Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) SPIRAL

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: SPIRAL

International Mission Name: SPIRAL

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Europe

Location: Cyprus

Start Date: Would be late November/early December 1991

Mandate: To clear up to 16 minefields in the buffer zone controlled by United Nations Forces in Cyprus (UNFICYP).

Mission Notes:

In 1990, the United Nations (UN) asked Canada if a field engineering unit could be provided for six months to clear mines in the buffer zone in Cyprus. Up to sixteen minefields in the UN-controlled zone would be cleared. An engineering team determined the scope of the task, with the report being forwarded to the UN in March 1991. Planning thus went forward to deploy elements of 4 Combat Engineer Regiment to augment Canadian Contingent UNFICYP (CC UNFICYP).

The initial planning called for 150 personnel to be deployed for six months; however, a 4 Canadian Engineer Regiment (CER) reconnaissance team suggested increasing the establishment to 220, but decreasing the time in theatre to four months. Twenty of the positions could be allocated to Reservists. The planned start date for the operation would be late November or early December 1991. An op order was issued in October 1991 to allow commencement of planning and training; however, events beyond the control of the Canadian Forces (CF) were to negate the operation.

While the CF was preparing to deploy, negotiations were underway at the UN to ensure that issues such as funding and acceptance of the operation were resolved. Turkish authorities would not allow the UN to perform this operation, ostensibly because it could change the nature of the military balance. The operation was therefore cancelled on 19 November 1991.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) SPIRAL

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: SPIRAL

Nom de la mission internationale: SPIRAL

Mandat: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Chypre

Date de début: Il aurait été la fin novembre ou le début décembre 1991

Mandat: Nettoyer les quelque 16 champs de mines de la zone tampon contrôlée par la Force des Nations Unies à Chypre (FNUC).

Notes sur la mission :

En 1990, les Nations Unies ont demandé au Canada s’il pouvait fournir une unité de génie de campagne pendant six mois pour nettoyer la zone tampon à Chypre de ses mines. Il fallait nettoyer jusqu’à 16 champs de mines dans la zone contrôlée par les Nations Unies. Une équipe de génie a déterminé l’étendue de la tâche et a fait son rapport qui a été envoyé aux Nations Unies en mars 1991. On a donc planifié le déploiement d’éléments du 4e Régiment du Génie de combat (4e RGC) qui contribueraient au Contingent canadien de l’UNFICYP.

Le plan initial prévoyait le déploiement de 150 militaires pendant 6 mois. Cependant, l’équipe de reconnaissance du 4e RGC a suggéré d’augmenter ce nombre à 220, mais de réduire le temps passé sur le théâtre à 4 mois. On pouvait confier vingt postes à des réservistes. Le début de l’opération était prévu entre la fin du mois de novembre et le début du mois de décembre 1991. L’ordre d’opération a été donné en octobre 1991 pour permettre le début de la planification et de l’entraînement, mais des facteurs hors du contrôle des Forces canadiennes (FC) ont mis un frein à l’opération.

Pendant que les FC se préparaient au déploiement, les Nations Unies tentaient de régler les questions de financement et d’approbation de l’opération. Les autorités turques ont refusé de permettre aux Nations Unies d’accomplir l’opération, parce qu’elle entraînerait un changement d’équilibre des forces militaires. L’opération a donc été annulée le 19 novembre 1991.