Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation SILVER WAKE

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

SILVER WAKE

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation SILVER WAKE

International Mission Name: Operation SILVER WAKE

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Europe

Location: Albania

Mission Date: 14 March 1997 - 27 March 1997

Mission Mandate:

To provide air support to United States Forces involved in the evacuation of American and foreign civilians from Albania.

Mission/Operation Notes:

In March 1997 a massive pyramid investment scheme operating in Albania collapsed. Many people lost their life savings, with the result being widespread financial failure and public disorder. Despite a government-imposed curfew, the security situation in the country continued to deteriorate as anti-government protests became increasingly violent. The government came under increasing pressure and became increasingly unstable.

On 13 March, the United States Ambassador in Tirana requested the evacuation of American and designated foreign nationals. On 14 March 1997, the United States launched Operation Silver Wake. Marines from the 26th Marine Expeditionary Unit landed by helicopter at the American Embassy in Tirana and began to evacuate American civilians and other foreign nationals. At the same time they provided security for the Embassy and the Embassy’s housing complex. The evacuation was completed on 27 March, during which time 877 American and foreign nationals (over half the total evacuated) were flown out of the country to United States Navy ships waiting offshore and from there to Brindisi, Italy.

NATO Airborne Early Warning Force (NAEWF) aircraft stationed in Geilenkirchen, Germany supported the operation, controlling and monitoring the airspace through which the Marine helicopters were flying.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (SILVER WAKE)

Canadian Forces participation in Operation Silver Wake was through the personnel posted to the NAEWF in Geilenkirchen, Germany. The Canadian personnel are integrated into the air and ground crews that support the operations of the NATO unit.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) SILVER WAKE

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

SILVER WAKE

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération SILVER WAKE

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération SILVER WAKE

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Albanie

Date: 14 mars 1997 - 27 mars 1997

Mandat de la mission:

Fournir un appui aérien aux forces des États-unies chargées d'évacuer les civils américains et étrangers d´Albanie.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

En mars 1997, un important système d´investissement pyramidal exploité en Albanie s´est effondré. De nombreuses personnes ont perdu les économies de toute une vie, ce qui a entraîné des échecs financiers à grande échelle et le désordre public. Malgré le couvre-feu imposé par le gouvernement, la situation au regard de la sécurité dans le pays a continué de se détériorer à mesure que les manifestations contre le gouvernement sont devenues de plus en plus violentes. Une pression croissante était exercée sur le gouvernement, qui devenait de plus en plus instable.

Le 13 mars, l´ambassadeur des États-Unis à Tirana a demandé l´évacuation des ressortissants américains et des ressortissants étrangers désignés. Le 14 mars 1997, les États-Unis ont lancé l´opération Silver Wake. Des Marines de la 26th Marine Expeditionary Unit ont atterri en hélicoptère à l´ambassade des États Unis à Tirana et ont commencé à évacuer les civils américains et d´autres ressortissants étrangers. En même temps, ils assuraient la sécurité de l´ambassade et de son complexe résidentiel. Le 27 mars, ils avaient fini d´évacuer 877 ressortissants américains et étrangers (plus de la moitié de toutes les personnes évacuées), qui ont été transportés à l´extérieur du pays par avion jusqu'à des navires de la United States Navy qui attendaient au large des côtes puis, à partir de là, jusqu'à Brindisi, en Italie.

Des avions de la Force aéroportée de détection lointaine de l´OTAN (NAEWF) stationnés à Geilenkirchen, en Allemagne, appuyaient l´opération en contrôlant et en surveillant l´espace aérien dans lequel volaient les hélicoptères des Marines.

Les Forces canadiennes ont participé à l´opération Silver Wake en affectant du personnel à la NAEWF, à Geilenkirchen, en Allemagne. Les Canadiens ont été intégrés au personnel navigant et au personnel de piste appuyant les opérations de l´unité de l´OTAN.

Haut de la page