Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation United Nations Protection Force(UNPROFOR)

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Protection Force(UNPROFOR)

International Mission Name: United Nations Protection Force(UNPROFOR)

Mandating Organization:
United Nations Security Council Resolution 743, 21 February 1992,
United Nations Security Council Resolution 749, 7 April 1992,
United Nations Security Council Resolution 758, 8 June 1992,
United Nations Security Council Resolution 761, 29 June 1992,
United Nations Security Council Resolution 762, 30 June 1992,
United Nations Security Council Resolution 764, 13 July 1992,
United Nations Security Council Resolution 769, 7 August 1992,
United Nations Security Council Resolution 770, 13 August 1992, Chapter VII
United Nations Security Council Resolution 776, 14 September 1992, Chapter VII
United Nations Security Council Resolution 779, 6 October 1992, Chapter VIII
United Nations Security Council Resolution 781, 9 October 1992,
United Nations Security Council Resolution 786, 10 November 1992,
United Nations Security Council Resolution 807, 19 February 1993, Chapter VII
United Nations Security Council Resolution 819, 16 April 1993,
United Nations Security Council Resolution 824, 3 May 1993,
United Nations Security Council Resolution 842, 18 June 1993,
United Nations Security Council Resolution 844, 18 June 1993, Chapter VII
United Nations Security Council Resolution 847, 30 June 1993, Chapter VII
United Nations Security Council Resolution 871, 4 October 1993,
United Nations Security Council Resolution 914, 27 April 1994,
United Nations Security Council Resolution 982, 31 March 1995, Chapter VII

Region Name: Europe

Location: Former Yugoslavia

Mission Date: 21 February 1992 - 31 March 1995

Canadian Operations:

CANENGBAT April 1992 to March 1993
Op MANDARIN (CANLOGBAT) September 1992 to March 1995
Op HARMONY (CANBAT I) April 1992 to March 1995
Op CAVALIER (CANBAT II) September 1992 to March 1995
Op MEDUSA unknown date to March 1995
Op PANORAMA July 1993 to November 1993

Expanding Mandate:

Over its three-year mandate, the United Nations Protection Force (UNPROFOR) was supported by a total of 29 separate United Nations Security Council Resolutions (UNSCRs), which expanded and strengthened the role of the UN in the Former Yugoslavia. Initially, UNPROFOR was established in Croatia as an interim arrangement to create the conditions of peace and security required for the negotiation of an overall settlement of crisis following Slovenia’s and Croatia’s declarations of independence from the Yugoslav federation. Its mandate was to ensure that the three "United Nations Protected Areas" (UNPAs) in Croatia were demilitarized and that all persons residing in them were protected from fear of armed attack.

Over the course of 1992, UNPROFOR's mandate was enlarged to include monitoring functions in certain other areas of Croatia ("pink zones"); to enable the Force to control the entry of civilians into the UNPAs and to perform immigration and customs functions at the UNPA borders at international frontiers; and to include monitoring of the demilitarization of the Prevlaka Peninsula and to ensure control of the Peruca dam, situated in one of the "pink zones".

In June 1992, as the conflict intensified and extended to Bosnia and Herzegovina, UNPROFOR's mandate and strength were enlarged in order to ensure the security and functioning of the airport at Sarajevo, and the delivery of humanitarian assistance to that city and its environs.

In September 1992, UNPROFOR's mandate was further enlarged to enable it to support efforts by the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees to deliver humanitarian relief throughout Bosnia and Herzegovina, and to protect convoys of released civilian detainees if the International Committee of the Red Cross so requested. The Force also monitored the "no-fly" zone, banning all military flights in Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the United Nations "safe areas" established by the Security Council around five Bosnian towns and the city of Sarajevo.

UNPROFOR was authorized to use force in self-defence in reply to attacks against these areas, and to coordinate with the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) the use of air power in support of its activities. Similar arrangements were subsequently extended to the territory of Croatia.

In December 1992, UNPROFOR was deployed to the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, to monitor and report any developments in its border areas, which could undermine confidence and stability in that Republic and threaten its territory.

In March 1994, UNPROFOR began monitoring the implementation of a cease-fire agreement signed by the Croatian Government and local Serb authorities following the flare-up of fighting in January and again in September 1993.

On the 1st of January 1995, UNPROFOR began monitoring a cease-fire agreement that had been negotiated between the Bosnian Government and Bosnian Serb forces, and in February it began the implementation of a cease-fire agreement signed by the Bosnian Government and Bosnian Croat forces.

On 31 March 1995, the Security Council decided to restructure UNPROFOR, replacing it with three separate but interlinked peacekeeping operations.

Supported by United Nations Security Council Resolutions 743, 749, 758, 761, 762, 764, 769, 776, 779, 781, 786, 795, 807, 815, 819, 824, 836, 838 842, 844, 847, 869, 870, 871, 900, 908, 914, 947, and 982

Mission Notes:

Initial attempts to monitor the deteriorating situation in Yugoslavia in 1991 by the European Community Monitoring Mission (ECMM) were soon joined by the United Nations in December 1991. The Security Council, in passing Resolution 724 (1991), approved the Secretary General’s report, which contained a plan for a possible peacekeeping operation. A small group (UN Military Liaison Mission - UNMLOY), containing six Canadian and other military officers, civilian police and members of the United Nations Secretariat, travelled to Yugoslavia to prepare for the implementation of this plan.

On 21 February 1992, the United Nations Security Council authorized Resolution 743, to create the United Nations Protection Force (UNPROFOR). Its mandate was to support the cease-fire while the Yugoslav crisis was being resolved by international diplomacy. As part of the new peacekeeping mission, Canadian Brigadier-General Lewis MacKenzie was appointed Chief of Staff in UNPROFOR Headquarters. Initially UNPROFOR peacekeepers were to be deployed into United Nations Protected Areas (UNPAs), where the majority of Croatian Serbs lived and where most of the fighting had taken place. Each UNPA was to be demilitarized and made safe and secure for all of its residents. The areas were spread across four sectors: Sectors West and East in Slavonia, and Sectors North and South in the Krajina.

Operation CANENGBAT

CANENGBAT
Description: Operation HARMONY. Sv Roc,
Croatia. 2 Canadian D6 dozers pile fill
which is to be used to level a swampy
areas inside a French camp in South sector.
Engineers from 1 CER in Chilliwack attached
to CanEngBat assisted all UN contingents
located in Croatia with heavy equipment tasks.

Sappers from 4 Combat Engineer Regiment (4 CER), 17 Armoured Engineer Squadron, 22 Field Engineer Squadron and 41 Field Engineer Squadron collectively made up what became known as 4 CER under the designation CANENGBAT (Canadian Engineering Battalion). CANENGBAT served directly under UNPROFOR Headquarters working throughout all of the protected areas on all types of engineering duties.

Operation PANORAMA

Canada’s next commitment to UNPROFOR was Operation PANORAMA, which comprised 12 Forward Air Controllers (FAC). Like CANBAT and CANENGBAT, it worked directly under the BH command, so members of the team could be dispatched to any battalion under the UNPROFOR command that required them. Though it was supported by the Canadian national support element, due to logistical problems, the group was dispatched in three teams from Canada during July, and by the end of the month were in place and ready to assume their responsibilities.

In an effort to standardize procedures throughout UNPROFOR, members of Op PANORAMA frequently spent several weeks working with British, French, Spanish and later Danish FAC teams. Yet after completing the first rotation in November 1993, the FAC function, like the engineering function, was absorbed into the Canadian battalions to broaden their capabilities.

Operation MANDARIN

The Canadian Logistics Battalion (CANLOGBAT) under the designation Operation MANDARIN fulfilled Canada’s logistics and supply needs in the Balkans. This formation originated in September 1992 from the National Support Element (NSE) personnel assigned to the first Canadian formations brought into Croatia. From then until January 1996 CANLOGBAT, which was also known as the Canadian Contingent Support Group, fulfilled the supply requirements of Canada’s troops in the field. The composition of the battalion included personnel from Canadian support units in Germany, as well as 5e Bataillon des services du Canada, 1st Service Battalion and 2nd Service Battalion.

CANLOGBAT personnel were originally based at Camp Polom, near Daruvar, Croatia. From this location, and a relay location in Ploce, Croatia, the logisticians supplied the Canadian formations in Visoko, Gracac and Srebrenica. This work was difficult and often dangerous because of the intermittent fighting and road conditions. After the redeployment of CANBAT 1 to Sector South CANLOGBAT took the opportunity to move to a more central location for its work. In the spring of 1994 it moved from Camp Polom and Ploce to an area near Primosten, on the Dalmatian coast of Croatia.

Operation HARMONY

HARMONY
Operation Harmony. M113 APC
moving through Metkovic.

The infantry component, which was comprised of soldiers from 1st Battalion, Royal 22e Régiment (1 R22eR), 3rd Battalion, The Royal Canadian Regiment, (3RCR), and other Canadian units based in Europe, operated under the name 1 R 22eR Battle Group, and was known to the UN as CANBAT (Canadian Battalion). In April 1992, this unit began to man checkpoints, conducted patrols and monitored the activities of Serb and Croat military forces.

Canada began by providing a “Battle Group” to UNPROFOR. Under the designation Operation HARMONY the battle group was divided into an Infantry component and an Engineering component.

During the next infantry battalion group deployment, 2nd Battalion, Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry, to Operation HARMONY in September 1993, the Canadian area of responsibility was moved to Sector South. Their arrival was greeted with another Croatian offensive in early September that resulted in open warfare between the Croats and Serbs in the Medak region. Pressure from UN officials and UNPROFOR peacekeepers led to a cease-fire after four days of fighting. UNPROFOR's implementation of the cease-fire in the Medak area was strongly and violently resisted by Croat forces.

The next three deployments of the Canadian infantry battalion group, 1er Bataillon, Royal 22e Régiment; 1st Battalion, Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry; and, 1st Battalion, The Royal Canadian Regiment, from October 1993 to March 1995, were tense but relatively quiet. Field engineers from 4 Engineer Support Regiment were also deployed briefly to UNPROFOR to help clear mines in Sector South in 1994.

Operation CAVALIER

CAVALIER
Description: Pakrac, Croatia - Cpl
Wayne Tripp and MCpl Chris Atkinson of 4 Combat
Engineer Regiment prepare charges to destroy an
anti-tank rocket. They were deployed with 4 CER in
April from Lahr, Germany, as part of the
Canadian Contingent of the United Nations Protection
Force (UNPROFOR) in the former Yugoslav Republic.

In April 1992 the Yugoslav civil war spread from Croatia to the neighbouring republic of Bosnia-Herzegovina. Fighting throughout the republic, but especially the siege of the capital city of Sarajevo, led to the decision to temporarily transfer some of UNPROFOR's peacekeepers from Croatia to Bosnia-Herzegovina to assist with the delivery of humanitarian relief supplies. Most prominent in this initial effort were the attempts in the summer of 1992 to open the Sarajevo airport to relief flights. Canadian peacekeepers, members of the Canadian infantry battalion group serving in Sector West, spent the month of July under gunfire at the Sarajevo airport until they were replaced by French, Ukrainian and Egyptian troops.

UNPROFOR's mandate was expanded in June 1992 to incorporate the "pink zones", areas outside of the UNPAs with substantial numbers of ethnic Serb residents. After adjusting to this additional territory, the first Canadian deployment finished its tour in early October and was replaced by engineers from 1 Combat Engineer Regiment and an infantry battalion group formed by 3rd Battalion, Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry. The engineers continued the work begun by their predecessors until March 1993 when UNPROFOR’s engineering requirements were assumed by non-Canadian engineering units. Similarly, the soldiers of the infantry battalion group continued the peacekeeping duties previously undertaken in Sector West throughout a tense and dangerous six-month rotation. In September 1992 UNPROFOR was permanently expanded into Bosnia-Herzegovina in support of humanitarian relief operations throughout the country. This led to the Canadian government’s offer of another infantry battalion group under the designation Operation CAVALIER and became known to the UN as CANBAT 2. The 2nd Battalion, The Royal Canadian Regiment, provided the first six-month deployment and faced numerous difficulties attempting to fulfill their duties. Their primary task was to assist the UN in delivering humanitarian supplies by protecting and escorting humanitarian convoys around Sarajevo and throughout eastern and central Bosnia-Herzegovina. In addition, in January 1993 Canadian soldiers were sent to Macedonia to serve as observers along its borders with Serbia and Albania. This was an early example of UN “preventive peacekeeping” that was intended to keep local tensions from escalating to war. The Canadians were replaced in Macedonia by Scandinavian troops in March 1993.

In April 1993 Operation CAVALIER was expanded when 300 soldiers were redeployed to the eastern Bosnian city of Srebrenica to protect the city’s refugee population (mostly Bosnian Muslim). The next two battalion groups, provided by the 2e Bataillon, Royal 22e Régiment, and 12 e Régiment Blindé du Canada, continued to fulfill escort and protection duties while facing increased tension and instability in the region. In March 1994 a Dutch unit replaced the Canadian peacekeepers in Srebrenica. Three more Canadian infantry battalion groups, provided by the Lord Strathcona’s Horse (Royal Canadians), The Royal Canadian Dragoons and the 3e Bataillon, Royal 22e Régiment, served in Bosnia-Herzegovina while the situation continued to worsen between the spring of 1994 and late 1995.

Operation MEDUSA

Electronic warfare support was supplied to the Canadian Battle Groups in UNPROFOR through Canadian Operation MEDUSA. This operation provided two direction finding detachments mounted in Bison vehicles. Each detachment included two linguists and provided search, interception, and Line of Bearing direction finding capabilities.

In March 1995 the structure of UNPROFOR underwent major changes after the Croatian government announced it would no longer support extensions to UNPROFOR’s mandate in Croatia. This resulted in the transformation of UNPROFOR into three separate but interdependent missions under the umbrella title of the United Nations Peace Forces (UNPF). In Croatia, the United Nations established the United Nations Confidence Restoration Operation in Croatia (UNCRO). The peacekeeping mission in Bosnia-Herzegovina maintained its UNPROFOR title, and the UN peacekeeping operation in Macedonia was renamed the United Nations Preventive Deployment Force (UNPREDEP). All of these missions took effect on 31 March 1995.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Force de protection des Nations Unies(FORPRONU)

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération Force de protection des Nations Unies(FORPRONU)

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération Force de protection des Nations Unies(FORPRONU)

Organisme responsable:

Résolution 743 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, 21 février 1992
Résolution 749 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, 7 avril 1992
Résolution 758 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, 8 juin 1992
Résolution 761 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, 29 juin 1992
Résolution 762 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, 30 juin 1992
Résolution 764 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, 13 juillet 1992
Résolution 769 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, 7 août 1992
Résolution 770 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies (Chapitre VII de la Charte), 13 août 1992
Résolution 776 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies (Chapitre VII de la Charte), 14 septembre 1992
Résolution 779 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies (Chapitre VII de la Charte), 6 octobre 1992
Résolution 781 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, 9 octobre 1992
Résolution 786 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, 10 novembre 1992
Résolution 807 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies (Chapitre VII de la Charte), 19 février 1993
Résolution 819 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, 16 avril 1993
Résolution 824 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, 3 mai 1993
Résolution 842 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, 18 juin 1993
Résolution 944 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies (Chapitre VII de la Charte), 18 juin 1993
Résolution 847 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies (Chapitre VII de la Charte), 30 juin 1993
Résolution 871 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, 4 octobre 1993
Résolution 914 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, 27 avril 1994
Résolution 982 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies (Chapitre VII de la Charte), 31 mars 1995

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: ex-Yougoslavie

Date: 21 février 1992 - 31 mars 1995

Noms des opérations canadiennes:

CANENGBAT D’avril 1992 à mars 1993
Op MANDARIN (CANLOGBAT) De septembre 1992 à mars 1995
Op HARMONY (CANBAT I) D’avril 1992 à mars 1995
Op CAVALIER (CANBAT II) De septembre 1992 à mars 1995
Op MEDUSA D’une date inconnue à mars 1995
Op PANAROMA De juillet à novembre 1993

Élargissement du mandat:

Au cours de son mandat étalé sur trois ans, la Force de protection des Nations Unies (FORPRONU) s’est appuyée en tout sur 29 résolutions différentes du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, qui ont élargi et accru le rôle de l’ONU en ex Yougoslavie. Au départ, la FORPRONU avait été mise sur pied en Croatie en tant que mesure provisoire pour instaurer les conditions de paix et de sécurité indispensables à la négociation d’un accord global pour régler la crise survenue quand la Slovénie et la Croatie ont déclaré leur indépendance de la fédération yougoslave. Elle avait pour mandat de superviser la démilitarisation des trois « zones protégées des Nations Unies » en Croatie et de veiller à ce que tous les habitants de ces zones soient à l’abri des menaces d’attaque armée.

En 1992, le mandat de la FORPRONU a été élargi de manière à y inclure la surveillance dans d’autres secteurs croates (« zones roses »), et à lui permettre de contrôler l’entrée des civils dans les zones protégées et de les fonctions d’immigration et de douanes aux limites des zones protégées correspondant aux frontières internationales; elle était également chargée de surveiller le processus de démilitarisation dans la péninsule de Prevlaka et de protéger le barrage de Peruca situé dans une des « zones roses ».

En juin 1992, alors que le conflit s’intensifiait et gagnait la Bosnie Herzégovine, on a encore une fois élargi le mandat de la FORPRONU et augmenté ses effectifs en vue d’assurer la protection et le fonctionnement de l’aéroport de Sarajevo, et de distribuer les provisions d’aide humanitaire dans cette ville et aux environs.

En septembre 1992, le mandat de la FORPRONU a été à nouveau élargi afin qu’elle puisse appuyer les efforts du Haut Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés visant à acheminer les secours humanitaires dans l’ensemble de la Bosnie Herzégovine, et protéger les convois des détenus civils libérés sur la demande éventuelle du Comité international de la Croix Rouge. La FORPRONU devait également surveiller la zone d’exclusion aérienne en interdisant tous les vols militaires en Bosnie Herzégovine, et contrôler les « zones de sécurité » établies par le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies autour de cinq villes bosniaques et de Sarajevo.

Les casques bleus étaient autorisés à recourir à la force pour se défendre en répliquant aux attaques contre ces zones, et la FORPRONU pouvait coordonner avec l’Organisation du Traité de l’Atlantique Nord (OTAN) l’utilisation à cette fin des avions fournis par les pays membres. Des arrangements semblables ont par la suite été conclus par rapport au territoire de la Croatie.

En décembre 1992, les membres de la FORPRONU ont été envoyés dans l’ancienne République yougoslave de Macédoine pour surveiller et signaler dans ses zones frontalières les éventuels incidents susceptibles de miner la confiance et la stabilité parmi la population et de menacer son territoire.

En mars 1994, la FORPRONU a entrepris de surveiller le respect d’un accord de cessez le feu conclu par le gouvernement croate et les autorités serbes locales après une recrudescence des combats en janvier et à nouveau en septembre 1993. Le 1er janvier 1995, la FORPRONU s’est mise à surveiller l’application d’un accord de cessez le feu conclu entre le gouvernement bosniaque et les troupes serbes bosniaques, puis le mois suivant, elle a entrepris de faire respecter l’accord de cessez le feu ratifié par le gouvernement bosniaque et les troupes croates en Bosnie.

Le 31 mars 1995, le Conseil de sécurité a décidé de restructurer la FORPRONU, en la remplaçant par trois opérations de maintien de la paix distinctes quoique interreliées.

Ces diverses missions s’appuyaient sur les résolutions suivantes du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies : 743, 749, 758, 761, 762, 764, 769, 776, 779, 781, 786, 795, 807, 815, 819, 824, 836, 838 842, 844, 847, 869, 870, 871, 900, 908, 914, 947 et 982

Notes sur la mission:

L’ONU s’est bientôt jointe, en décembre 1991, aux efforts initiaux de la mission de surveillance de la communauté européenne pour surveiller la situation en train de se dégrader dans l’ex Yougoslavie. Le Conseil de sécurité, par la résolution 724 (1991), a alors approuvé le rapport du secrétaire général qui incluait le plan d’une éventuelle opération de maintien de la paix. Un petit groupe (mission de liaison militaire de l’ONU) comprenant six officiers du Canada et d’autres pays, des policiers civils et des représentants du Secrétariat des Nations Unies s’est ensuite rendu en Yougoslavie pour préparer la réalisation de ce plan.

Le 21 février 1992, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a adopté la résolution 743 instituant la Force de protection des Nations Unies (FORPRONU), chargée de faire respecter le cessez le feu pendant que les diplomates de divers pays négociaient pour résoudre la crise yougoslave. Dans le cadre de cette nouvelle mission de maintien de la paix, le Brigadier-général canadien Lewis MacKenzie a été nommé chef d’état major au quartier général de la FORPRONU. Au départ, les casques bleus devaient se déployer dans les zones protégées par l’ONU, là où habitaient la majorité des Serbes croates et où avaient lieu la plupart des affrontements. Il fallait démilitariser chacune de ces zones protégées et les rendre sécuritaires pour l’ensemble de leurs habitants. Les zones étaient réparties en quatre secteurs : parties ouest et est de la Slavonie, et parties nord et sud de la région Krajina.

Opération CANENGBAT

CANENGBAT
Description : Opération HARMONY. Sveti
Rok (Croatie). Deux bouldozeurs D6 canadiens
ramassent la terre qui sera utilisée pour niveler
une zone marécageuse à l’intérieur d’un camp
français dans le secteur sud. Des membres du
1 RGC à Chilliwack détachés auprès du
CanEngBat (bataillon du génie canadien) ont
aidé tous les contingents de l’ONU en Croatie
à effectuer des tâches avec de l’équipement lourd.
Des sapeurs du 4e Régiment du génie (4 RG), du 17e Escadron du génie blindé, du 22e Escadron du génie et du 41e Escadron du génie ont collectivement formé le 4 RG, sous la désignation CANENGBAT (bataillon du génie canadien). Ce bataillon, qui relevait directement du quartier général de la FORPRONU, s’occupait de toutes sortes de tâches du génie dans les diverses zones protégées.

Opération PANORAMA

La contribution suivante du Canada à la FORPRONU, sous le nom d’opération Panorama, se composait de 12 contrôleurs aériens avancés (CAA). À l’instar des membres du CANBAT et du CANENGBAT, ils relevaient directement du haut commandement de la FORPRONU en Bosnie Herzégovine, qui pouvait ainsi les assigner à n’importe quel bataillon sous ses ordres en fonction des impératifs. Malgré l’appui de l’élément de soutien national, des problèmes logistiques ont contraint les FC à envoyer le groupe du Canada en trois équipes en juillet; et à la fin du mois, ses membres se trouvaient à pied d’oeuvre, prêts à remplir leurs tâches.

Afin d’uniformiser les procédures globales de la FORPRONU, les militaires participant à l’opération Panorama ont souvent passé plusieurs semaines à collaborer avec des équipes CAA britanniques, françaises, espagnoles puis danoises. Cependant, après la fin de la première rotation en novembre 1993, on a intégré aux bataillons canadiens les fonctions CAA, comme celle du génie, pour accroître leurs capacités.

Opération MANDARIN

C’est le Bataillon de logistique du Canada (CANLOGBAT) qui, sous le nom d’opération Mandarin, a assumé les fonctions de logistique et d’approvisionnement pour les troupes canadiennes dans les Balkans. Cette unité a été formée au départ en septembre 1992 à partir des membres de l’élément de soutien national assignés aux premières formations canadiennes en Croatie. De sa naissance jusqu’en janvier 1996, le Bataillon de logistique canadien, également appelé Groupe de soutien du contingent canadien, a répondu aux besoins en approvisionnements des troupes canadiennes sur le terrain. Le bataillon regroupait des militaires appartenant aux unités de soutien canadiennes stationnées en Allemagne ainsi qu’au 5e Bataillon des services du Canada, au 1er Bataillon des services et au 2e Bataillon des services.

Le personnel du CANLOGBAT a été basé dans un premier temps au Camp Polom près de Daruvar en Croatie. De cet endroit et d’une station de relais à Ploce en Croatie, les logisticiens s’occupaient de ravitailler les unités canadiennes stationnées à Visoko, Gracac et Srebrenica. Leur travail était difficile et souvent dangereux à cause des combats intermittents et du piètre état des routes. Une fois le CANBAT I redéployé dans le secteur sud, le CANLOGBAT a pu déménager à un endroit plus centralisé pour mener ses activités. Au printemps 1994, il a déménagé du Camp Polom et de Ploce à un endroit situé près de Primosten sur la côte dalmate de la Croatie.

Opération HARMONY

HARMONY
Opération HARMONY. TTB M113
traversant Metkovic.
Le volet d’infanterie, composé de soldats du 1er Bataillon du Royal 22e Régiment (1 R22eR), du 3e Bataillon du Royal Canadian Regiment (3RCR) et d’autres unités canadiennes basées en Europe, évoluait sous le nom de Groupement tactique 1 R22eR, tandis que l’ONU l’avait baptisé Bataillon canadien (CANBAT). En avril 1992, les membres de cette unité ont commencé à travailler aux postes de contrôle, à effectuer des patrouilles et à surveiller les actions des troupes serbes et croates.

Le Canada a d’abord fourni à la FORPRONU un « groupement tactique » sous le nom d’opération Harmony. Le groupement tactique était divisé en deux sections, une d’infanterie et une du génie.

Durant la participation à l’opération Harmony du groupe bataillon d’infanterie suivant, le 2e Bataillon du Régiment Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry, on a échangé en septembre 1993 la zone de responsabilité canadienne pour le secteur sud. À leur arrivée, ces soldats ont eu à subir une nouvelle offensive croate au début de septembre qui a dégénéré en une guerre ouverte opposant les Croates et les Serbes dans la région de Medak. Les pressions des responsables de l’ONU et des casques bleus de la FORPRONU ont permis d’en arriver à un cessez le feu après quatre jours d’affrontements. Mais les troupes croates ont résisté vivement aux efforts de la FORPRONU pour faire respecter l’accord de cessez le feu dans cette région.

Les trois phases de déploiement suivantes du groupe bataillon d’infanterie canadien entre octobre 1993 et mars 1995, soit le 1er Bataillon du Royal 22e Régiment, le 1er Bataillon du régiment Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry et le 1er Bataillon du Royal Canadian Regiment se sont déroulées dans un climat tendu, mais relativement tranquille. Les sapeurs du 4e Régiment d’appui du génie ont aussi été assignés brièvement à la FORPRONU en 1994 pour aider au déminage dans le secteur sud.

Opération CAVALIER

CAVALIER
Description: Pakrac (Croatie) – Le Cpl
Wayne Tripp et le Cplc Chris Atkinson, du
4e Régiment du génie de combat (4 RGC),
préparent des charges explosives pour
détruire une roquette antichar. Ils ont
participé au déploiement du 4 RGC en
avril à partir de Lahr (Allemagne), en
tant que partie intégrante du contingent
canadien de la Force de protection des
Nations Unies (FORPRONU) en
ex-République de Yougoslavie.
En avril 1992, la guerre civile yougoslave s’est propagée de la Croatie à la république voisine de Bosnie Herzégovine. Les combats faisant rage partout dans la république, mais en particulier le siège de sa capitale Sarajevo, ont incité l’ONU à transférer temporairement certains des casques bleus de Croatie en Bosnie Herzégovine pour aider à la livraison du matériel d’aide humanitaire. Parmi leurs efforts initiaux, mentionnons les tentatives à l’été 1992 de rouvrir l’aéroport de Sarajevo pour permettre les vols de ravitaillement. Les casques bleus canadiens faisant partie du groupe bataillon d’infanterie déployé dans le secteur ouest ont passé le mois de juillet à essuyer des bombardements à l’aéroport de Sarajevo, jusqu’à leur remplacement par des militaires français, ukrainiens et égyptiens.

Le mandat de la FORPRONU a été élargi en juin 1992 pour qu’elle assure également la protection des « zones roses », soit des secteurs en dehors des zones protégées où vivaient de nombreux Serbes. Après des ajustements pour tenir compte de ce territoire supplémentaire, le premier détachement canadien, une fois sa période de rotation terminée au début d’octobre, a été relevé par des sapeurs du 1er Régiment du génie et un groupe bataillon d’infanterie formé d’éléments du 3e Bataillon du régiment Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry. Les sapeurs ont poursuivi le travail amorcé par leurs prédécesseurs jusqu’en mars 1993, lorsque des unités d’autres pays ont pris en charge les activités de génie de la FORPRONU. De même, les membres du groupe bataillon d’infanterie ont continué le travail entrepris auparavant dans le secteur ouest durant une période de rotation de six mois marquée par des tensions et des dangers continuels. En septembre 1992, la FORPRONU s’est implantée solidement en Bosnie Herzégovine pour appuyer les activités de secours dans l’ensemble du pays. Ce nouveau rôle a incité le gouvernement canadien à offrir, sous le nom d’opération Cavalier, un autre groupe bataillon d’infanterie surnommé CANBAT II par l’ONU. Au cours de la première période de déploiement de six mois, ses membres, provenant du 2e Bataillon du Royal Canadian Regiment, ont eu à affronter de nombreuses difficultés dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions. Leur rôle premier était d’aider l’ONU à acheminer les secours en protégeant et escortant les convois de marchandises autour de Sarajevo ainsi que dans les parties orientale et centrale de la Bosnie Herzégovine. De plus, en janvier 1993, des militaires canadiens ont été envoyés en Macédoine comme observateurs pour surveiller ses frontières avec la Serbie et l’Albanie. Cet exemple précoce de « mission préventive de maintien de la paix » de l’ONU visait à éviter que les tensions locales ne dégénèrent en guerre ouverte. Les soldats canadiens en Macédoine ont été relevés en mars 1993 par des troupes scandinaves.

En avril 1993, l’opération Cavalier a pris de l’expansion quand 300 soldats ont été transférés dans la ville de Srebrenica à l’est de la Bosnie pour protéger les réfugiés (la plupart des Bosniaques musulmans) qui s’y trouvaient. Les deux groupes bataillons suivants, issus du 2e Bataillon du Royal 22e Régiment et du 12e Régiment blindé du Canada, ont continué à remplir les fonctions d’escorte et de protection, en étant confrontés aux tensions et à l’instabilité croissante qui régnaient dans la région. En mars 1994, une unité danoise est venue relayer les casques bleus canadiens à Srebrenica. Trois autres groupes bataillons d’infanterie canadiens formés à partir du Régiment Lord Strathcona’s Horse, des Royal Canadian Dragoons et du 3e Bataillon du Royal 22e Régiment ont servi en Bosnie Herzégovine entre le printemps 1994 et la fin de 1995, en même temps que la situation empirait.

Opération MEDUSA

Le soutien en matière de guerre électronique a été fourni aux groupements tactiques canadiens de la FORPRONU sous le nom d’opération Medusa. On a alors déployé deux détachements de repérage équipés de véhicules Bison, comprenant chacun deux interprètes, qui avaient les moyens nécessaires pour réaliser des recherches et des interceptions et trouver l’orientation à partir de lignes de repère.

En mars 1995, la FORPRONU a été restructurée en profondeur après l’annonce par le gouvernement croate qu’il s’objectait à un prolongement de cette mission en Croatie. On a alors scindé la FORPRONU en trois missions distinctes bien qu’interdépendantes, sous le titre global Forces de paix des Nations Unies (FPNU). En Croatie, l’ONU a mis sur pied l’opération des Nations Unies pour le rétablissement de la confiance en Croatie (ONURC). La mission de maintien de la paix en Bosnie Herzégovine a conservé la désignation FORPRONU, tandis que la troupe de maintien de la paix de l’ONU en Macédoine a été rebaptisée Force de déploiement préventif des Nations Unies (FORDEPRENU). Toutes ces missions ont débuté le 31 mars 1995.