Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation United Nations Peace Forces – Headquarters(UNPF-HQ)

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Peace Forces – Headquarters(UNPF-HQ)

International Mission Name: United Nations Peace Forces – Headquarters(UNPF-HQ)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Europe

Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Mission Date: 31 March 1995 - 31 January 1996

Canadian Operation:

Op SPEAKER-31 March 1995 to 29 December 1995

Op ROUNDUP-15 December 1995 to 29 December 1995

Mandate:

To act as an “umbrella” headquarters organization for all the United Nations Peace Forces (UNPF) in the Balkans region. Commanders from the three newly created missions were headquartered in Zagreb, Croatia.

Supported by United Nations Security Council Resolutions 981, 982, 983, 1035, and 1036.

Mission Notes:

Backgrounder

In early 1995, toward the end of UNPROFOR’s mission in Yugoslavia, the governments of Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia each expressed the wish that the United Nations forces in their countries should be separated from UNPROFOR. In order to respond to those wishes, the Secretary-General proposed that UNPROFOR be replaced by three separate but interlinked peacekeeping operations. Each of the three operations would be headed by a civilian Chief of Mission and would have its own military commander. In view of the interlinked nature of the problems in the area, and in order to avoid the expense of duplicating existing structures, overall command and control of the three operations would be exercised by the Special Representative of the Secretary-General and a Theatre Force Commander commanding the military elements of the Force under his authority.

On 31 March 1995, the Security Council adopted three resolutions to restructure UNPROFOR, replacing it with operations in Croatia (UNCRO), Bosnia and Herzegovina (UNPROFOR), and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (UNPREDEP), with mandates extending initially until 30 Nov 1995.

Known collectively as United Nations Peacekeeping Forces (UNPF), the headquarters were located in Zagreb, Croatia. The headquarters group then became known as United Nations Peacekeeping Forces Headquarters (UNPF-HQ).

Operation SPEAKER

Canada’s contribution to the UNPF-HQ was called Operation SPEAKER, and consisted of some 60 personnel who took over from the National Support Element (NSE) element that had supported the Canadian Contingent in Yugoslavia up to the end of UNPROFOR’s mandate.

In December of 1995 UNPF’s mandate came to a close with the signing of the Dayton Peace Accord. The United Nations subsequently created five separate missions to continue the work begun under UNPF’s mandate. In Bosnia, Implementation Force (IFOR) took over where UNPROFOR left off. The UN also created United Nations Mission in Bosnia and Herzegovina (UNMIBH) and the International Police Task Force (IPTF) to carry on the work for which IFOR would not be responsible.

In Croatia the UN created the United Nations Military Observers in Prevlaka (UNMOP) which was to continue monitoring the situation in the Prevlaka peninsula, and the United Nations Transition Authority in Eastern Slovenia (UNTAES) which had an initial deployment of 5000 troops, and was to carry on UNCRO’s work in Croatia. UNPREDEP continued on unchanged.

Canada would go on to support IFOR with troops and UNMOP and UNPREDEP with observers, but would not actively participate in UNTAES or IPTF. However, Canadian Op SPEAKER staff - including two UNMOs employed in eastern Slovenia - supported the transition from UNPF-HQ to UNTAES until it was time for them to repatriate in March 1996. They were not replaced.

Operation ROUNDUP

In October 1995, orders for Operation ROUNDUP were issued to repatriate members of UNPF-HQ, CANLOGBAT, and Support Element personnel. Beginning on 15 December 1995, repatriation began and by the end of December most of the Op SPEAKER personnel were back in Canada.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Quartier général des Forces de paix des Nations Unies(QG-FPNU)

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération Force de déploiement préventif des Nations Unies(FORDEPRENU)

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération Force de déploiement préventif des Nations Unies(FORDEPRENU)

Organisme responsable: Organisation des Nations Unies

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Zagreb, en Croatie

Date: 31 mars 1995 - 31 janvier 1996

Opération canadiennes:

Opération SPEAKER -Du 31 mars au 29 décembre 1995

Opération ROUNDUP -Du 15 décembre au 29 décembre 1995

Mandat:

Agir comme organisation de quartier général « global » des Forces de paix des Nations Unies dans la région des Balkans. Les commandants des trois missions nouvellement créées avaient leur quartier général à Zagreb, en Croatie.

Mandat appuyé par les résolutions 981, 982, 983, 1035 et 1036 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies.

Notes sur la mission:

Au début de 1995, alors que s’achevait la mission de la Force de protection des Nations Unies (FORPRONU) en Yougoslavie, les gouvernements de la Croatie, de la Bosnie et de l’Herzégovine ainsi que l’ancienne République yougoslave de Macédoine ont tous exprimé le souhait que les forces des Nations Unies présentes sur leurs territoires agissent séparément de la FORPRONU. Afin de répondre à cette demande, le secrétaire général a proposé de remplacer la FORPRONU par trois opérations de maintien de la paix distinctes mais reliées. Chacune de ces trois opérations devait être dirigée par un chef de mission civil, en plus d’avoir son propre commandant militaire. Compte tenu de la nature connexe des problèmes prévalant dans la région, et pour éviter les coûts qu’entraîneraient le chevauchement de structures existantes, le commandement et le contrôle généraux des trois opérations devaient être confiés au représentant spécial du secrétaire général, de qui relevait le commandant responsable des éléments militaires du théâtre.

Le 31 mars 1995, le Conseil de sécurité a adopté trois résolutions visant à restructurer la FORPRONU pour la remplacer par des opérations en Croatie (Opération des Nations Unies pour le rétablissement de la confiance en Croatie – ONURC), en Bosnie-Herzégovine (FORPRONU) et dans l’ancienne République yougoslave de Macédoine (Force de déploiement préventif des Nations Unies – FORDEPRENU), dont les mandats initiaux devaient durer jusqu’au 30 novembre 1995.

Connu collectivement comme les Forces de paix des Nations Unies (FPNU), les quartiers généraux des opérations étaient basés à Zagreb, en Croatie. On a fini par les désigner par Quartier général des Forces de paix des Nations Unies (QG-FPNU).

Opération Speaker

La contribution du Canada au QG-FPNU était l’opération Speaker, et consistait en un effectif de soixante militaires qui devait prendre la relève de l’Élément de soutien national (ESN) qui avait appuyé le contingent canadien présent en Yougoslavie jusqu’à la fin du mandat de la FORPRONU.

Le mandat confié à la FPNU s’est terminé avec la signature de l’Accord de paix de Dayton, en décembre 1995. L’Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU) a ensuite lancé cinq missions séparées pour poursuivre le travail amorcé en vertu du mandat de la FPNU. En Bosnie, la Force de mise en œuvre (IFOR) a pris le relais de la FORPRONU. L’ONU a également créé la Mission des Nations Unies en Bosnie-Herzégovine (MINUBH) et le Groupe international de police (GIP) pour faire le travail qui ne relevait pas de l’IFOR.

En Croatie, l’ONU a mis sur pied la Mission d’observation des Nations Unies à Prevlaka (MONUP), qui devait continuer de surveiller la situation dans la péninsule de Prevlaka, ainsi que l’Administration transitoire des Nations Unies pour la Slovénie orientale (ANUTSO), qui, entraînant d’abord un déploiement de 5 000 militaires, devait poursuivre le travail de l’ONURC. La FORDEPRENU est demeurée inchangée.

Si le Canada a accepté de soutenir l’IFOR avec des troupes ainsi que la MONUP et la FORDEPRENU avec des observateurs, il n’a pas participé activement à l’ANUTSO ou au GIP. Toutefois, le personnel de l’opération canadienne Speaker – y compris deux observateurs militaires des Nations Unies (UNMO) employés en Slovénie orientale – a appuyé la transition du QG-FPNU à la MONUP jusqu’à la date prévue de son retour, en mars 1996. Il n’a pas été remplacé.

Opération Roundup

En octobre 1995, dans le cadre de l’opération Roundup, il a été ordonné de rapatrier le personnel du QG-FPNU, du groupe CANLOGBAT et de l’ESN. Lancée le 15 décembre 1995, cette opération a permis de ramener au Canada la plupart des militaires affectés à l’opération Speaker avant la fin de l’année.