Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation United Nations Preventive Deployment Force(UNPREDEP)

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Preventive Deployment Force(UNPREDEP)

International Mission Name: United Nations Preventive Deployment Force(UNPREDEP)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Europe

Location: Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia

Mission Date: 1 April 1995 - 4 December 1997

Mandate:

To monitor and report any developments in the border areas which could undermine confidence and stability in the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and threaten its territory.

Supported by UNSCR 983(1995), 1082(1996),1142(1997), 1110(1997), 1140(1997)

Mission Notes:

The United Nations Preventive Deployment Force (UNPREDEP) came into existence in March 1995 when the Security Council set up successor missions for the United Nations Protection Force (UNPROFOR) in the territories of the former Yugoslavia, including the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM).

The United Nations Preventive Deployment Force (UNPREDEP) in the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM) was the first mission in the history of the United Nations to have a preventive mandate: to prevent disputes from turning into serious conflicts by using a variety of means including troop deployment, mediation, negotiation, conciliation and other peaceful means.

UNPREDEP's mandated task was to monitor and report any developments in the border areas that could undermine confidence and stability in the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and threaten its territory. The mission served as an early-warning alarm for the Security Council, helped to strengthen mutual dialogue among political parties and assisted in monitoring human rights as well as inter-ethnic relations in the country. UNPREDEP also assisted in the country's social and economic development along with other agencies and organizations of the United Nations system. Throughout, UNPREDEP maintained close cooperation with the Monitoring Mission in Skopje, FYROM's capital, of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE).

Following a series of extensions to its mandate, UNPREDEP came to a conclusion on 4 December 1998.

Canada’s participation in this mission consisted of one military observer (officer) beginning in April 1995 and running the length of the missions mandate.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Force de déploiement préventif des Nations Unies(FORDEPRENU)

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération Force de déploiement préventif des Nations Unies(FORDEPRENU)

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération Force de déploiement préventif des Nations Unies(FORDEPRENU)

Organisme responsable: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: l’ex République yougoslave de Macédoine

Date: 1 avril 1995 - 4 décembre 1997

Mandat:

Surveiller la situation dans les zones frontalières et faire état de tout élément nouveau qui pourrait ébranler la confiance et la stabilité dans l’ex République yougoslave de Macédoine et porter atteinte à son territoire.

Mandat appuyé par les résolutions 983 (1995), 1082 (1996), 1142 (1997), 1110 (1997) et 1140 (1997) du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies.

Notes sur la mission:

La Force de déploiement préventif des Nations Unies (FORDEPRENU) a été mise sur pied en mars 1995, lorsque le Conseil de sécurité a créé des missions pour succéder à la Force de protection des Nations Unies (FORPRONU) dans les territoires de l’ex-Yougoslavie, y compris dans l’ex République yougoslave de Macédoine (FYROM).

La FORDEPRENU envoyée dans la FYROM a été la première mission préventive de l’histoire des Nations Unies. Son mandat consistait à empêcher les différends de s’envenimer en misant sur divers moyens, y compris le déploiement de troupes, la médiation, la négociation, la conciliation et d’autres moyens pacifiques.

La FORDEPRENU était chargée de surveiller la situation dans les zones frontalières et de faire état de tout élément nouveau qui pourrait ébranler la confiance et la stabilité dans l’ex-République yougoslave de Macédoine et porter atteinte à son territoire. Agissant comme un mécanisme d’alerte rapide auprès du Conseil de sécurité, cette mission a permis d’établir un meilleur dialogue entre les partis politiques et de faciliter la surveillance des droits de la personne et des relations interethniques dans le pays. De concert avec d’autres organisations et organismes liés au réseau des Nations Unies, la FORDEPRENU a également contribué au développement social et économique du pays. Pendant toute la durée de son mandat, elle a collaboré étroitement avec la Mission de surveillance que l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (OSCE) avait établie à Skopje, capitale de la FYROM.

Après avoir vu son mandat prolongé à quelques reprises, la FORDEPRENU a cessé ses activités le 4 décembre 1998.

Le Canada a pris part à cette initiative en dépêchant un observateur militaire (officier) dès avril 1995 et jusqu’à la fin du mandat confié à la mission.