Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation FORUM

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

FORUM

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Special Commission

International Mission Name: United Nations Special Commission (UNSCOM)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Middle East

Location: Iraq

Mission Date: 3 April 1991 - 17 December 1999

Mission Mandate:

Following the end of the Iraq War of 1990/91, the Security Council passed Resolution 687 on 3 April 1991 which included a call for the elimination of Iraq’s weapons of mass destruction. Iraq was required to turn over all such weapons and allow inspections to ensure that it undertook no further such development. A UN Special Commission was to be established that would take possession of these weapons, destroy them, and verify compliance with the Resolution.

Mission/Operation Notes:

In the 1980s Iraq’s weapons of mass destruction programmes came into the international spotlight. During the Iran-Iraq War (22 September 1980 to 20 August 1988), Iraq used chemical weapons to halt an Iranian offensive and then used these weapons against Iraqi Kurds. The toxic agents employed included cyanide, mustard gas, sarin, tabun and VX - and some at least had been adapted to a variety of munitions including artillery and mortar shells, aerial bombs as well as missile and rocket warheads. Iraq was also suspected of developing biological weapons, among them anthrax, botulinum and aflatoxin, and producing them in quantity.

It was against this backdrop that the Gulf War was waged in 1990/91. Accordingly, when Iraq surrendered in March 1991 and agreed to abide by UN Resolutions, these included provisions to prevent any subsequent production and use of chemical and biological agents. This was made clear in Security Council Resolution 687 of 3 April 1991, which created a UN Special Commission (UNSCOM) under Chapter VII to which Iraq had to declare all of its biological, chemical, and missile holdings and under whose supervision these would be destroyed. Iraq was also to undertake no further development of such weapons, with UNSCOM monitoring and verifying its compliance. Iraq accepted these terms and conditions on 18 April 1991. The destruction of Iraq’s nuclear weapons programme fell to the International Atomic Energy Agency, with UNSCOM’s assistance. Iraq also agreed to allow UNSCOM inspectors unrestricted access and egress to all sites, equipment and personnel, as well as other unrestricted rights in support of UNSCOM’s mandate.

UNSCOM operations were planned and managed from UN headquarters in New York. An office in Bahrain served as a logistics and training point, while the office in Baghdad was responsible for the maintenance and operation of the monitoring system and was the base of operations for inspection teams. UNSCOM personnel in Baghdad not only undertook inspections of facilities and locations of interest but were also responsible for the supervision of the monitoring equipment installed at certain facilities. When required, UNSCOM could also call upon specialist personnel to assist in inspections and other UNSCOM operations.

Iraq’s compliance with UN Resolution 687 was at best grudging and, at worst, non-existent. UNSCOM were hindered as they tried to conduct inspections, and at least twice, in March and November 1995, “Full Final and Complete Disclosures” provided by the Iraqi government to the UN proved to be total fabrications. Biological, chemical, and nuclear programmes all continued to exist - in part because the Iraqi government received advance warning of impending inspections and therefore dismantled sites before UNSCOM teams arrived. It is thought that spies and electronic eavesdropping provided such warnings.

As the level of obstruction increased, coalition partners from the 1991 war began to gather forces together in the region with the seeming intent of launching non-UN-sanctioned air strikes on Iraq. The UN Secretary General managed to defuse tensions in February 1998, but only a few months later, in October, Iraq suspended all cooperation with UNSCOM. Although this order was rescinded a month later, UNSCOM evacuated its personnel from Iraq on 16 December and did not return. Shortly thereafter, American and British air forces conducted four days of air strikes on Iraqi facilities (Operation DESERT FOX).

During its lifetime, UNSCOM conducted over 250 inspection missions, conducted by over 1000 individuals from 40 countries. It found and destroyed almost 40,000 chemical weapons munitions, 690 tonnes of chemical weapons agents, a biological weapons production facility and 48 SCUD missiles. But significant quantities of chemicals and delivery systems remained unaccounted for.

In December 1999, the Security Council terminated UNSCOM and replaced it with the United Nations Monitoring, Verification and Inspection Commission (UNMOVIC). Although UNMOVIC had the same mandate as UNSCOM, its method of operation would be radically different.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (FORUM)

Name: FORUM

Date: 10 April 1991 - 30 April 2000

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Canada agreed to participate in UNSCOM on 10 April 1991, with personnel arriving in May under the name Operation FORUM. About 20 Canadian civilian and military experts were in Iraq in the first stages of UNSCOM’s operations, most working at the Al Muthanna facility near Baghdad, a site containing stockpiles of chemical munitions, Sarin being the most common agent found. This first visit identified the work required to ensure the destruction of the agents. A second visit in September destroyed those shells that had no harmful chemicals, while a third visit from October to December 1991 destroyed the remaining shells. This was not without its risks. One shell detonated of its own volition, spraying an Iraqi worker with toxic materials. Only the quick intervention of personnel on site, with the administration of large doses of atropine, saved his life. Canadians remained active at Al Muthanna into 1994.

Other dangerous incidents did not involve weapons of mass destruction. In September 1991, five Canadians were part of a 44-member international inspection team that discovered documents relating to nuclear weapons production. They were taken hostage by Iraq, requiring four days of international negotiations before the team and the documents were allowed to leave.

In October 1991 the decision was made that Canadian participation would consist of a maximum of 12 personnel at any given time. This participation would include permanent staff at UNSCOM headquarters, inspection and support staff, and specialists who would operate an incinerator provided by the Defence Research Establishment at Suffield, Alberta. They would be selected from across the Canadian Forces and Department of National Defence.

One vital task was the disposal of explosives, and Canadian Explosives Ordnance Disposal personnel served on both UNSCOM inspection teams and the Chemical Destruction Group. Although the main responsibility of the EOD specialists was to offer advice on the safe destruction of particular weapons systems and substances - Iraq was to undertake the actual destruction, under UNSCOM supervision - from time to time CF personnel did destroy some weapons. For its part, the CDG concentrated on finding, identifying, and destroying chemical weapons and related production and storage sites. Canadian military and civilian personnel also served with UNSCOM’s Chemical Destruction Group (CDG), tasked with identifying weapons systems containing chemical weapons, identifying chemical weapons production and storage sites and destructing these weapons and sites. Tours generally ranged between three and six months, although some were deployed for as long as 18 months, and some for as little as two weeks. Some Canadians exceeded ten distinct deployments to UNSCOM. Meanwhile, a Canadian lieutenant-colonel set up the intelligence cell at UNSCOM headquarters, where good use was made of imagery provided by helicopters and American U-2 photographic reconnaissance aircraft.

By the end of 1992, over 45 DND/CF military and civilian personnel had participated in UNSCOM. Canadian participation in Iraq itself ended in November 1998 with the withdrawal of UNSCOM from that country, but Canadians remained at UNSCOM’s New York headquarters until the end of the mission’s mandate on 17 December 1999. Canada continued to participate in inspections in Iraq under the United Nations Monitoring, Verification and Inspection Commission (UNMOVIC), but no military personnel have been involved.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) FORUM

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

FORUM

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Commission spéciale des Nations Unies

Nom de la mission internationale: Commission spéciale des Nations Unies (CSNU)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Moyen-Orient

Lieu: Iraq

Date: 3 avril 1991 - 17 decembre 1999

Mandat de la mission:

Après la fin de la guerre du Golfe de 1990 1991, le Conseil de sécurité a adopté le 3 avril 1991 la résolution 687 exigeant l’élimination des armes de destruction massive iraquiennes. L’Iraq devait remettre toutes les armes du genre et autoriser des inspections visant à s’assurer qu'il ne cherchait plus à en produire. On a alors créé une commission spéciale de l’ONU chargée de récupérer ces armes, de les détruire et de surveiller le respect de la résolution.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

Durant les années 80, la communauté internationale a appris l’existence des programmes iraquiens de production d’armes de destruction massive. Au cours de la guerre entre l’Iran et l’Iraq (du 22 septembre 1980 au 20 août 1988), l’Iraq a recouru à des armes chimiques pour contrer une offensive iranienne et a utilisé encore une fois de telles armes contre les Kurdes iraquiens. Parmi les agents neurotoxiques employés, mentionnons le cyanure, le gaz moutarde, le sarin, le tabun et le VX, certains de ces produits ayant été adaptés en fonction de diverses munitions comme des obus d’artillerie et de mortier, des bombes aériennes ainsi que des missiles et des ogives de fusée. On soupçonnait également l’Iraq de mettre au point et de produire en quantités appréciables des armes biologiques, notamment la bactérie du charbon, des toxines botuliniques et de l’aflatoxine.

C’est dans ce contexte menaçant que s’est déroulée la guerre du Golfe en 1990 1991. Par conséquent, quand l’Iraq a capitulé en mars 1991 en acceptant de se conformer aux résolutions de l’ONU, celles ci incluaient des dispositions pour empêcher la production et l’utilisation subséquente d’agents chimiques et biologiques. La résolution 687 adoptée le 3 avril 1991 par le Conseil de sécurité est venue réaffirmer clairement cette obligation en établissant une commission spéciale de l’ONU (CSNU), en vertu du Chapitre VII de sa Charte, à laquelle les autorités iraquiennes devaient déclarer toutes les armes biologiques et chimiques et les missiles en leur possession et qui en superviserait la destruction. L’Iraq devait aussi s’engager à ne plus fabriquer de telles armes, la CSNU étant chargée de surveiller et vérifier le respect des exigences. Le gouvernement iraquien a accepté ces conditions le 18 avril 1991. C’est l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique, assistée par la CSNU, qui allait s’occuper de la destruction des armes nucléaires iraquiennes. L’Iraq a aussi accepté d’accorder aux inspecteurs de la CSNU un accès sans restriction à l’ensemble des sites, de l’équipement et du personnel visés, le droit de circuler librement ainsi que d’autres droits illimités pour leur permettre de remplir leurs fonctions.

Les activités de la CSNU étaient planifiées et gérées depuis le siège de l’ONU, à New York. Un bureau au Bahreïn servait de centre de logistique et de formation, tandis que celui à Bagdad assurait le fonctionnement et l'entretien du réseau de surveillance et constituait la base opérationnelle des équipes d’inspecteurs.

Le personnel de la CSNU à Baghdad a non seulement entrepris l'inspection des installations et emplacements présentant un intérêt, mais s'est aussi chargé de la supervision de l'équipement de surveillance dans certaines installations. Au besoin, la CSNU pouvait faire appel à des spécialistes pour aider aux inspections et à d'autres fonctions qui lui incombaient.

Au mieux, les Iraquiens appliquaient la résolution 687 avec réticence, et dans le pire des cas, ne la respectaient pas du tout. Les inspecteurs de la CSNU se faisaient mettre des bâtons dans les roues et, au moins deux fois, en mars et en novembre 1995, les « divulgations finales et complètes » du gouvernement iraquien à l’ONU se sont révélées des supercheries. Les programmes de production d’armes biologiques, chimiques et nucléaires se poursuivaient, en partie parce que les autorités iraquiennes étaient averties d’avance des inspections à venir et pouvaient donc démanteler les installations avant l’arrivée des inspecteurs. On croit qu’ils étaient ainsi prévenus grâce à des espions et à l’écoute électronique.

L’obstruction faite par les autorités iraquiennes augmentant, les partenaires de la coalition remontant à la guerre du Golfe en 1991 ont commencé à masser collectivement des forces dans la région dans le but manifeste d’effectuer des frappes aériennes en Iraq sans l’aval de l’ONU. Le Secrétaire général de l’ONU est parvenu à désamorcer les tensions en février 1998, mais à peine quelques mois plus tard, en octobre, l’Iraq a suspendu toute coopération avec la CSNU. Cette décision a été annulée un mois plus tard, mais, le 16 décembre, la CSNU a évacué son personnel de l’Iraq, où les inspecteurs ne sont jamais retournés. Peu après, les forces aériennes américaines et britanniques ont bombardé pendant quatre jours les installations iraquiennes (opération Desert Fox).

Au cours de son existence, la CSNU a réalisé plus de 250 missions d’inspection faites par plus de 1 000 inspecteurs provenant de 40 pays. Ceux-ci ont découvert et détruit près de 40 000 munitions d'armes chimiques et 690 tonnes d’agents chimiques, une usine de production d’armes biologiques et 48 missiles SCUD. Cependant, de grandes quantités d’agents chimiques et de vecteurs sont demeurées non recensées.

En décembre 1999, le Conseil de sécurité a aboli la CSNU en la remplaçant par la Commission de contrôle, de vérification et d’inspection des Nations Unies (COCOVINU). Même si son mandat était identique à celui de la CSNU, cette nouvelle commission a agi très différemment.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (FORUM)

Nom: FORUM

Date: 10 avril 1991 - 30 avril 2000

Historique de la mission:

Le gouvernement du Canada avait accepté de participer aux travaux de la CSNU le 10 avril 1991, dans le cadre de l'opération Forum; le personnel canadien, comptant une vingtaine d’experts civils et militaires, est arrivé en Iraq en mai. Durant les premières phases des activités de la CSNU, la plupart de ces experts ont travaillé à l’entrepôt d’Al Muthanna, près de Bagdad, où étaient stockées des munitions chimiques, en particulier du sarin. à leur première visite, ils ont évalué le travail requis pour la destruction des agents chimiques. Lors d’une deuxième visite en septembre, ils ont détruit des obus ne contenant aucun produit chimique nocif, puis à leur troisième visite, qui a duré d’octobre à décembre 1991, ils ont éliminé les obus restants. Mais ce travail n’allait pas sans risque. Ainsi, un obus a explosé par lui même, aspergeant de substances toxiques un travailleur iraquien. Celui-ci n’a survécu que grâce à l’intervention rapide du personnel sur place, qui lui a administré des doses massives d’atropine. Les inspecteurs canadiens ont continué à travailler aux installations d’Al Muthanna en 1994.

Il y a eu aussi d’autres incidents dangereux n’impliquant pas d’armes de destruction massive. Ainsi, en septembre 1991, 5 membres canadiens d’une équipe internationale de 44 inspecteurs, qui avait découvert des documents concernant la production d’armes nucléaires, ont été pris en otage par les Iraquiens; il a fallu 4 jours de négociation en haut lieu pour obtenir que l’équipe soit relâchée avec les documents confisqués.

En octobre 1991, le gouvernement canadien a décidé de limiter à 12 les membres du personnel en Iraq. Ce nombre comprenait les employés permanents au quartier général de la CSNU, les inspecteurs et les employés de soutien ainsi que des spécialistes chargés du fonctionnement d’un incinérateur fourni par le Centre de recherches pour la défense Suffield, en Alberta. Ce personnel était choisi dans l'ensemble des Forces canadiennes et du ministère de la Défense nationale.

L’élimination des explosifs représentait une tâche cruciale. Les Canadiens affectés à la neutralisation des explosifs et munitions faisaient partie des équipes d’inspection de la CSNU et du groupe de destruction des armes chimiques. Leur rôle principal était de fournir des conseils sur la façon de détruire sans danger des substances et des systèmes d’armes particuliers, leur destruction effective étant assumée par des Iraquiens, sous la surveillance de la CSNU; toutefois, ils devaient de temps à autre éliminer eux mêmes certaines armes. Quant au groupe de destruction des armes chimiques, il s’occupait de rechercher, d'identifier et de détruire les armes chimiques de même que les usines et les entrepôts correspondants. Des militaires et des civils canadiens ont aussi travaillé pour le groupe de destruction des armes chimiques de la CSNU, en ayant pour tâches de repérer les systèmes d’armes contenant des agents chimiques, de détecter les usines et les entrepôts d’armes chimiques et de détruire stocks et installations. Les affectations étaient habituellement de 3 à 6 mois, mais certains membres ont prolongé leur séjour jusqu’à 18 mois, tandis que d’autres sont restés à peine 2 semaines. Certains Canadiens ont été affectés plus d’une dizaine de fois, à des postes distincts, auprès de la CSNU. Par ailleurs, un lieutenant colonel canadien a établi la section du renseignement au quartier général de la CSNU, où l'on mettait à profit les photos prises par des hélicoptères et des avions de reconnaissance américains U 2.

à la fin de 1992, plus de 45 militaires et civils des FC et du MDN avaient participé aux travaux de la CSNU. La participation canadienne en Iraq même s’est terminée en novembre 1998 par le retrait d’Iraq des inspecteurs, mais des Canadiens ont continué à travailler au quartier général de la CSNU, à New York, jusqu’à l’expiration du mandat de cette mission le 17 décembre 1999. Des Canadiens ont ensuite participé à des inspections en Iraq au sein de la COCOVINU, mais aucun militaire n'y a pris part.