Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation ACCORD

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

ACCORD
Group photo of the Supply Group at Qatar during the Gulf War

International Information

International Operation Name: Gulf War

International Mission Name: Gulf War

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Middle East

Location: Kuwait, Iraq

Mission Date: 2 August 1990 - 6 April 1991

Mission Mandate: To enforce the UN Security resolutions on Iraq and remove Iraqi forces from Kuwait.

United Nations Security Council Resolution 660, 2 Aug 1990
United Nations Security Council Resolution 661, 6 Aug 1990
United Nations Security Council Resolution 665, 25 Aug 1990
United Nations Security Council Resolution 678, 29 Nov 1990

Mission/Operation Notes:

Asserting that Kuwait was properly an integral part of Iraq - its 19th province in fact - the Government of Saddam Hussein launched an invasion of the oil-rich state on 2 August 1990. Kuwait was occupied in less than a day.

The United States immediately began to put together a coalition to protect Saudi Arabia and its oil fields, and to persuade Iraq to leave Kuwait. Indeed, on 7 August Saudi Arabia asked the US to station American troops on its territory to protect the Kingdom.

The United Nations also took up the issue. On 2 August the Security Council approved Resolution 660, which asserted that Iraq posed a threat to peace and demanded that it withdraw its forces from Kuwait. When no progress was made, resolution No. 661 was passed on 6 August, launching an embargo against all transactions with Iraq, except for the delivery of medical supplies and foodstuffs. This was a Chapter VII resolution.

With the embargo having limited effect, the Security Council passed Resolution No. 665 on 25 August under Chapter VII authorizing maritime forces to use measures commensurate with enforcing Resolution 661. The final significant act was Resolution 678 on 29 November. It authorized the use of force to ensure Iraqi compliance with all Security Council resolutions if Iraq did not withdraw from Kuwait by 15 January 1991.

The Iraqi military seemed to pose a significant threat. The army had over 1,000,000 soldiers, including the Republican Guard of almost 80,000 troops, equipped with more than 5,500 tanks, including the most modern T-72s, and over 3,000 artillery pieces.

The Iraqi Air Force was assessed as having a highly credible capability. In terms of equipments, it had over 750 French and Soviet aircraft including 500 fighters and fighter-bombers. These included Mirage F-1, MiG- 21, MiG-23, MiG-25 and MiG-29 fighter and interceptor aircraft and Sukhoi Su-20/22 and Su-25 close support aircraft. In addition, the air defence system included some of the most modern and capable French and Soviet equipment. Offensively, Iraq fielded a variety of surface-to-surface missiles, including Scuds, and while these were not the most accurate types, they could reach targets as far away as Israel.

Most worrisome was the fact that Iraq was known to have chemical weapons - blister agents like mustard gas as well as nerve agents like sarin and tabun - and the means of delivering them. And of course, such weapons had already been used internally - and in the long drawn-out war against Iran.

Although efforts at finding a negotiated settlement continued, coalition forces gathered strength in Saudi Arabia and other Gulf States from August 1990 to January 1991. Ultimately, Security Council Resolution 678 gave Iraq until 15 January to withdraw its forces from Kuwait. That did not happen, and at 0300 Baghdad time on 17 January 1991an air campaign was launched against Iraqi military targets in Kuwait and Iraq. Designated Operation Desert Storm, at the outset the air campaign was designed to destroy Iraq’s command, control, and communications infrastructure and its air defence system. Fielded forces were attacked thereafter. For its part, Iraq launched its first Scud missile against Saudi Arabia on 17 January, and began blowing up oil wells in Kuwait on 22 February.

The ground war commenced on 24 February, and coalition forces made rapid progress against Iraqi troops, which had been shattered by over a month of aerial bombardment. The next day Iraq launched a Scud missile attack against Israel in an attempt to draw that country into the fighting and, perhaps, break up the US-led coalition. Israel did not take the bait, and by 28 February, after just 100 hours of ground operations, the Iraqis had been pushed out of Kuwait. US President George H. Bush declared a unilateral cease-fire that same day; Iraq agreed to abide by the terms and the UN Resolutions on 3 March, and the official cease-fire came into effect on 6 April.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (ACCORD)

Name: ACCORD

Date: 28 September 1990 - 6 November 1990

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

With the increasing size of the Canadian contribution to Operation Friction, it was realized within military and political circles that a Canadian headquarters was required to ensure that Canadian personnel were employed in accordance with the directions of the Canadian government. Planning for the Headquarters - Canadian Forces Middle East (HQ CANFORME) began on 28 September, and was completed by 7 October. The headquarters was slated to be operational on 28 October. Operation ACCORD was the designation given to the creation and transportation of the headquarters.

Mobile and Communications Commands provided 60 percent of the 160 personnel for the newly created 90 Headquarters and Signals Squadron. Personnel from 93 different units began gathering at CFB Kingston for training on 13 October. A recce team arrived in Manamah, Bahrain on 14 October, scouting locations for the new headquarters. They quickly realized that military personnel travelling in the Gulf on civilian aircraft required individual visas. A CC-144 Challenger was therefore tasked on 21 October to provide support for the HQ.

The move of the headquarters from Canada began on 19 October with the airlift of equipment by Hercules, and was completed by 1 November. The first personnel left Trenton on 22 October, followed by the main body on 25 October. This was done in ten flights (nine by Hercules from 429, 435 and 436 Squadrons and one by Boeing from 437 Squadron) carrying 125 tons of baggage and freight and 255 passengers. It should be remembered that these flights were occurring at the same time as those for Op Scimitar, which meant that the transport crews were heavily tasked.

Operation ACCORD ended on 6 November, when the headquarters came under the command of Commodore K.J. Summers. After this time, HQ CANFORME was operating under Operation FRICTION.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) ACCORD

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

ACCORD
Description : Photo de l’ensemble du Groupe de
l’approvisionnement au Quatar pendant la guerre
du Golfe.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Guerre du Golfe

Nom de la mission internationale: Guerre du Golfe

Mandant: Organisation des Nations Unies

Région géographique: Moyen-Orient

Lieu: Iraq, Koweït

Date: 2 août 1990 - 6 avril 1991

Mandat:

Résolutions 660 (2 août 1990), 661 (6 août 1990), 665 (25 août 1990) et 678 (29 novembre 1990) du Conseil de sécurité

Faire respecter les résolutions du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies par l’Irak et veiller au retrait des forces irakiennes du Koweït.

Notes sur la mission:

Jugeant que le Koweït faisait partie intégrante de l’Iraq (sa 19e province en fait), le gouvernement de Saddam Hussein a envahi militairement ce riche État pétrolier le 2 août 1990. Les Iraquiens ont occupé le Koweït en moins d’une journée.

Les États-Unis ont aussitôt entrepris de former une coalition pour protéger l’Arabie saoudite et ses champs pétroliers et pour obliger l’Iraq à renoncer au Koweït. D’ailleurs, le 7 août, l’Arabie saoudite a demandé aux Américains de stationner des troupes sur son territoire pour défendre le royaume.

L’Organisation des Nations Unies s’est aussi attaquée au problème. Le 2 août, le Conseil de sécurité a approuvé la résolution 660 affirmant que l’Iraq représentait une menace pour la paix et exigeant le retrait des forces iraquiennes du Koweït. Étant donné que les négociations piétinaient, le Conseil a adopté le 6 août la résolution 661 dans le but d’imposer un embargo sur toutes les transactions avec l’Iraq, sauf pour les livraisons de fournitures médicales et de produits alimentaires. Cette résolution reposait sur le Chapitre VII de la Charte.

L’embargo ayant des effets limités, le Conseil de sécurité a voté le 25 août la résolution 665 en vertu du Chapitre VII de la Charte, qui autorisait les forces navales à recourir aux moyens nécessaires pour faire respecter la résolution 661. La dernière mesure importante a été l’adoption le 29 novembre de la résolution 678, qui permettait le recours à la force pour contraindre l’Iraq à respecter toutes les résolutions du Conseil de sécurité, dans l’éventualité où les Iraqiens ne se seraient pas retirés du Koweït au 15 janvier 1991.

Les forces armées iraquiennes paraissaient impressionnantes et dangereuses. L’armée comptait plus d’un million de soldats, dont la Garde républicaine aux effectifs de près de 80 000 membres. Les troupes disposaient de plus de 5 500 chars d’assaut, entre autres les T 72 les plus modernes, et de plus de 3 000 pièces d’artillerie.

La force aérienne iraquienne était très puissante selon les estimations. En termes d’équipement, elle possédait au-delà de 750 avions français et soviétiques, dont 500 chasseurs et chasseurs-bombardiers. Mentionnons notamment des chasseurs et intercepteurs Mirage F 1, MiG-21, MiG-23, MiG-25 et MiG-29 ainsi que des avions d’appui rapproché Sukhoi Su 20/22 et Su 25. En outre, la défense antiaérienne de l’Iraq pouvait miser sur certains des équipements français et soviétiques les plus modernes et efficaces. Du point de vue offensif, l’Iraq alignait divers missiles sol sol, notamment des Scuds qui, bien qu’assez peu précis, pouvaient atteindre des cibles aussi éloignées qu’Israël.

Aspect particulièrement inquiétant, on savait que l’Iraq disposait d’armes chimiques, soit des agents vésicants comme le gaz moutarde et des agents neurotoxiques comme le sarin et le tabun, ainsi que la capacité de les émettre. Et, évidemment, les Iraquiens avaient déjà utilisé ces armes à l'intérieur du pays et durant la longue guerre contre l’Iran.

En dépit des efforts continus pour arriver à un règlement négocié, les pays de la coalition ont massé progressivement des forces en Arabie saoudite et dans d'autres États du golfe Persique d'août 1990 à janvier 1991. Finalement, le Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU a adopté la résolution 678 enjoignant l’Iraq de retirer ses troupes du Koweït avant le 15 janvier. Le régime iraquien ayant refusé d’obtempérer, à 3 h heure de Bagdad le 17 janvier 1991, la coalition a lancé une campagne aérienne contre des objectifs militaires Iraquiens au Koweït et en Iraq. Appelée opération Desert Storm, la campagne aérienne visait au départ à détruire les infrastructures de commandement, de contrôle et de communications et les installations de défense antiaérienne de l’Iraq. Par la suite, les troupes sur le terrain ont été à leur tour bombardées. L’Iraq a répliqué en lançant le 17 janvier un premier missile Scud contre l’Arabie saoudite, puis a entrepris le 22 février de faire sauter les puits de pétrole au Koweït.

L’offensive terrestre a débuté le 24 février, les forces de la coalition progressant rapidement face aux troupes iraquiennes qui avaient été décimées durant plus d’un mois par les bombardements aériens. Le lendemain, l’Iraq a lancé des missiles Scud contre Israël afin d’entraîner ce pays dans le conflit et dans l’espoir peut être de rompre la coalition dirigée par les États Unis. Mais Israël n’a pas mordu à l’appât et, le 28 février, après des opérations terrestres ayant duré à peine 100 heures, les Iraquiens ont été expulsés du Koweït. Le jour même, le président américain, George H. Bush, a décrété un cessez le feu unilatéral; l’Iraq a accepté le 3 mars de se conformer aux conditions et aux résolutions de l’ONU, et le cessez le feu est entré officiellement en vigueur le 6 avril.

Opération canadienne:

Opération ACCORD : 28 septembre au 6 novembre 1990

Étant donné l’importance grandissante de la contribution canadienne à l’opération FRICTION, on a vite compris dans les cercles militaires et politiques qu’un quartier général canadien était nécessaire pour veiller à ce que le personnel canadien soit bel et bien employé conformément aux directives du gouvernement du Canada. La planification du quartier général canadien du Moyen-Orient (QG Canforme) a commencé le 28 septembre et s’est terminée le 7 octobre. Il était convenu que le quartier général serait opérationnel à partir du 28 octobre. La création et le transport du quartier général devaient se faire sous le nom d’opération ACCORD.
La Force mobile et le Commandement des communications ont fourni 60 p. 100 des 160 membres du personnel du nouveau 90e quartier général et escadron de transmissions. Les effectifs de 93 unités différentes ont commencé à se regrouper le 13 octobre à la Base des forces canadiennes de Kingston pour l'entraînement. Le 14 octobre, une équipe de reconnaissance est arrivée à Manama, au Bahreïn, à la recherche d’un emplacement pour le nouveau quartier général. Elle a vite compris que le personnel militaire voyageant dans le Golfe à bord d’avions civils aurait besoin de visas individuels. Un avion CC 144 Challenger a donc été affecté le 21 octobre au soutien du quartier général.
Le déménagement du quartier général du Canada a commencé le 19 octobre avec le transport d’équipement par Hercule et s’est terminé le 1er novembre. Les premiers militaires ont quitté Trenton le 22 octobre et l’ensemble de l’effectif a suivi trois jours plus tard. Dix vols ont été nécessaires pour accomplir l’opération (neuf par Hercule des 429e, 435e et 436e escadrons et un par avion Boeing du 437e escadron), ce qui a permis de transporter 125 tonnes de bagage et de matériel ainsi que 255 passagers. Il est important de rappeler que ces vols avaient lieu en même temps que ceux de l’opération SCIMITAR et que, par conséquent, les équipes de transport étaient fortement mobilisées.
L’opération ACCORD s’est terminée le 6 novembre au moment où le Commodore K. J. Summers a pris le commandement du QG Canforme, qui a ensuite relevé de l’opération FRICTION.