Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation DETERMINATION

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

DETERMINATION
Operation DETERMINATION. Cpl. Fadel Ferzli,
an Aerospace Information Technician with 17
Wing Winnipeg Telecommunication Section
is photographed by Cpl. Jeff Robichaud a photo
tech in preparation for the Gulf.

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation DESERT THUNDER I and II

International Mission Name: Operation DESERT THUNDER I and II

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Middle East

Location: Iraq

Mission Date: 24 January 1998 - 15 December 1998

Mission Mandate:

To support the build-up of coalition forces in the Persian Gulf in response to Iraqi non-compliance with UN inspection requirements. To further ensure Iraqi compliance with Security Council Resolutions 687, 1115, 1137, 1154, and 1194 that demanded unimpeded access of United Nations Special Commission (UNSCOM) personnel to all sites in Iraq.

Mission/Operation Notes:

After the Gulf War ended in 1991 and in addition to Resolution 661 (6 August 1990) which placed economic sanctions on Iraq, the United Nations passed Resolution 687 (3 April 1991) creating the United Nations Special Commission (UNSCOM). UNSCOM’s role was to ensure the destruction of all Iraqi weapons of mass destruction. Iraq’s failure to cooperate fully resulted in Resolution 1115 (21 June 1997), demanded Iraqi cooperation. After a brief period of compliance, Iraq refused which allow American inspectors to participate in UNSCOM and threatened the safety of aircraft conducting reconnaissance mission on behalf of UNSCOM. Resolution 1137 (12 November 1997) was then adopted repeating the demand for cooperation and indicating that further measures would be taken as required to implement the resolution.

The United States, Great Britain, Canada and other states considered the Iraqi conduct with grave concern. In a matter of weeks, troops from 11 countries, including Canada, deployed to Kuwait in a show of force. The coalition action was given the name Operation DESERT THUNDER and started on 24 January 1998. While an agreement was reached between Iraq and UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan on 23 February 1998, the coalition continued to build up its forces in a display of resolve and to enforce the agreement of 23 February. Resolution 1154 (2 March 1998) was further adopted to remind Iraq of their obligations under the relevant resolutions.

Most of the forces deployed under Operation DESERT THUNDER started returning to their home nations in May 1998, after Iraq had demonstrated compliance with the UN resolutions and with the 23 February agreement. The compliance was short-lived, however, lending the Security Council to pass Resolution 1194 in September. The United States began to build up its forces again. Because not all forces had departed after the apparent end of the first concentration of troops, this build-up continued to be known as Operation DESERT THUNDER, although it is sometimes referred to as DESERT THUNDER II.

Starting on 11 November 1998, additional air, ground and naval forces began to arrive in the Persian Gulf, mainly in Kuwait. A strike plan came within 8 minutes of being executed in November - Operation DESERT VIPER. However, on 16 December, American and British aircraft struck at over 100 Iraqi military targets in three nights, under the operation name DESERT FOX. This terminated Operation Desert Thunder.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (DETERMINATION)

Name: DETERMINATION

Date: 10 February 1998 - 16 June 1998

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Canada’s contribution to Operation DESERT THUNDER was one frigate and two KC-130 air-to-air refuelling aircraft, deployed under the name Operation DETERMINATION. The two KC-130’s, from 435 Squadron in Winnipeg, arrived in the Persian Gulf region on 25 February 1998. Their mission was to provide fuel to multinational aircraft. During their time in the region, the two KC-130’s flew over 50 missions logging in excess of 135 flight hours and delivering over one million pounds of aviation fuel. They would fly between one and four missions a day depending on the requirements of the fighters. The KC-130’s left the region and returned to Canada on 15 May 1998.

HMCS Toronto (FFH 333), a Halifax Class frigate, left Halifax Nova Scotia on 12 January 1998 and proceeded towards Lisbon to join up with NATO’s Standing Naval Force Atlantic (SNFL). While on duty with the SNFL, HMCS Toronto received orders on 10 February 1998 to proceed at best speed to the Arabian Gulf. On 26 February, HMCS Toronto entered the Operational Theatre of the Arabian Gulf and began its participation in Operation DETERMINATION. Among its duties HMCS Toronto boarded some vessels to verify their cargo and records. Crews of these vessels were also examined for their health and welfare and any medical care and food was provided for their needs. On 15 May 1998, HMCS Toronto was ordered to return to Canada. She arrived in Halifax on 16 June. HMCS Toronto conducted a total of 19 compliant boardings, 52 hailings and 11 health and comfort visits.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) DETERMINATION

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

DETERMINATION
Opération DETERMINATION. Le Cpl Fadel Ferzli,
technicien de systèmes d’information aérospatiale
de la section des télécommunications de la 17e Escadre
Winnipeg, se fait photographier par le Cpl Jeff
Robichaud, technicien en photo, en prévision de son
déploiement dans le Golfe.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération DESERT THUNDER I et II

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération DESERT THUNDER I et II

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Moyen-Orient

Lieu: Iraq

Date: 24 janvier 1998 - 15 decembre 1998

Mandat de la mission:

Appuyer le regroupement de forces de la coalition dans le golfe Persique en réponse au non-respect des exigences d’inspection de l’ONU manifesté par l'Iraq et mieux assurer la conformité de ce pays aux résolutions 687, 1115, 1137, 1154 et 1194 du Conseil de sécurité exigeant que les membres de la Commission spéciale des Nations Unies sur l’Iraq (CSNU) ait libre accès à tous les sites iraquiens.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

Après la fin de la guerre du Golfe en 1991, en plus de la résolution 661 (6 août 1990) qui imposait des sanctions économiques à l’Iraq, les Nations Unies ont adopté la résolution 687 (3 avril 1991) visant à créer la Commission spéciale des Nations Unies sur l’Iraq (CSNU). Celle-ci avait pour rôle de veiller à l’élimination de toutes les armes de destruction massive iraquiennes. Le refus de l’Iraq de coopérer pleinement a entraîné l’adoption de la résolution 1115 (21 juin 1997), qui exigeait la coopération iraquienne. Après une brève période d’obtempération, l’Iraq a refusé d’autoriser la participation d’inspecteurs américains à la CSNU et a menacé la sécurité des appareils qui menaient des missions de reconnaissance pour le compte de la Commission. La résolution 1137 (12 novembre 1997) a alors été adoptée pour exiger de nouveau la coopération de l'Iraq et indiquer que des mesures additionnelles seraient prises afin de mettre en œuvre la résolution, si cela s’avérait nécessaire.

Les états-Unis, la Grande-Bretagne, le Canada et d’autres états se sont beaucoup inquiétés de la conduite de l’Iraq. En l’espace de quelques semaines, des troupes provenant de 11 pays, dont le Canada, ont été déployées au Koweït dans une démonstration de force. L’action de la coalition a reçu le nom d’opération Desert Thunder et a commencé le 24 janvier 1998. Alors que le secrétaire général des Nations Unies, M. Kofi Annan, et l’Iraq en arrivaient à un accord le 23 février 1998, la coalition continuait d’accroître ses forces afin de montrer sa détermination et de faire respecter cet accord. La résolution 1154 (2 mars 1998) a de plus été adoptée afin de rappeler à l’Iraq ses obligations aux termes des résolutions pertinentes.

La plus grande partie des forces déployées dans le cadre de l’opération Desert Thunder ont commencé à rentrer dans leur pays d’origine en mai 1998, après que l’Iraq a eu montré qu’il se conformait aux résolutions de l’ONU et à l’accord du 23 février. Toutefois, la coopération n’a pas duré longtemps, ce qui a amené le Conseil de sécurité à adopter la résolution 1194 en septembre. Les états-Unis ont commencé à reconstituer leurs forces. Comme celles-ci n’étaient pas toutes parties après la fin apparente de la première concentration de troupes, cet accroissement du potentiel militaire a continué d’être désigné sous le nom d’opération Desert Thunder, quoiqu’il soit parfois appelé Desert Thunder II.

À partir du 11 novembre 1998, des forces aériennes, terrestres et navales supplémentaires ont commencé à arriver dans le golfe Persique, principalement au Koweït. Il s’en est fallu de moins de huit minutes pour qu’un plan d’attaque, l'opération Desert Viper, soit exécuté en novembre. Cependant, le 16 décembre, sous le nom d’opération Desert Fox, des appareils américains et britanniques ont attaqué plus de 100 cibles militaires iraquiennes en trois nuits. Cette attaque a mis fin à l’opération Desert Thunder.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (DETERMINATION)

Nom: DETERMINATION

Date: 10 février 1998 - 16 juin 1998

Historique de la mission:

La contribution du Canada à l’opération Desert Thunder se composait d’une frégate et de deux avions de ravitaillement en vol KC-130, déployés sous le nom d’opération Determination. Les deux KC-130 du 435e Escadron de Winnipeg sont arrivés dans la région du golfe Persique le 25 février 1998. Leur mission consistait à approvisionner en carburant les aéronefs multinationaux. Pendant le temps qu’ils ont passé dans la région, les deux KC 130 ont effectué plus de 50 missions, dépassant 135 heures de vol et apportant plus d’un million de livres de carburant d’aviation. Ils accomplissaient de une à quatre missions par jour selon les besoins des chasseurs. Les KC-130 ont quitté la région et sont rentrés au Canada le 15 mai 1998.

Le NCSM Toronto (FFH 333), une frégate de la classe Halifax, a quitté Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, le 12 janvier 1998, a fait route vers Lisbonne et s’est joint à la Force navale permanente de l’Atlantique (SNFL) de l’OTAN. Le 10 février 1998, alors qu’il servait auprès de la SNFL, le NCSM Toronto a reçu l’ordre de se rendre le plus rapidement possible dans le golfe Persique. Le 26 février, le NCSM Toronto est entré dans le théâtre des opérations du golfe Persique et a commencé à participer à l’opération Détermination. Parmi ses responsabilités, le NCSM Toronto a arraisonné des navires afin de vérifier leurs chargements et leurs registres. Les équipages de ces navires ont aussi subi un examen de vérification de leur état de santé et de leur bien-être et on leur a fourni les soins médicaux et la nourriture dont ils avaient besoin. Le 15 mai 1998, le NCSM Toronto a reçu l’ordre de rentrer au Canada. Il est arrivé à Halifax le 16 juin. Le NCSM Toronto a mené un total de 19 arraisonnements sans contestation, de 52 interpellations et de 11 visites de santé et de bien-être.