Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation FLAG

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

FLAG
Description: HMCS Huron entering near jetty.

International Information

International Operation Name: Maritime Interdiction Force

International Mission Name: Maritime Interdiction Force

Mandating Organization:
United Nations Security Council resolution 661, 6 August 1990 (Chapter VII)
United Nations Security Council resolution 687, 3 April 1991 (Chapter VII)
United Nations Security Council resolution 1483, 22 May 2003

Region Name: Middle East

Mission Date: 4 April 1991 - 22 May 2003

Mission Mandate: To enforce United Nations economic sanctions against Iraq and assist the Department of External Affairs in reestablishing a Canadian diplomatic presence in the region.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (FLAG)

Start Date: 22 April 1991

Finish Date: 27 June 1991

Mission/Operation Notes:

On 6 August 1990, the United Nations Security Council placed economic sanctions on Iraq after its invasion of Kuwait (resolution 661/1990). At the end of the Gulf War, the Security Council passed resolution 686, calling upon Iraq to comply with provisions concerning the treatment of hostages, prisoners of war and other measures. This was followed by Resolution 687 of 3 April 1991, which affirmed that a full trade embargo would remain in place pending periodic reviews every 60 days of Iraqi compliance with the terms of the resolution. The embargo against Iraq was cancelled by Security Council resolution 1483, 22 May 2003 after the American-led invasion of Iraq.

Canada had participated in the embargo of Iraq initiated by Security Council Resolution 661. HMCS Huron departed Esquimalt for the Persian Gulf on 4 January 1991, in company with HMCS Provider. Huron was going to relieve the crew of HMCS Athabaskan, which had been in the Gulf since September 1990. Stopping in Halifax, Huron received the same weapons, sensors and communications equipment as her sister ship. On 23 February, the day before Huron was set to sail from Halifax, the coalition forces commenced their ground attack upon Iraq. Before Huron’s arrival in Gibraltar, the war was over and for a time her role in the region was doubt. Finally, the Canadian government agreed that Huron should assist in the enforcement of the UN embargo against Iraq and she set sail from Gibraltar on 2 April stopping en-route for required maintenance and stores. The code name of the operation, until then known as FRICTION II, was changed to Operation FLAG.

HMCS Huron arrived in the Gulf on 22 April, stopping first at Manamah, Bahrain and then at Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, where she hosted the Honourable Michael Wilson, Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce, and Canada’s Ambassador to Kuwait, Mr. Lawrence T. Dickenson. Having completed her diplomatic duties, Huron carried out her first patrols from 8 to 19 May. During this period, she also acted as plane guard for the American aircraft carrier USS Nimitz. Huron’s main role was to hail merchant ships heading towards Kuwait and Iraq, determine their next and last port of call, and gather information on the cargo. Any suspicious vessels would be diverted for inspection.

After spending three days in Dubai, Huron proceeded on her second patrol in the Gulf of Oman and the approaches to the Straits of Hormuz. From 6 to 18 June, Huron hosted the second Maritime Commanders’ Conference (of coalition naval commanders) and conducted an extensive maintenance program.

Arriving in the approaches to Kuwait on 20 June, the ship had to enter a channel that was swept of mines to “95 percent” reliability. In Kuwait, the Canadians could see the destruction inflicted on the city by the Iraqi occupation forces, and also the “Highway to Hell” of burned out vehicles used by the fleeing Iraqi forces. Huron also provided her galley and showers to the engineers of the Op RECORD contingent, who did not yet have proper facilities of their own.

Huron left Kuwait on 22 June, arriving in Dubai on 24 June. She left Dubai on 27 June, heading back for Esquimalt and completing her circumnavigation of the globe.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) FLAG

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

FLAG
Description : Le NCSM Huron fait son entrée près de la jetée.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Force maritime d’interdiction

Nom de la mission internationale: Force maritime d’interdiction

Mandant:

Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, résolution 661, 6 août 1990 (chapitre VII)
Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, résolution 687, 3 avril 1991 (chapitre VII)
Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, résolution 1483, 22 mai 2003

Région géographique: Moyen-Orient

Lieu: Moyen-Orient

Date: 4 avril 1991 - 22 mai 2003

Opération canadienne:

Opération FLAG : 22 avril au 27 juin 1991

Mandat:

Faire observer les sanctions économiques des Nations Unies contre l’Irak et d’aider le Ministère des Affaires extérieurs en ré-établissant une présence diplomatique dans la région.

Notes sur la mission:

Le 6 août 1990, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a imposé des sanctions économiques à l’Irak pour avoir envahi le Koweït (résolution 661/1990). À la fin de la guerre du Golfe, le Conseil de sécurité a adopté la résolution 686, qui demandait à l’Irak de se conformer aux dispositions concernant le traitement des otages et des prisonniers de guerre, ainsi qu’à d’autres mesures. Par la suite, le 3 avril 1991, le Conseil de sécurité a adopté la résolution 687, qui prévoyait un embargo commercial complet jusqu’à la tenue d’examens périodiques (tous les 60 jours) visant à vérifier le respect par l’Irak des conditions de la résolution. L’embargo contre l’Irak a été levé le 22 mai 2003 par l’adoption de la résolution 1483, après l’invasion de l’Irak dirigée par les Américains.
Le Canada avait participé à l’embargo décrété par la résolution 661 du Conseil de sécurité. Le 4 janvier 1991, le NCSM Huron a quitté Esquimalt à destination du golfe Persique en compagnie du NCSM Provider. Le Huron partait relever l’équipage du NCSM Athabaskan, qui était dans le golfe depuis septembre 1990. À l’escale de Halifax, il a été équipé des mêmes armes, capteurs et équipements de communications que l’Athabaskan. Les forces de la coalition ont commencé leurs attaques au sol en Irak le 23 février, soit un jour avant que le Huron ne soit prêt à quitter Halifax. La guerre a pris fin avant qu’il n’atteigne Gibraltar et pendant un certain temps, il y a eu incertitude quant au rôle du navire dans la région. Finalement, le gouvernement canadien a convenu que le Huron aiderait à faire observer l’embargo des Nations Unies contre l’Irak, et le navire a quitté Gibraltar le 2 avril. Il a fait escale en chemin pour l’entretien et l’approvisionnement. Le nom code de l’opération, avait été connu comme Friction II, a été changé pour opération Flag.
À son arrivée dans le Golfe le 22 avril, le NCSM Huron s’est d’abord arrêté à Manama (Bahreïn), puis à Abou Dhabi (Émirats arabes unis), où il a accueilli à bord l’honorable Michael Wilson, ministre de l’Industrie et du Commerce, et Lawrence T. Dickenson, ambassadeur du Canada au Koweït. Après ces fonctions diplomatiques, le navire a effectué ses premières patrouilles du 8 au 19 mai. Pendant cette période, il a également assuré la protection du porte avions américain USS Nimitz. Son principal rôle consistait à communiquer avec les navires marchands qui se dirigeaient vers le Koweït et l’Irak pour connaître leur prochain et leur dernier port d’escale, et à recueillir de l’information sur leur cargaison. Les navires suspects étaient déroutés pour inspection. Le Huron a passé trois jours à Dubaï, puis a effectué sa deuxième patrouille dans le golfe d’Oman et aux abords du détroit d’Ormuz. Du 6 au 18 juin, il a accueilli à bord la deuxième conférence des commandants de la force navale de la coalition et subi des travaux d’entretien complets.
Arrivé aux abords du Koweït le 20 juin, le navire a dû s’engager dans un canal d’où les mines avaient été enlevées à 95 %. Au Koweït, les Canadiens ont vu les restes de la ville détruite par les forces d’occupation irakiennes et la « route de l’enfer » jonchée de véhicules brûlés abandonnés par les troupes irakiennes en fuite. Le Huron a également prêté sa cuisine et ses douches aux ingénieurs du contingent de l’Opération Record, qui ne disposaient pas encore d’installations adéquates.
Le Huron a quitté le Koweït le 22 juin et est arrivé à Dubaï le 24. Il est reparti le 27 juin à destination d’Esquimalt pour compléter son périple autour du monde. Il n’a pas eu à jouer un rôle très actif dans le maintien de l’embargo puisqu'il y eut très peu de transport de marchandises dans le Golfe immédiatement après la guerre.