Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation ANGORA

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

ANGORA
UNIFIL Headquarters at Naguora Lebanon.

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Interim Force in Lebanon

International Mission Name: United Nations Interim Force in Lebanon (UNIFIL)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Middle East

Location: Lebanon

Mission Date: 19 March 1978 - Present

Mission Mandate:

In accordance with Security Council Resolutions 412 and 426 (19 March 1978), UNIFIL was established to:

Mission/Operation Notes:

In the early 1970’s tensions along the Israeli-Lebanese border increased, with frequent incursions by Palestinian terrorist groups into Israel. These became more frequent after the displacement of the Palestinian terrorist groups from Jordan to Lebanon and after the 1973 Arab-Israeli War. The Lebanese government was unable to prevent these incursions, as the country was in the midst of a civil war. On 11 March 1978, Al-Fatah launched a raid along the main coastal road in the north. Eleven terrorists landed in northern Israel, killing thirty-four Israelis and one American and injuring over seventy Israelis. They commandeered a bus and were stopped in a fierce gunfight with Israeli police north of Tel Aviv.

In response, on the night of 14/15 March, Israel launched a four-pronged offensive into southern Lebanon. The Lebanese government submitted a strong protest to the Security Council, which subsequently issued a resolution on 19 March calling upon Israel to cease its military activities and withdraw from Lebanon. The resolution also called upon the Secretary-General to implement a United Nations interim force for Southern Lebanon, which became the United Nations Interim Force in Lebanon.

The first UN forces to arrive in southern Lebanon were members of UNTSO. They were followed soon thereafter by an Iranian Company from UNDOF. A Canadian signals detachment (73 Canadian Signals Squadron) was temporarily assigned from UNEF II, being relieved by the Canadian Contingent UNIFIL on 29 April.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (ANGORA)

Name: ANGORA

Date: 13 April 1978 - 1 October 1978

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Based on an urgent appeal from the Secretary-General, Canada agreed to provide a signals troop to UNIFIL until 1 October 1978. The Canadian op name was Operation ANGORA. The troop was composed mainly of personnel from the 1st Canadian Signals Regiment in Kingston with 12 augmentees from the Canadian Airborne Regiment. This initial group of 91 personnel commenced deployment on 18 April from CFB Trenton, and were all on the ground in Lebanon by 19 April. The Canadian Contingent was composed of two units: the Canadian Signal Unit UNIFIL (CSU-U) with 89 personnel, and the Chief Signal Officer UNIFIL with two personnel.

The CSU-U was responsible for setting up the communications system between UNIFIL HQ and its deployed battalions. Initially, UNIFIL was to have five battalions and a logistics support unit, totaling 4,000 soldiers. The CSU-U thus found themselves stretched when they discovered that UNIFIL actually increased to 6,000 as a result of fighting between terrorists and UN forces in early May. As a result a further draft of twenty-six personnel arrived in theatre on 16 June. These personnel were recruited from around Canada and allowed the CSU-U to operate in a reasonable manner.

Besides manning the UNIFIL communications net, manning the UNIFIL switchboard and operating the signals dispatch service, the CSU-U found themselves creating an increased communications net, providing local defence and security, and feeding UNIFIL HQ staff. On 12 July three Canadians were among a group of fifty-two UN soldiers captured by elements of the Palestine Liberation Organization. They were released unharmed after three hours, although several other UN soldiers were injured in the fighting.

Of the 117 Canadians, two had a slightly different role - the Chief Signals Officer (CSO) and the Chief Communications Operator. They were responsible for the coordination of the UNIFIL communications system, both voice and data. The CSO was an acting-lieutenant-colonel who was also appointed the Senior Canadian Officer in UNIFIL.

As specified in the original agreement with the UN, the Canadian Contingent ceased operations on 1 October. On 2 October, equipment was packed and prepared for shipment through Haifa. The first group of Canadians left Ismailia on 4 October and were back in Canada on the 6th. The second group departed from Tel Aviv and were home on 9 October.

The Canadian Signals unit was replaced by a combination of military and civilian communicators. UNIFIL continues its efforts at maintaining peace and security in the southern area of Lebanon, although under a different mandate. Canadians have participated from time-to-time, as members of UNTSO are often detached to UNIFIL.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) ANGORA

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

ANGORA
Quartier général de la FINUL, à Naguora, au Liban.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Force intérimaire des Nations Unies au Liban

Nom de la mission internationale: Force intérimaire des Nations Unies au Liban (FINUL)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Moyen-Orient

Lieu: Liban

Date: 19 mars 1978 - Présent

Mandat de la mission :

Selon les résolutions 412 et 426 (19 mars 1978) du Conseil de sécurité, la FINUL a été établie pour :

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

Au début des années 70, la tension le long de la frontière israélo libanaise s’est accentuée en raison des fréquentes incursions de groupes terroristes palestiniens en Israël. En effet, ces incidents se sont intensifiés après le repositionnement de groupes terroristes palestiniens de Jordanie au Liban et après la guerre israélo-arabe de 1973. Le gouvernement libanais n’était pas en mesure d’empêcher ces incursions, car le pays se trouvait déjà aux prises avec une guerre civile. Le 11 mars 1978, Al-Fatah a mené un raid le long de la principale route côtière du Nord d’Israël. Onze terroristes ont atterri dans le Nord du pays, tuant 34 Israéliens et 1 Américain, et blessant plus de 70 Israéliens. Les terroristes ont réquisitionné un autobus, mais ont été arrêtés au nord de Tel Aviv après un échange intensif de coups de feu avec la police israélienne.

En guise de riposte, dans la nuit du 14 au 15 mars, Israël a lancé une offensive en quatre volets contre le Sud du Liban. Le gouvernement libanais a donc adressé une ferme protestation au Conseil de sécurité, lequel y a donné suite le 19 mars en adoptant une résolution demandant à Israël de cesser immédiatement son action militaire et de retirer ses forces du Liban. La résolution demandait également au Secrétaire général d’établir une force intérimaire des Nations Unies pour le Sud du Liban, la Force intérimaire des Nations Unies au Liban (FINUL).

Les premiers effectifs des Nations Unies à arriver dans le Sud du Liban étaient des membres de l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour la surveillance de la trêve (ONUST). Ils ont rapidement été suivis par une compagnie iranienne de la Force des Nations Unies chargée d’observer le désengagement (FNUOD). Un détachement canadien de spécialistes des transmissions (73e Escadron des transmissions du Canada) a été temporairement affecté auprès de la FUNU II et a été relevé par le contingent de la FINUL le 29 avril.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (ANGORA)

Nom: ANGORA

Date: 13 avril 1978 - 1 octobre 1978

Historique de la mission :

Donnant suite à une demande urgente du Secrétaire général, le Canada a accepté de fournir une unité des transmissions à la FINUL jusqu’au 1er octobre 1978. L’opération canadienne avait pour nom opération Angora. Le contingent se composait surtout de militaires appartenant au 1er Régiment des transmissions du Canada, à Kingston, auxquels s’ajoutaient comme renforts 12 militaires du Régiment aéroporté du Canada. Ce groupe initial de 91 militaires a commencé à se déployer le 18 avril depuis la BFC Trenton; les membres de ce groupe étaient tous en sol libanais le 19 avril. Le contingent canadien se composait de deux unités : l’Unité canadienne des transmissions FINUL (UCT FINUL), qui comptait 89 militaires, et le Chef du service des transmissions FINUL, qui en comptait 2.

L’UCT FINUL avait la responsabilité d’établir le système de communications entre le quartier général de la FINUL et ses bataillons déployés. À l’origine, la FINUL devait avoir cinq bataillons et une unité de soutien logistique pour un total de 4 000 soldats. L’UCT FINUL a donc été mise à rude épreuve lorsqu’elle a constaté que la FINUL avait porté ses effectifs à 6 000 soldats, décision provoquée par des affrontements entre les terroristes et les forces de l’ONU au début mai. Ainsi, on a fait venir 26 militaires de plus qui sont arrivés sur le théâtre des opérations le 16 juin. Ces militaires, recrutés un peu partout au Canada, ont permis à l’UCT FINUL de procéder à ses activités de manière raisonnable.

En plus d'affecter du personnel au réseau de transmissions de la FINUL, de s’occuper du standard et du service des estafettes, l’UCT FINUL s’est vue dans l’obligation de créer un réseau de communications accru, d’assurer la défense et la sécurité locale et d’approvisionner le personnel du quartier général de la FINUL. Le 12 juillet, trois Canadiens se trouvaient parmi un groupe de 52 soldats des Nations Unies qui ont été capturés par des membres de l’Organisation de libération de la Palestine. Ils ont été libérés indemnes trois heures plus tard, mais plusieurs autres soldats des Nations Unies ont été blessés dans cette confrontation.

Deux des 117 militaires canadiens jouaient des rôles légèrement différents, soit celui de Chef du service des transmissions (CST) et d’Opérateur en chef aux communications (OCC). Ils étaient responsables de la coordination du système de communications, voix et données, de la FINUL. Le CST était un lieutenant-colonel par intérim qui a également été nommé Premier officier canadien de la FINUL.

Conformément aux spécifications de l’entente originale avec les Nations Unies, le contingent canadien a cessé ses opérations le 1er octobre. Le 2 octobre, l’équipement a été emballé et préparé pour expédition via Haïfa. Le premier groupe de Canadiens a quitté Ismaïlia le 4 octobre et il était de retour au Canada le 6 octobre. Le deuxième groupe a quitté Tel Aviv et est arrivé au pays le 9 octobre.

L’unité des transmissions canadienne a été remplacée par un groupe de communicateurs militaires et civils. La FINUL poursuit ses travaux de maintien de la paix et de la sécurité dans le Sud du Liban, mais elle le fait dans le cadre d’un mandat différent. Les Canadiens y ont pris part de temps à autre et, en tant que membres de l’ONUST, ils sont souvent détachés auprès de la FINUL.