Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation QUESTION

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

QUESTION

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation QUESTION

International Mission Name: Operation QUESTION

Mandating Organization: Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe - Vienna Document

Region Name: Europe

Mission Date: 4 March 1992 - Present

Mission Mandate:

To promote stability, transparency and openness in military affairs through the application of a range of Confidence and security building measures.

Mission/Operation Notes:

In 1986, NATO, Warsaw Pact and other interested European nations signed the Document of the Stockholm Conference. This document contained confidence- and security-building measures (CSBM) designed to reduce the chances of accidental initiation of a conflict. Under the banner of the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe (now renamed Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe) CSCE members continued talks that led to the signing of the Vienna Document on 17 November 1990. The Document came into force on 4 March 1992, with subsequent amendments made in 1994 and 1999.

The Vienna Document sought to achieve greater stability, transparency and openness in military affairs through the application of a range of Confidence and Security Building Measures. The CSBM of the Document are not as restrictive as those of the Treaty on Conventional Armed Forces in Europe (CFE Treaty). The terms of the Document apply to all of Europe as well as the Asiatic states of the former Soviet Union.

Under the Vienna Document, nations can lead or participate in three types of missions: evaluations, inspections or confidence and security building measures (CSBM). The CSBMs include airbase visits and the viewing of major new equipment demonstrations or the viewing of major military exercises. The format for the missions is simple and flexible, creating a more open and cooperative environment.

Canadian participation is under the name of Operation QUESTION. Canada has led or participated in over 90 evaluations, inspections and CSBMs. Of these, two-thirds have been CSBMs.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) QUESTION

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Question

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération QUESTION

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération QUESTION

Mandat de l'opération: Conférence sur la sécurité et la coopération en Europe - Document de Vienne

Région géographique: Europe

Date: 4 mars 1992 - Présent

Mandat de la mission:

Promouvoir la stabilité, la transparence et l´ouverture dans la conduite des affaires militaires par l´application d´un éventail de mesures de confiance et de sécurité.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

En 1986, les membres de l´OTAN et du Pacte de Varsovie et d'autres nations européennes intéressées ont signé le Document de la Conférence de Stockholm. Ce document contenait des mesures de confiance et de sécurité (MDCS) visant à réduire les risques qu´un conflit soit déclenché accidentellement. Les membres de la Conférence sur la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (maintenant appelée Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe) ont poursuivi les pourparlers qui ont mené à la signature du Document de Vienne, le 17 novembre 1990. Celui-ci est entré en vigueur le 4 mars 1992, et des modifications lui ont été apportées en 1994 et 1999.

Le Document de Vienne visait davantage de stabilité, de transparence et d´ouverture dans la conduite des affaires militaires par le biais de l´application d´un éventail de mesures de confiance et de sécurité. Les MDCS du Document ne sont pas aussi restrictives que celles du Traité sur les forces armées conventionnelles en Europe (Traité FCE). Les termes du Document s´appliquent à l´ensemble de l´Europe, de même qu´aux États asiatiques de l´ancienne Union soviétique.

En vertu du Document de Vienne, les nations peuvent mener trois types de missions ou y participer : évaluations, inspections ou mesures de confiance et de sécurité. Les MDCS comprennent notamment des visites de bases aériennes et l´observation de démonstrations de nouvel équipement majeur ou d'exercices militaires importants. Les missions sont organisées de façon simple et souple, créant ainsi un environnement plus ouvert et coopératif.

La participation canadienne porte le nom d´opération Question. Le Canada a dirigé plus de 90 évaluations, inspections et MDCS, ou y a participé. Les deux tiers étaient des MDCS.

Haut de la page