Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation GLADIUS

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

GLADIUS
24 March 2006
Camp Ziouani, Golan Heights, United Nations Disengagement
Observer Force (UNDOF) mission area

The Canadian troops are leaded off the parade square at Camp
Ziouani by Lieutenant Colonel (LCol) Sylvain Mongeon,
after the transfer of Command Authority ceremony. The Indian
Army replaces the Canadian Forces in the Golan Heights.

Operation DANACA, was part of the United Nations
Disengagement Observer Force (UNZDOF) since its
inception in 1974. More than 12,000 Canadian Forces
members deployed to the mission in the Golan Heights
region over 32 years.

Photo by Warrant Officer Gerry Pilote, Canadian Forces
Combat Camera

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Disengagement Observer Force (UNDOF)

International Mission Name: United Nations Disengagement Observer Force (UNDOF)

Mandating Organization: United Nations Security Council Resolution 350, 31 May 1974

Region Name: Middle East

Location: Syria

Mission Date: 31 May 1974 - Present

Canadian Operation:

Op DANACA 3 June 1974 to 24 March 2006
Op GLADIUS 24 March 2006 - ongoing

Mandate:

United Nations Disengagement Observer Force (UNDOF) was established by Security Council resolution 350 (1974) of 31 May 1974 to maintain the ceasefire between Israel and Syria, to supervise the disengagement of Israeli and Syrian forces, and to supervise the areas of separation and limitation, as provided in the Agreement on Disengagement.

Mission Notes:

On 6 October 1973, the Yom Kippur War started when Egypt and Syria, in a coordinated effort supported by troops of other Arab nations, attacked Israel. After initial setbacks, Israel was able to regain lost ground. Along the Syrian border, Israel was able to retake the Golan Heights and captured additional Syrian territory beyond that taken in the Six Day War of 1967. Diplomatic activity was intense during the conflict, with the possibility of a showdown between the United States and the Soviet Union. A cease-fire was accepted by Israel and Syria, taking effect on this front on 22 October (26 October along the Egyptian front).

In response to the cease-fire, the United Nations set-up temporary observation posts for military observers from the United Nations Truce Supervisory Organization (UNTSO). Tensions remained high and there were continuous violations of the cease-fire. These involved artillery, armour, mortar, rockets and automatic weapons fire. The UNTSO observers were able to re-establish the cease-fire in each case. United States Secretary of State Henry Kissinger was able to negotiate an Agreement on Disengagement between Israel and Syria, the signing of which took place on 31 May 1974.

The United Nations Secretary-General Kurt Waldheim had been kept informed of the progress of the talks in Geneva. On 30 May he provided the Security Council with the text of the Agreement, and its Protocol, which called for a United Nations force to supervise the implementation of the Agreement. On 31 May, the Security Council passed resolution 350, which called for the creation of the United Nations Disengagement Observer Force (UNDOF).

UNDOF was set up with a six-month mandate, subject to concurrence from the Security Council, Israel and Syria. Its role was to supervise the disengagement of Israeli and Syrian forces, and then maintain the cease-fire, and supervise the Agreement and Protocol with respect to the areas of limitation and separation. UNDOF personnel were to comply with Syrian laws and regulations and not hamper the local Syrian civil authorities. UNDOF personnel were to enjoy freedom of movement and communication, and were only permitted to carry the firearms necessary for self-defence.

The Agreement established an area of separation and an area of limitation. The former is a demilitarized zone controlled by UNDOF, approximately 80 km long and from one wide in the south the to eight km wide in the north. The latter is an area of Israeli or Syrian territory in which the number and type of military personnel and equipment is restricted. The Agreement also allows Syrian civilians to return to their homes in the area of separation.

The initial personnel for UNDOF started to arrive on 3 June 1974. These were the Austrian and Peruvian infantry battalions from UNEF II, the United Nations Emergency Force II that had been established in the Sinai to supervise the cease-fire there. They were followed the next day by elements drawn from the Canadian and Polish logistics units of UNEF II. By 16 June, UNDOF had 1,218 personnel.

Once in place, UNDOF’s observers were quickly employed observing the disengagement of the two forces, which occurred between 14 and 27 June. From 25 to 27 June, 500 Syrian soldiers cleared mines in the area of separation, an operation that required and was given Israeli approval. Unfortunately, four Austrian soldiers had been killed on 25 June when their vehicle ran over a land mine.

Once these operations were complete, UNDOF undertook the delineation and marking of the borders to the area of separation. This was completed by July 1974. Checkpoints and observation posts were also established, with two base camps, one on either side of the area of separation.

To carry out its mandate, UNDOF uses the observation posts as well as foot and mobile patrols. Even though there have been periodic mine-clearing operations, the threat from mines remains high. UNDOFpatrols therefore keep to established paths and roads. Fortnightly inspections are also conducted of each side’s military forces in the area of limitation.

UNDOF has also assisted in humanitarian operations. From time to time UNDOF has arranged the transfer of prisoners of war and the bodies of war dead between Israel and Syria. For a period from 1976 to 1982 UNDOF supervised the periodic reunion of Druze families who were separated by the border running through the area of separation. The reunions occurred in the village of Majdel Chams in the area of separation.

Although there have been some major incidents, resulting in casualties to civilians in the area of separation, and involving Syrian personnel laying mines in the area, UNDOF has been successful in resolving problems along the border between Israel and Syria. There have been occasional restrictions placed on UNDOF’s operations by both sides; however, these have not seriously hindered UNDOF’s effectiveness.

The mandate of UNDOF has since been renewed every six months. UNDOF’s membership and strength have undergone a few changes since the original deployment. In July 1975, the Peruvian contingent was withdrawn, replaced by an Iranian contingent. The Iranians in turn withdrew and were replaced by a Finnish contingent in March 1979. In December 1993, the Polish logistics contingent and the Finnish infantry battalion were withdrawn. A Polish infantry battalion replaced the Finns and the Canadian logistics contingent was strengthened. A transport platoon from Japan joined UNDOF in February 1996, while Slovak soldiers began to be incorporated into the Austrian battalion in the late 1990s. Observers from UNTSO are also attached to UNDOF.

UNDOF’s overall strength was reduced by 15 percent in all units in 1992, and consisted of 1,054 observers in March 1996: 463 Austrians, 358 Polish, 188 Canadian and 45 Japanese. In 1999, the Austrians had reduced to 393, but were complemented by the addition of 70 Slovak personnel. Infantry personnel from Nepal also participate in UNDOF. There are also four UNTSO observers attached to UNDOF and another 85 assisting, but belonging to UNTSO’s Observer Group Golan.

The Canadian contribution to UNDOF commenced on 3 June 1974 when a 40-vehicle convoy left the Sinai and drove through Israel to the Golan Heights. They set up in camp near the Syrian town of Kuneitra in the area of separation, in a former Syrian military camp that had been a French Foreign Legion camp in the 1920s. Their new home was initially nicknamed Camp Roofless by the Canadians, mainly because all buildings except one had been made roofless as a result of the 1967 and 1973 wars. Camp Ziouani, as it became officially known, had to be cleared of unexploded ordnance before it could be used.

The Canadian contingent was initially a detached company from 73 Service Battalion from UNEF. As a result, the Canadian contingent had the same operation name as that of the Canadian contingent in UNEF – Op DANACA. This UNDOF detachment was under the technical and administrative control of a UNEF unit. On 8 June 1977, the Canadian UNDOF detachment gained its technical and operational independence, becoming the Canadian Logistics Company (CANLOG) and reporting to UNDOF headquarters. Administrative control for Canadian issues remained with the Canadian Contingent Administrative Unit in Ismailia until 1979, when UNEF was disbanded. Thereafter CANLOG reported to the Canadian Contingent Commander UNDOF and maintained the name Op DANACA.

The Canadians, along with the Polish logistics contingent (POLLOG), provided logistical support to UNDOF. UNDOF’s infantry battalions are responsible for minor repairs of their own vehicles and equipment (first-line maintenance). While the POLLOG was part of UNDOF, they provided second-line maintenance for Soviet-origin equipment, while CANLOG provided this service for western-origin. With the withdrawal of POLLOG, Canada took over all second-line maintenance functions. The Canadian contingent has been responsible for the requisitioning, storage and distribution of all UN supplied items, furniture and office equipment, construction materials and UN-supplied clothing. This includes purchasing and supplying rations to all UNDOF contingents.

Canada also provides communications personnel (a Signals Troop) and facilities to the various UNDOF detachments. The 28 personnel provide not only the radio communications, but also operate the UNDOF telephone system. For the Canadian contingent, the Signals Troop provides communications back to Canada, as well as e-mail services. Sixteen of Canada’s personnel serve in UNDOF headquarters, primarily in the logistics section.

Initially, Canada provided second-line transport in Israel. Poland conducted the same service in Syria. POLLOG personnel could not enter Israel, as Poland did not recognize Israel at that time. With the withdrawal of the POLLOG, Canada took over all transport duties until the arrival of the Japanese contingent (JAPCON), who took over the transport and heavy equipment functions.

The Canadian contingent UNDOF is also responsible for providing support to the Canadian personnel serving with UNTSO. Canadian UNTSO personnel report to Camp Ziouani for in-clearances and briefings before reporting to UNTSO headquarters and operational deployment with UNTSO.

Canada’s initial contribution to UNDOF was 226 personnel. This was scaled back to 186, as UNDOF has been reduced in size in 1992 and 1993. There was a slight increase in strength with the withdrawal of POLLOG. Personnel for Op DANACA are selected from units across Canada for a six-month deployment. Half of the contingent is rotated every three months. Four Canadian personnel have died while on UNDOF service.

Op DANACA came to an end on 24 March 2006. The Government of Canada had conducted a comprehensive review of its overseas operations and decided to reduce its participation once a suitable replacement nation could be found. India agreed to replace the Canadian UNDOF contingent.

Canada’s commitment to UNDOF did not, however, end with the Op DANACA. Initially four officers remained in staff positions with UNDOF. This was reduced to two in July 2006, the officers filling the positions of Military Assistant to the UN Commander and Chief of Personnel. This new CF operation was named Operation GLADIUS, and commenced on 24 March 2006.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) GLADIUS

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

GLADIUS
Le 24 mars 2006
Camp Ziouani, plateau du Golan, zone de la mission de la
Force des Nations Unies chargée d'observer le
désengagement (FNUOD)

Le Lieutenant-colonel (Lcol) Sylvain Mongeon mène
les troupes canadiennes à l'extérieur du terrain de parade
au camp Ziouani, après la cérémonie de passation des
pouvoirs de commandement. Les forces indiennes
remplacent les Forces canadiennes sur le plateau du
Golan.

L'opération Danaca a été partie intégrante de la Force
des Nations Unies chargée d'observer le désengagement
(FNUOD) à partir de sa création en 1974. Plus de 12 000
membres des Forces canadiennes ont été affectés à la
mission sur le plateau du Golan en plus de 32 ans.

Photo : Adjudant Gerry Pilote, Caméra de combat des
Forces canadiennes

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Force des Nations Unies chargée d'observer le désengagement (FNUOD)

Nom de la mission internationale: Force des Nations Unies chargée d'observer le désengagement (FNUOD)

Organisme responsable: Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, résolution 350 (31 mai 1974)

Région géographique: Moyen-Orient

Lieu: Syrie

Date: 31 mai 1974 - en cours

Opérations canadiennes:

Opération DANACA Du 3 juin 1974 au 24 mars 2006
Opération GLADIUS Depuis le 24 mars 2006

Mandat:

La Force des Nations Unies chargée d'observer le désengagement (FNUOD) a été créée par la résolution 350 (1974) du Conseil de sécurité, adoptée le 31 mai 1974, pour assurer le maintien du cessez-le-feu entre Israël et la Syrie, superviser le désengagement des forces israéliennes et syriennes, ainsi que surveiller la zone de séparation et la zone de limitation, aux termes de l’Accord de désengagement.

Notes sur la mission:

Le 6 octobre 1973, la guerre du Kippour a éclaté lorsque l’Égypte et la Syrie, appuyées par des troupes d’autres pays arabes, ont lancé une offensive coordonnée contre Israël. Après des revers initiaux, Israël a été en mesure de reprendre le terrain perdu. Le long de la frontière syrienne, Israël a repris le plateau du Golan et s’est emparé de nouveaux territoires syriens en plus de ceux qui avaient été conquis pendant la Guerre des Six Jours en 1967. Pendant tout le conflit, l’activité diplomatique était intense, compte tenu de la possibilité d’une épreuve de force entre les États-Unis et l’Union soviétique. Un cessez-le-feu a été accepté par Israël et la Syrie. Il a pris effet, sur ce front, le 22 octobre (et le 26 octobre sur le front égyptien).

En réaction au cessez-le-feu, les Nations Unies ont établi des postes temporaires pour accueillir les observateurs militaires de l’Organisme des Nations Unies chargé de la surveillance de la trêve (ONUST). Les tensions restaient vives et le cessez-le-feu était continuellement violé. Ces violations impliquaient des tirs d’artillerie, de blindés, de mortiers, de roquettes et d’armes automatiques. Chaque fois, les observateurs de l’ONUST sont parvenus à rétablir le cessez-le-feu. Le secrétaire d’État américain, Henry Kissinger, a réussi à négocier un Accord de désengagement entre Israël et la Syrie, qui a été signé le 31 mai 1974.

Le secrétaire général des Nations Unies, Kurt Waldheim, avait été tenu informé des progrès des pourparlers qui se déroulaient à Genève. Le 30 mai, il a remis au Conseil de sécurité le texte de l’Accord et de son Protocole, qui demandait la création d’une force des Nations Unies pour superviser la mise en œuvre de l’Accord. Le 31 mai, le Conseil de sécurité a adopté la résolution 350, qui prévoyait la création de la Force des Nations Unies chargée d'observer le désengagement (FNUOD).

La FNUOD a reçu un mandat initial de six mois, conditionnel à l’approbation du Conseil de sécurité, d’Israël et de la Syrie. Son rôle consistait à superviser le désengagement des forces israéliennes et syriennes, à maintenir le cessez-le-feu et à superviser le respect de l’Accord et du Protocole en ce qui concerne les zones de limitation et de séparation. Le personnel de la FNUOD devait se conformer aux lois et règlements de la Syrie et éviter de nuire aux autorités civiles syriennes locales. Le personnel de la FNUOD devait jouir de la liberté de déplacement et de communication et n’était autorisé à porter que les armes à feu nécessaires à sa légitime défense.

L’Accord mettait en place une zone de séparation et une zone de limitation. La première est une zone démilitarisée sous le contrôle de la FNUOD. Elle fait environ 80 km de longueur. Elle est large de 1 km au sud et de 8 km au nord. La seconde est une zone de territoire israélien ou syrien dans laquelle le nombre et le type de membres du personnel et de pièces d'équipement militaire sont limités. L’Accord permet également aux civils syriens de rentrer dans leurs foyers situés dans la zone de séparation.

Les premiers membres du personnel de la FNUOD ont commencé à arriver sur place le 3 juin 1974. Il s’agissait des bataillons d’infanterie autrichiens et péruviens de la Force d'urgence des Nations Unies II (FUNU II), qui avait été mise en place dans le Sinaï pour y superviser le cessez-le-feu. Ils ont été suivis le lendemain par des éléments issus des groupes de soutien logistique canadiens et polonais de la FUNU II. Au 16 juin, l’effectif de la FNUOD comptait 1 218 personnes.

Une fois en place, les observateurs de la FNUOD se sont immédiatement employés à surveiller le désengagement des deux forces, qui est survenu entre le 14 et le 27 juin. Du 25 au 27 juin, 500 soldats syriens ont procédé au déminage de la zone de séparation, opération qui a reçu l’autorisation obligatoire d’Israël. Malheureusement, quatre soldats autrichiens ont été tués le 25 juin, lorsque leur véhicule a explosé en passant sur une mine terrestre. Une fois ces opérations complétées, la FNUOD a entrepris la délimitation et le jalonnement des limites de la zone de séparation. Ces tâches ont été achevées en juillet 1974. Des postes de contrôle de la circulation et d’observation ont été mis en place, ainsi que deux camps de base, soit un de chaque côté de la zone de séparation.

Pour s’acquitter de son mandat, la FNUOD compte sur les postes d’observation ainsi que sur les patrouilles à pied et motorisées. En dépit d’opérations périodiques de déminage, la menace posée par les mines reste élevée. Par conséquent, les patrouilles de la FNUOD n’empruntent que des sentiers et des routes désignées. Tous les 15 jours, les forces militaires des deux côtés font l’objet d’inspections dans la zone de limitation.

La FNUOD a également participé à des opérations humanitaires. De temps en temps, la FNUOD a organisé le transfert de prisonniers de guerre et de dépouilles de combattants entre Israël et la Syrie. De 1976 à 1982, la FNUOD a supervisé la réunion périodique des familles druses qui avaient été séparées par la frontière traversant la zone de séparation. Ces réunions avaient lieu dans le village de Majdel Chams, situé à l’intérieur de la zone de séparation.

Un certain nombre d’incidents graves ayant causé des pertes de vies civiles sont survenus dans la zone de séparation en raison des mines qu’y avaient posées les militaires syriens, mais la FNUOD a réussi à régler ces problèmes le long de la frontière entre Israël et la Syrie. Les deux parties ont parfois imposé aux opérations de la FNUOD certaines restrictions, qui n'ont toutefois pas vraiment compromis l’efficacité de la FNUOD.

Depuis, le mandat de la FNUOD a été renouvelé tous les six mois. Cependant, depuis le déploiement, la composition et les effectifs de la FNUOD ont fait l’objet de quelques modifications. En juillet 1975, le contingent péruvien a été retiré, puis remplacé par un contingent iranien. À leur tour, les Iraniens se sont retirés pour être remplacés par un contingent finlandais en mars 1979. En décembre 1993, le contingent polonais de soutien logistique et le bataillon d’infanterie finlandais ont été retirés. Un bataillon d’infanterie polonais a remplacé les Finlandais et le contingent de soutien logistique canadien a été renforcé. Un peloton de transport du Japon s’est joint à la FNUOD en février 1996, tandis que les soldats slovaques étaient progressivement intégrés au bataillon autrichien à la fin des années 1990. Des observateurs de l’ONUST sont également attachés à la FNUOD.

L’effectif de la FNUOD a été réduit de 15 p. 100 dans toutes les unités en 1992 et, en mars 1996, il comptait 1 054 observateurs, soit 463 Autrichiens, 358 Polonais, 188 Canadiens et 45 Japonais. En 1999, le contingent autrichien a été réduit à 393 observateurs, mais cette diminution a été compensée par la venue de 70 observateurs slovaques. L’infanterie népalaise participe également à la FNUOD. De plus, 4 observateurs de l’ONUST sont attachés à la FNUOD et 85 autres leur prêtent leur concours, mais ils sont attachés au Groupe d’observateurs du Golan de l’ONUST.

Le début de la contribution canadienne à la FNUOD remonte au 3 juin 1974, lorsqu’un convoi de 40 véhicules a quitté le Sinaï pour traverser Israël en direction du plateau du Golan. Les Canadiens se sont installés dans un camp situé près de la ville de Kuneitra, au cœur de la zone de séparation. Il s’agissait d’un ancien camp militaire syrien qui, auparavant, dans les années 20, avait été utilisé par la Légion étrangère française. Ils ont d'abord baptisé leur nouveau chez-soi « Camp Roofless » (sans toit), notamment parce que tous les bâtiments à l'exception d'un seul avaient perdu leur toit pendant les guerres de 1967 et 1973. Le Camp Ziouani, nom officiel adopté par la suite, a dû être nettoyé de toutes les munitions non explosées qui s’y trouvaient encore avant de pouvoir être utilisé.

À l’origine, le continent canadien était une compagnie détachée du 73e Bataillon des services de la FUNU. Par conséquent, le contingent canadien portait le même nom d’opération que le contingent canadien de la FUNU, soit opération Danaca. Sur les plans technique et administratif, le détachement de la FNUOD relevait d’une unité de la FUNU. Le 8 juin 1977, le détachement canadien de la FNUOD a acquis son indépendance technique et opérationnelle en devenant la Compagnie canadienne composite de logistique (CANLOG), qui relevait du quartier général de la FNUOD. La responsabilité administrative des questions purement canadiennes a continué d'être assumée par l’unité administrative du contingent canadien, à Ismailia, jusqu’à la dissolution de la FUNU en 1979. Par la suite, la CANLOG a relevé du commandant du contingent canadien au sein de la FNUOD et elle a conservé le nom d’opération Danaca.

En collaboration avec le contingent de soutien logistique polonais (POLLOG), les Canadiens ont fourni un soutien logistique à la FNUOD. Les bataillons d’infanterie de la FNUOD sont chargés des réparations mineures sur leurs véhicules et leur équipement (maintenance de première ligne). Bien que faisant partie de la FNUOD, le POLLOG assurait la maintenance de deuxième ligne de l’équipement d’origine soviétique, alors que la CANLOG faisait de même pour l’équipement venant des pays de l’Ouest. Lorsque le POLLOG s’est retiré, le Canada a pris en charge toutes les fonctions de maintenance de deuxième ligne.

Le contingent canadien est responsable des réquisitions, de l’entreposage et de la distribution de tous les articles fournis par l’ONU, de l’ameublement et de l’équipement de bureau, des matériaux de construction et des vêtements fournis par l’ONU. Il s'occupe notamment de l’achat des rations destinées aux contingents de la FNUOD et de leur distribution à ceux-ci.

Le Canada fournit également le personnel (unité des transmissions) et les installations de communications aux divers détachements de la FNUOD. En plus d’assurer les communications radio, les 28 membres du personnel gèrent le système téléphonique de la FNUOD. Pour le contingent canadien, l'unité des transmissions est responsable des communications avec le Canada, ainsi que des services de courrier électronique. Seize des membres du personnel canadien servent au quartier général de la FNUOD, principalement dans la section de logistique.

À l’origine, le Canada assurait le service de transport de deuxième échelon en Israël. La Pologne fournissait le même service en Syrie. Comme la Pologne ne reconnaissait pas l’État d’Israël à cette époque, le personnel du POLLOG n’avait pas le droit d’y entrer. Au retrait du POLLOG, le Canada s’est chargé de toutes les fonctions de transport jusqu’à l’arrivée du contingent japonais (JAPCON), qui a pris en charge le transport et l’équipement lourd.

Le contingent canadien de la FNUOD est également responsable du soutien des militaires canadiens au service de l’ONUST. Le personnel canadien de l’ONUST se rapporte au Camp Ziouani pour les formalités d’arrivée et les séances d’information avant de se présenter au quartier général de l’ONUST et de prendre part à un déploiement opérationnel auprès de l’ONUST.

Au départ, le Canada a fourni 226 militaires à la FNUOD. Leur nombre a chuté à 186 au moment où l’effectif de la FNUOD a été réduit en 1992 et en 1993. Lors du retrait du POLLOG, l’effectif canadien a été légèrement augmenté. Les militaires participant à l’opération Danaca proviennent d’unités situées un peu partout au Canada. Les déploiements sont de six mois. La moitié de l’effectif du contingent est relevée tous les trois mois. Quatre militaires canadiens sont morts au service de la FNUOD.

L’opération Danaca a pris fin le 24 mars 2006. Le gouvernement du Canada a procédé au bilan complet de ses opérations à l’étranger et a décidé de réduire sa participation dès qu’un pays de remplacement acceptable aurait été trouvé. L’Inde a accepté de remplacer le contingent canadien de la FNUOD.

Cependant, la fin de l’opération Danaca ne signifie pas que le Canada a coupé tous ses liens avec la FNUOD. Au début, quatre officiers ont continué d’occuper des fonctions d’état-major au sein de la FNUOD. Leur nombre a été réduit à deux en juillet 2006. Les officiers restants occupent les fonctions d’assistant militaire auprès du commandant de l’ONU et de chef du personnel. Cette nouvelle opération des FC a été baptisée opération Gladius. Elle a commencé le 24 mars 2006.