Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation WET FOOT

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

WET FOOT

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation WET FOOT

International Mission Name: Operation WET FOOT

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Europe

Location: Netherlands

Mission Date: 3 February 1953 - 22 February 1953

Mission Mandate: To deliver humanitarian assistance and provide aid to the Netherlands.

Mission/Operation Notes:

In the early hours of 30 January a low-pressure area developed east of Iceland. It moved east over the next day so that it was between Scotland and Norway by noon, 31 January. Filling in behind the low was a strong high-pressure ridge. As the air flowed from the high to the low pressure area the steep pressure gradient generated winds that gusted to 200 km/h (120 mph) off the coast of Scotland. The low then shifted southwards pushing a strong storm surge ahead of it and generating high waves.

The east coast of England and Scotland were overwhelmed by the force of the North Sea. A car ferry sank off Scotland, claiming 133 lives. Over 170 other people lost their lives in the United Kingdom as the sea washed out dikes and flooded large areas during the day and into the night of 31 January. The worse was yet to come. With the winds blowing from the north, the low was able to push the storm surge and 8 metres waves ahead of it. It hit the Netherlands at 4:00 AM on 1 February. The dikes along the southwest part of the country were easily breached by the combination of waves, storm surge and a high tide. By daybreak, one-sixth of the country was under water, 1835 people were drowned, 12.8 percent of its cropland and pasture were destroyed, as were 3000 homes and 300 farms. It was the worst flood in over 300 years.

The Canadian Ambassador in The Hague made an immediate offer of assistance, while Prime Minister Louis St. Laurent proposed the Red Cross set up a national flood relief committee to which the government would make a substantial contribution - $1,000,000. In addition a troop of field engineers from the Canadian army in Germany was detached for service in the Netherlands, and the RCAF flew relief flights into the country.

One further result of the flooding was that the Canadian government eased immigration rules specifically for inhabitants of the stricken areas in Belgium, England, and the Netherlands, and more specifically farmers. One effect was that whole families could immigrate to Canada, rather than just heads of families.

Starting 5 February, No. 426 Squadron North Stars made the first of four trips to Amsterdam. These flights carried 1500 army blankets, plus clothing and boots provided by the Canadian Red Cross. Further North Star flights departed on 12, 17 and 22 February.

From the Canadian 27th Infantry Brigade in Germany, a troop from the 58th Independent Field Engineering Squadron was detached to the 38th Field Regiment, Royal Engineers. By 11:00 AM on February 2nd, the officer commanding the 58th Field had been warned that he may assisting in flood relief efforts. By 8:00 AM the next morning, approval had been given, the engineers had drawn stores and had departed, returning to Germany and control of the 27th Brigade on 17 February. The engineers were equipped with searchlights and amphibious vehicles. Their initial task was to assist in rescue efforts, then later to assist in repairs.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) WET FOOT

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

WET FOOT

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: opération WET FOOT

Nom de la mission internationale: opération WET FOOT

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Pays-Bas

Date: 3 février 1953 - 22 février 1953

Mandat de la mission: Apporter de l’aide et une assistance humanitaire aux Pays-Bas.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

Aux petites heures du matin le 30 janvier, une dépression s’est formée à l’est de l’Islande. À midi le lendemain, elle était entre l’Écosse et la Norvège, et une forte crête barométrique se trouvait dans son sillage. Quand l’air est passé de la crête barométrique à la dépression, le fort gradient de pression a provoqué des rafales de 200 km/h (120 mi/h) au large de l’Écosse. La dépression s’est ensuite déplacée vers le sud en poussant devant elle une puissante onde de tempête et en produisant de fortes vagues.

La côte est de l’Angleterre et l’Écosse ont été submergées par la force de la mer du Nord. Un transbordeur de passagers et de voitures a coulé au large de l’Écosse, ce qui a causé la mort de 133 personnes. Au Royaume-Uni, plus de 170 personnes ont perdu la vie lorsque la mer a fait céder des digues et inondé de grandes étendues pendant la journée et la nuit du 31 janvier. Cependant, le pire était encore à venir. Les vents soufflant du nord, la dépression a pu pousser l’onde de tempête et des vagues de 8 mètres de haut devant elle. Elles ont frappé les Pays-Bas le 1er février à 4 h du matin. La force combinée des vagues, de l’onde de tempête et de la marée haute a facilement ouvert des brèches dans les digues de la partie sud-ouest du pays. À l’aube, un sixième du pays était inondé, 1 835 personnes s’étaient noyées, et 12,8 pour 100 des cultures et des pâturages étaient détruits, ainsi que 3 000 maisons et 300 fermes. Cette inondation était la pire à survenir en plus de 300 ans.

L’ambassadeur du Canada à La Haye a immédiatement offert de l’aide, et le premier ministre, Louis Saint-Laurent, a proposé la mise sur pied par la Croix-Rouge d’un comité national de secours aux victimes des inondations, auquel le gouvernement verserait une importante contribution, soit 1 000 000 $. De plus, une troupe de sapeurs de l’armée canadienne en Allemagne a été détachée aux Pays-Bas, et l’Aviation royale du Canada a effectué des vols de secours dans ce pays.

L’inondation a également eu pour effet d’amener le gouvernement canadien à assouplir les règles en matière d’immigration, en particulier pour les habitants des zones sinistrées de la Belgique, de l’Angleterre et des Pays-Bas, et surtout pour les fermiers. Des familles entières pouvaient désormais immigrer au Canada, et non uniquement les chefs de famille.

Le 5 février, des North Star du 426e Escadron ont entrepris le premier de quatre voyages à Amsterdam. Ils ont transporté 1 500 couvertures de l’armée, ainsi que des bottes et des vêtements fournis par la Croix-Rouge canadienne. D’autres North Star sont partis les 12, 17 et 22 février.

Une troupe du 58e Escadron du génie de campagne autonome de la 27e Brigade d’infanterie du Canada en Allemagne a été détachée auprès du 38e Régiment de campagne, Royal Engineers. À 11 h le 2 février, l’officier qui commandait le 58e Escadron savait qu’il participerait peut-être sous peu aux secours organisés à la suite de l’inondation. À 8 h le lendemain matin, l'approbation ayant été donnée, les ingénieurs avaient obtenu leur matériel et étaient partis, pour retourner en Allemagne sous le contrôle de la 27e Brigade le 17 février. Ils étaient équipés de projecteurs et de véhicules amphibies. Au départ, leur tâche consistait à aider aux opérations de sauvetage et ils ont par la suite contribué aux travaux de réparation.

Haut de la page