instructions. What was known was that there appeared to be no direct threat to Canadians. The Commanding Officer was later approached by the American Assistant Naval Attaché who could provide some details, which were then passed on to the Canadian Embassy. By 3:00 PM Assiniboine slipped her anchorage and sailed down the Tagus River.

An Argus maritime patrol aircraft detachment, from 405 Squadron, happened to be at Montijo, on the other side of the harbour from Lisbon, preparing for Exercise Dawn Patrol as well. With the airport shut down, they could neither depart, nor take part in the exercise.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Portugal 1974

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Portugal 1974

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Portugal 1974

Nom de la mission internationale: Portugal 1974

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Portugal

Date: 25 avril 1974 - 25 avril 1974

Mandat de la mission: Opération éventuelle d’évacuation des non-combattants si le coup d’État du 25 avril 1974 avait été violent ou prolongé.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

Le Portugal vivait sous une dictature depuis 48 ans : celle d’Antonio Salazar d’abord, puis celle de Marcello Caetano. Le 25 avril 1974, des membres du Movimento das Forcas Armadas (MFA - Mouvement des forces armées), composé principalement de militaires détenant le grade de capitaine ou de major, ont organisé un coup d’État qui s’est fait pratiquement sans effusion de sang. La révolution, connue sous le nom de « Révolution des œillets », a permis au Portugal, un État fasciste, de devenir une démocratie libérale en l’espace de deux ans. Le MFA était dirigé et organisé par le Major Otelo Saraiva de Carvalho.

Le MFA ne disposait pas de l’appui des officiers supérieurs, dont bon nombre étaient restés loyaux au régime, mais le mouvement n’a rencontré que peu d’opposition de la part des membres subalternes des forces armées portugaises et il ne lui a fallu qu’une journée pour renverser le gouvernement.

Le lien entre le Canada et le coup d’État relève d’une pure coïncidence. Un exercice maritime de l’OTAN, l’exercice Dawn Patrol, devait commencer le matin du 25 avril. Les NCSM Preserver, Huron, Iroquois, Assiniboine et Annapolis ont quitté Halifax à destination de Lisbonne le 16 avril. Ils avaient rendez-vous avec d’autres navires de l’OTAN à Lisbonne le 23 avril pour la tenue de briefings préparatoires à l’exercice et une escale de deux jours. Le NCSM Yukon, navire-amiral de la Force navale permanente de l’Atlantique, est allé rejoindre les autres navires de l’OTAN à Lisbonne, où il a remis ses fonctions de navire-amiral au NCSM Annapolis. Alors que se produisait le renversement de la dictature sur la terre ferme, les navires de l’OTAN, mouillés le long du port de Lisbonne, ont été déplacés dans des postes d’ancrage dans le port - cette manœuvre était prévue et n’avait rien à voir avec le coup d’État. Ils sont partis plus tard dans la matinée, aux alentours de 11 h, conformément au scénario de l’exercice.

Le NCSM Assiniboine est le seul navire canadien qui est demeuré à Lisbonne. En route vers Lisbonne, il avait été détaché du groupe opérationnel du Canada le 22 avril pour venir en aide au MV Trade Mariner, qui avait une panne de moteur. L’Assiniboine a remorqué le navire jusqu’à Lisbonne, où ils sont arrivés le 24 avril. L’Assiniboine a par conséquent reçu la permission de rester un jour de plus à Lisbonne, soit jusqu’au 26 avril. À 7 h le 25 avril, il a été déplacé dans un poste d’ancrage pour que le reste de la flotte de l’OTAN puisse prendre la mer plus tard dans la matinée. Un peu après 9 h, on a vu l’Almirante Gago Countinho tourner autour de l’Assiniboine et du port, paré à faire feu. L’Assiniboine s’est préparé à riposter, mais la tension s’est dissipée au milieu de la matinée quand les canons du Coutinho ont été dirigés vers le ciel, pour marquer sa neutralité dans la tentative de coup d’État.

Vers 10 h 25, le commandant de l’Assiniboine est descendu à terre en compagnie d’un petit groupe pour demander conseil à l’ambassadeur du Canada. Malheureusement, l’ambassadeur n’a pu donner de directives précises faute de savoir ce qui se passait. On savait par contre que les Canadiens ne semblaient pas directement menacés. Plus tard, l’attaché naval adjoint des États-Unis a communiqué avec le commandant pour lui donner des détails, que ce dernier a transmis à l’ambassade du Canada. À 15 h, l’Assiniboine a quitté son poste d’ancrage pour descendre le Tage.

Un détachement d’avions de patrouille maritime Argus du 405e Escadron se trouvait par hasard à Montijo, de l’autre côté du port par rapport à Lisbonne, et se préparait lui aussi pour l’exercice Dawn Patrol. L’aéroport étant fermé, les membres d’équipage ne pouvaient ni partir ni participer à l’exercice.

Haut de la page