Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation VIKING

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

VIKING

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation VIKING

International Mission Name: Operation VIKING (SHIRBRIG)

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Europe

Location: Denmark

Mission Date: 27 June 1997 - Present

Mission Mandate:

To provide one permanent member and identify others for the Canadian Forces contingent to the SHIRBRIG Planning Element.

sion/Operation Notes:

In his 1995 “Supplement to an Agenda for Peace” the UN Secretary-General recommended that the UN consider the idea of a rapid deployment force. While Canada had previously been examining the possibility of a UN headquarters formation, Denmark and the Netherlands were examining a troop-based formation. Other nations soon joined the idea of creating a rapid reaction force based on a headquarters and troops. On 15 December 1996, seven nations signed the three agreements that created the United Nations Multinational Standby High Readiness Brigade (SHIRBRIG). On 2 September 1997, the Secretary-General opened the SHIRBRIG Planning Element outside Copenhagen, Denmark. SHIRBRIG continued to grow so that by January 2000 SHIRBRIG announced that it was ready to deploy.

As part of the SHIRBRIG infrastructure a permanent Planning Element was created initially consisting of 13 officers representing all branches of the headquarters and forming the core of the SHIRBRIG headquarters staff. The Planning Element works on developing concepts, doctrine and policies in the areas of communications, operations and rules of engagement among other areas. These are used not only for training the SHIRBRIG-ready forces, but also for any deployments.

On 27 June 1997, the Deputy Chief of the Defence Staff issued the order to provide a Canadian Forces contingent to the SHIRBRIG Planning Element. This Canadian contingent was given the name Operation VIKING. Canada committed to providing one officer to the Planning Element and at least five others should the SHIRBRIG Headquarters deploys.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) VIKING

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

VIKING

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération VIKING

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération VIKING (BIRFA)

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Danemark

Date: 27 juin 1997 - Présent

Mandat de la mission:

Fournir un membre permanent et en désigner d'autres pour le contingent des Forces canadiennes affecté à l'élément de planification de la BIRFA.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

Dans le Supplément à l'Agenda pour la paix publié en 1995, le Secrétaire général des Nations Unies a recommandé que l'ONU envisage l'idée d'une force de déploiement rapide. Le Canada avait déjà examiné la possibilité de mettre sur pied une formation de quartier général, tandis que le Danemark et les Pays-Bas songeaient plutôt à une formation fondée sur des troupes. D'autres pays se sont bientôt ralliés à l'idée de créer une force d'intervention rapide basée à la fois sur un quartier général et sur des troupes. Le 15 décembre 1996, sept nations ont signé les trois accords qui ont permis la création de la Brigade multinationale d'intervention rapide des forces en attente des Nations Unies (BIRFA). Le 2 septembre 1997, le Secrétaire général a ouvert l'élément de planification de la BIRFA à l'extérieur de Copenhague, au Danemark. La BIRFA a continué de se développer jusqu'à ce qu'en janvier 2000, elle annonce qu'elle était prête à se déployer.

Comme partie intégrante de l'infrastructure de la BIRFA, on a créé un élément de planification permanent qui comprenait au départ 13 officiers représentant toutes les branches du quartier général et constituant le noyau du personnel de la BIRFA. L'élément de planification travaille au développement de concepts, de doctrine et de politiques notamment dans les secteurs des communications, des opérations et des règles d'engagement. Ces concepts, doctrine et politiques sont utilisés non seulement pour l'entraînement des forces en attente de la BIRFA, mais aussi pour tout déploiement.

Le 27 juin 1997, le Sous-chef d'état-major de la Défense a émis l'ordre de fournir un contingent des Forces canadiennes à l'élément de planification de la BIRFA. Ce contingent canadien a reçu le nom d'opération Viking. Le Canada s'est engagé à fournir un officier à l'élément de planification et au moins cinq autres si le quartier général de la BIRFA était déployé.

Haut de la page