Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation SARNO

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

SARNO
Description: Members of the Canadian Forces
help clean-up after mud slides in Sarno Italy.

Canadian Forces (CF) Information (SARNO)

MUDSLIDE RELIEF MISSION SOUTHERN ITALY

Name: Op SARNO -Date: 13 May 1998 - 21 June 1998

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Mandate: To provide clean-up assistance in the town of Sarno, Italy

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

On May 5th and 6th, 1998, the Sarno area 30 kilometres east of Naples was hit by torrential rainfall. Two mudslides on 6 May covered an area of about 1000 metres by 2500 metres, in some places wiping away all traces of houses and settlement. Deforestation and illegally constructed housing in high-risk areas assisted in creating the mudslides that resulted in extensive damage to the area, including at least 161 deaths and leaving 1,500 homeless. An international effort started under the name Mudslide Relief Mission in Southern Italy, led by the Italian military and supported by the United States Navy and Marines Corps.

In Canada, the Government authorized Canadian Forces participation, with the Deputy Chief of the Defence Staff issuing a warning order on May 13th. Under the name Operation SARNO, Canada would provide cleanup assistance. Canadian officers attached to Supreme Headquarters Allied Powers Europe (SHAPE) conducted a reconnaissance on 13 and 14 May to determine what the Canadian Forces could contribute.

On 14 May, the Deputy Chief Defence Staff issued the op order for Op SARNO. The main contribution would consist of 10 Bobcat steer loaders to clean up mud in tight locations where larger equipment could not be used. This type of machinery was becoming an almost essential part of the cleanup and recovery effort and it and the required support personnel would come from air force airfield engineering resources. Other personnel would come from the Canadian Contingent Stabilization Force (CC SFOR) from Bosnia. On 17 May personnel from the CC SFOR arrived in Naples by road, delivering two vehicles and one backhoe, while the air force personnel arrived on 17 and 18 May.

The relief work started in Sarno at 10:00 AM on the 19th. Over the next 30 days the members of Op SARNO cleared mud from streets and buildings, conducting maintenance on the equipment on the days off. By June 17th, there was very little left for the Canadians to do where Bobcats were required. Clean-up for the return started on the 17th. Personnel began to return to Canada and Bosnia between 18 and 21 June. Altogether, 46 personnel served on Op SARNO.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) SARNO

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

SARNO
Description : Des membres des Forces armées
canadiennes aident à nettoyer après les coulées
de boue à Sarno (Italie).

Renseignements de l'opération des FC (SARNO)

MISSION DE RELÈVE DE GLISSÉE DE BOUE AU SUD DE L’ITALIE

Nom: Op SARNO -Date: 13 mai 1998 - 21 juin 1998

Date : 18 août 1999 - 30 septembre 1999

Organisation mandante : Le gouvernement du Canada

Mandat : De fournir d’assistance au nettoyage du village de Sarno en Italie.

Notes sur la mission :

Lors du 5 et 6 mai 1998, la région de Sarno, 30 km est de Naples, se vit frappée par des pluies torrentielles. Deux glissées de boue qui ont pris place le 6 mai couvrirent une région d’environ 1000 mètres par 2500 mètres, détruisant à certaines places toutes traces d’établissement. La déforestation et les maisons construites illégalement dans des sections de haut risque ont aidé à créer la glissée de boue. Il eut au moins 161 personnes mortes et 1 500 personnes sans abri. Un effort international, surnommé la Mission de relève de glissée de boue au sud de l’Italie, commença, mené par le militaire italien avec l’appui du United States Navy et Marine Corps.

Au Canada, le gouvernement autorisa la participation des Forces canadiennes. Le Sous-chef d’état-major de la Défense issu un ordre d’avertissement le 13 mai. Surnommé Opération SARNO, l’opération canadienne visera à fournir de l’assistance au nettoyage de la région. Des officiers canadiens attachés au Grand Quartier général des Puissances alliés en Europe (SHAPE) conduirent des opérations de reconnaissances le 13 et 14 mai afin de déterminer quelle contribution les Forces canadiennes pourront faire.

Le SCEMD issu l’ordre d’opération pour Opération SARNO le 14 mai. La contribution principale consistait en dix chargeurs Bobcat et du personnel d’appui provenant d’unités de génie de l’air de la Force aérienne pour nettoyer la boue dans des régions où les plus grosses machines ne pourraient se rendre. Autre personnel provint du Contingent canadien – Force de stabilisation (CC SFOR) en Bosnie. Le 17 mai, le personnel du CC SFOR arriva par route de Naples, livrant deux véhicules et un godet rétro et le personnel de la Force aérienne arriva les 17 et 18 mai.

Le travail de relève à Sarno commença le 19 mai à 10 h 00. Lors des prochains trente jours, les membres de l’Opération SARNO nettoyèrent de la boue des chemins et des édifices, conduisant l’entretien de leurs machines pendant leurs jours de repos. Vers le 17 juin il ne restait presque rien à faire pour les Canadiens. Ils commencèrent à retourner au Canada et en Bosnie entre les 18 et 21 juin. Un total de 46 membres du personnel des FC ont servit dans Opération SARNO.