Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation WOUNDED BUFFALO

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

WOUNDED BUFFALO
Description: A camouflaged colour CC-115
Buffalo and a CH-113 Labrador helicopter
fly past base Trenton.

Canadian Forces (CF) Information (WOUNDED BUFFALO)

Name: Op WOUNDED BUFFALO Date: 01 September 1986 - 01 February 1987

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Mandate: To return to Canada the remains of a de Havilland Buffalo that had crashed at Farnborough, England.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

De Havilland Aircraft brought four of its aircraft - Buffalo, Twin Otter, Dash-7 and Dash-8 - to the 1984 Farnborough Air Show. On 4 September, the Buffalo suffered a loss of control on its approach to the runway. Although it underwent a very hard landing in which the wings crumbled, the undercarriage broke and the propeller blades flew off, nobody was injured. When the Farnborough crews moved the hulk off the runway, the fuselage was left fairly intact.

The Department of National Defence began negotiations to purchase the remains for use as a flight simulator. In March 1985 the Department of Supply and Services was able to acquire the aircraft. A team from 426 Squadron and CFB Trenton went to Farnborough to remove and crate the aircraft's cockpit section and other parts of the aircraft. These parts were then flown back to Trenton in a succession of 426 Squadron training flights. The cockpit was eventually used for flight simulation.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) WOUNDED BUFFALO

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

WOUNDED BUFFALO
Description : Un CC-115 Buffalo aux
couleurs de camouflage et un CH-113
Labrador survolent la base de Trenton.

Renseignements de l'opération des FC (WOUNDED BUFFALO)

Nom: Op WOUNDED BUFFALODate : 01 septembre 1986 - 01 février 1987

Mandant: Rapporter au Canada les débris d’un Buffalo DeHavilland écrasé à Farnborough en Angleterre.

Mandat: Rapporter au Canada les débris d’un Buffalo DeHavilland écrasé à Farnborough en Angleterre.

Notes sur la mission :

En 1984 la compagnie De Havilland envoya quatre avions (Buffalo, Twin Otter, Dash-7 et Dash-8) au spectacle aérien de Franborough. Le 4 septembre, le pilote du Buffalo en perdit la maîtrise en approche de la piste. L’atterrissage fut rude, une des ailes se fracassa, le train d’atterrissage se cassa et le porte-hélice s’envola en plusieurs directions, mais personne ne fut blessé. Lorsque les équipes de Farnborough enlevèrent la carcasse de la piste, le fuselage était encore plus ou moins entier.

Le ministère de la Défense nationale décida d’acheter les débris pour les utiliser dans un simulateur de vol. En mars 1985, le ministère de l’Approvisionnement et des Services acheta l’avion. Une équipe du 426e Escadron et de la BFC de Trenton se rendit à Farnborough afin d'emballer l’habitacle et les autres parties de l’avion. Ils furent ensuite transportés à Trenton en plusieurs vols d'entraînement du 426e escadron. Éventuellement, le poste de pilotage a été utilisé comme simulateur de vol.