Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Hungary 1956

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Hungary 1956

International Information

International Operation Name: Hungary 1956

International Mission Name: Hungary 1956

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Europe

Location: Hungary

Mission Date: 29 October 1956 - 4 November 1956

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (Hungary 1956)

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement:

To deliver humanitarian aid to Austria for refugees of the Hungarian Revolution.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

On 23 October 1956, Hungary’s population, led by university-aged students, rose up against their government, seeking economic and political reform. At the same time, the Hungarian communist party was divided between reformers and Stalinists.

On 23 October, students began marching in the streets of Budapest in support of the revolution in Poland and demanding that the Soviet Union withdraw its occupation troops. Hungarian soldiers, instead of putting down the march, began to remove the Red Star on their hats and uniforms in sympathy. The number of marchers soon reached about 100,000. At this point the protest was peaceful, but the Hungarian Security Police (AVO) opened fire on the crowds. A riot started, while supportive arms factory workers began to hand out weapons to the protesters.

The government called in the Soviet troops that were installed around the country; and they intervened starting on 24 October. Hungarian youth fought the Soviet tanks with Molotov cocktails and rifles. The Hungarian military was also called in, but they soon ceased attacking the protesters and reached informal cease-fires with them. The Soviet troops also reached informal cease-fires with the protesters in some areas, but in other locales put down the protesters violently. The fighting continued until 28 October.

Throughout Hungary, the people began electing Municipal Councils, while workers elected Workers Councils. Political prisoners were released, while Premier Imre Nagy declared Hungary a neutral state. It was at this point that the Soviet leadership decided to crush the revolution with extreme force. On the morning of 4 November, newly-arrived Soviet armoured regiments supported by the AVO entered Budapest and other major cities where they did not shy away from opening fire. The Hungarian people fought back, but it was an unequal contest and order was restored in most of the country by 10 November. By then thousands of Hungarians had fled the country, making their way to Austria.

As soon as the fighting started on 24 October, medical supplies began to arrive in Hungary from communist bloc neighbours. Hungarian expatriates around the world also began to collect humanitarian aid. The Hungarian-Canadian community reacted quickly, gathered supplies in Toronto which were picked up by a 426 Squadron North Star on 30 October. The North Star arrived in Vienna on November 1st, expecting to be met by the Canadian Ambassador and Austrian Red Cross officials. Dressed in their best uniforms, they were shepherded by the police to an office, after which a heated exchange occurred between various officials. Finally, an elderly gentleman asked the crew if they had any civilian clothes, to which they replied affirmatively. They were immediately ordered to put them on. Returning to the lounge in civilian clothes, they were met with a warm welcome. Unknowingly, the crew had broken a 1955 Peace Protocol between the western allies and the Soviet Union that prohibited foreign military forces in Austria.

Canada would eventually welcome 8,000 of the more than 200,000 Hungarians who left the country before the Soviet army sealed the borders.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Hongrie 1956

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Hongrie 1956

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Hongrie 1956

Nom de la mission internationale: Hongrie 1956

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Hongrie

Date: 29 octobre 1956 - 4 novembre 1956

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Hongrie 1956)

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Apporter à l’Autriche de l’aide humanitaire pour les réfugiés de la Révolution hongroise.

Historique de la mission:

Entraînée par des étudiants d'université, la population hongroise s'est soulevée contre le gouvernement le 23 octobre 1956. à cette époque, le parti communiste hongrois était divisé entre les Réformistes et les Staliniens.

Le 23 octobre, des étudiants se sont mis à défiler dans les rues de Budapest pour appuyer la révolution en Pologne et exiger le retrait des troupes soviétiques. Au lieu de réprimer la marche de protestation, les soldats hongrois ont enlevé l’étoile rouge de leur chapeau et de leur uniforme en signe de sympathie. Le nombre de manifestants s'est bientôt chiffré à quelque 100 000. à ce stade, la protestation était pacifique, mais la police de sécurité hongroise (AVH) a ouvert le feu sur la foule. Une émeute a éclaté et les travailleurs d’une usine d’armes favorables à la cause des manifestants se sont mis à leur distribuer des armes.

Le gouvernement a fait appel aux troupes soviétiques installées dans tout le pays, lesquelles sont intervenues à partir du 24 octobre. Les jeunes Hongrois ont affronté les chars d’assaut soviétiques à l’aide de cocktails Molotov et de fusils. Les militaires hongrois ont également été appelés à la rescousse, mais ont vite cessé de s’attaquer aux manifestants et ont conclu avec eux des cessez-le-feu officieux. Les troupes soviétiques en ont fait autant dans certaines régions, mais ont réprimé violemment les manifestants dans d’autres. Les affrontements se sont poursuivis jusqu’au 28 octobre.

Partout en Hongrie, la population a commencé à élire des conseils municipaux, et les travailleurs, des conseils de travailleurs. Les prisonniers politiques ont été libérés, et le premier ministre, Imre Nagy, a déclaré la Hongrie État neutre. C'est à ce moment que les dirigeants soviétiques ont décidé d’étouffer la révolution sans pitié. Le 4 novembre au matin, des régiments de blindés soviétiques arrivés depuis peu et soutenus par l’AVH ont pénétré dans Budapest et dans d’autres grandes villes et ont ouvert le feu sans hésiter. Les Hongrois ont riposté, mais le combat était inégal. Le 10 novembre, l’ordre était rétabli dans la plus grande partie du pays. à cette date, des milliers de Hongrois avaient déjà fui le pays pour se réfugier en Autriche.

Dès le début des combats le 24 octobre, la Hongrie avait commencé à recevoir des fournitures médicales des pays voisins membres du bloc communiste. Les Hongrois expatriés se sont également mis à recueillir de l’aide humanitaire.

La communauté hongro-canadienne a réagi promptement et a recueilli à Toronto des fournitures qu’un North Star du 426e Escadron est venu chercher le 30 octobre. Le North Star s'est posé à Vienne le 1er novembre. Les membres de l’équipage, vêtus de leur uniforme, s’attendaient à être reçus par l’ambassadeur du Canada et des représentants de la Croix-Rouge autrichienne, mais c’est plutôt la police qui les attendait pour les conduire jusqu’à un bureau. Après échange de vifs propos entre divers responsables, un homme âgé a finalement demandé aux membres de l’équipage s’ils avaient des vêtements civils. Devant leur réponse affirmative, on leur a ordonné de les mettre tout de suite. à leur retour dans la pièce vêtus en civils, ils ont été accueillis à bras ouverts. L’équipage avait enfreint par inadvertance un protocole de paix signé en 1955 entre les alliés occidentaux et l’Union soviétique, qui interdisait la présence de forces militaires étrangères en Autriche.

Le Canada a finalement accueilli 8 000 des plus de 200 000 Hongrois qui avaient fui le pays avant que l'armée soviétique n'en ferme les frontières.