Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation IOLAUS

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Assistance Mission for Iraq (UNAMI)

International Mission Name: United Nations Assistance Mission for Iraq (UNAMI)

Mandating Organization:
United Nations Security Council Resolution 1483, 22 May 2003 (Chapter VII)
United Nations Security Council Resolution 1500, 14 August 2003
United Nations Security Council Resolution 1546, 8 June 2004 (Chapter VII)

Region Name: Middle East

Location: Iraq

Mission Date: 14 August 2003 - 31 July 2016

Mandate:

In the aftermath of the second Gulf War, the UN Security Council pronounced its support for the Iraqi people in consensus-building and facilitating dialogue, through Resolution 1483 of 22 May 2003. The Security Council also authorized the Secretary-General to assist the people of Iraq in promoting democracy and local governance, a stronger economy and a stronger observance of human rights.

Later in 2003, the Security Council authorized the United Nations Assistance Mission in Iraq (UNAMI), in Resolution 1500 of 14 August. UNAMI’s mandate was to fulfill the task set out in Resolution 1483.

With Iraq slowly reorganizing itself through 2003 and 2004, the Security Council passed Resolution 1546 on 8 June. Besides supporting the newly-formed Interim Government of Iraq, the resolution altered UNAMI’s mandate as requested by the new Government of Iraq. UNAMI would now play a leading role in the development of an effective system of civil and social services, assist in the delivery of development, humanitarian and reconstruction aid, as well as planning for an Iraqi election, including a comprehensive census.

Mission Notes:

Iraq had been a pariah state since the 1990-91 Gulf War. In the aftermath, various UN Security Council resolutions have authorized embargoes, sanctions and inspections of Iraq. To many nations, but particularly the United States, Iraq appeared to be violating the agreements and resolutions that had been signed at the end of the first Gulf War and passed since that date. On several occasions, coalition forces had attacked Iraq.

In the end, citing non-compliance with on the issue of weapons of mass destruction, the United States led an invasion of Iraq in March 2003. The result was the defeat of Iraq militarily, but not an end to a guerrilla-like insurgency. Iraq also faced a host of political, economic and social problems as it attempted to cope with its post-Saddam Hussein future.

Through Resolution 1483, the Security Council hoped that the UN could play a role in building a new and inclusive Iraqi society and to this end various UN agencies began operations there. To coordinate the UN effort, the Security Council authorized the creation of the United Nations Assistance Mission in Iraq (UNAMI) on 14 August 2003 (Resolution 1500). At least seven UN offices would be created, besides those UN organizations such as UNICEF, UNDP and OCHA that were already present in Iraq.

On 19 August 2003, insurgents detonated a car bomb outside the office of the UN’s Special Representative of the Secretary-General (SRSG) in Iraq. In the resulting explosion, 22 members of UNAMI were killed. The SRSG, Sergio Vieira de Mello, was killed and the greater part of the human rights and political works office destroyed. The UN subsequently withdrew most UNAMI personnel from Iraq and in December appointed an acting-SRSG, Ross Mountain.

While the UNAMI personnel in Iraq remained at minimal levels, UNAMI increased its presence in Cyprus, Jordan and Kuwait to support efforts in Iraq. Greater emphasis was placed on Iraqis assisting themselves while the UN found new ways to improve its support to the people of Iraq. UNAMI staff also began planning for an eventual UN return to Iraq.

On 8 June 2004, the Security Council approved Resolution 1546. This Chapter VII mandate included the UN’s playing a leading role in the development of an effective system of civil and social services, assisting in the delivery of development, humanitarian and reconstruction aid, as well as planning for an Iraqi election, including a comprehensive census. Paragraph 30 also approved the creation of a four-element security and protection unit to protect UNASMI personnel and facilities in Iraq, in coordination with Iraqi authorities. In response, Fiji provided 157 troops protecting 64 international UNAMI personnel and an unenumerated number of Iraqis. A further 70 UNAMI personnel were based in Cyprus, Jordan and Kuwait. Three military advisors also provided the new SRSG, Ashraf Jehangir Qazi of Pakistan, with advice on military and security matters.

Canadian Operation:

Operation IOLAUS: 2 October 2004 – 9 July 2007

The Canadian Forces had one officer serving with the UNAMI. Under the Canadian name Operation IOLAUS, on 2 October 2004 one lieutenant-colonel was sent to Iraq for one year as a military advisor to the SRSG. His duties included briefing the SRSG on the military implications and the security situation in Iraq. He also established a temporary UN detachment in Basra and assisted in the coordination of a UN headquarters on the grounds of a former palace of Saddam Hussein in Basra. Subsequent officers continued this work until the mission ended on 9 July 2007.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) IOLAUS

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Mission d’assistance des Nations Unies pour l'Iraq (MANUI)

Nom de la mission internationale: Mission d’assistance des Nations Unies pour l'Iraq (MANUI)

Organisme responsable:
Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, résolution 1433, 22 mai 2003 (Chapitre VII)
Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, résolution 1500, 14 août 2003
Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, résolution 1546, 8 juin 2004 (Chapitre VII)

Région géographique: Moyen-Orient

Lieu: Iraq

Date: 14 août 2003 - 31 juillet 2016

Mandat:

À la suite de la seconde guerre du Golfe, le Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU a déclaré qu’il appuyait le peuple iraquien et encourageait le dialogue et la recherche d’un consensus dans sa résolution 1483 du 22 mai 2003. Il a également autorisé le Secrétaire général à aider le peuple iraquien à promouvoir la démocratie et un gouvernement local, à bâtir une économie plus forte et à assurer un meilleur respect des droits de la personne.

Plus tard en 2003, au moyen de la résolution 1500 du 14 août, le Conseil de sécurité a autorisé la Mission d’assistance des Nations Unies pour l'Iraq (MANUI). Le mandat de la MANUI était d’effectuer la tâche définie dans la résolution 1483.

Tandis que l’Iraq se réorganisait lentement en 2003 et en 2004, le Conseil de sécurité adoptait la résolution 1546 le 8 juin. Tout en appuyant le gouvernement provisoire de l’Iraq récemment formé, la résolution modifiait le mandat de la MANUI comme le demandait le nouveau gouvernement iraquien. La MANUI devait désormais jouer un rôle de leader dans la création d’un système efficace de services civils et sociaux, aider au développement, à l’aide humanitaire et à la reconstruction, et planifier une élection iraquienne, comprenant un recensement complet.

Notes sur la mission:

Depuis la guerre du Golfe de 1990-1991, l’Iraq était considéré comme un État paria. Diverses résolutions du Conseil de sécurité avaient autorisé des embargos, des sanctions et des inspections de l’Iraq. Pour beaucoup de pays, mais surtout pour les États Unis, l’Iraq semblait violer les accords et les résolutions qui avaient été signées à la fin de la guerre et adoptées par la suite. En plusieurs occasions, les forces de la coalition avaient attaqué l’Iraq.

En fin de compte, invoquant la non-conformité au chapitre des armes de destruction massive, les États-Unis ont dirigé une invasion de l’Iraq en mars 2003. Le résultat a été la défaite militaire de l’Iraq, mais non la fin d’une insurrection de type guérilla. L’Iraq a aussi eu à faire face à un grand nombre de problèmes politiques, économiques et sociaux tandis qu’il s’efforçait de bâtir l’avenir de l’après-Saddam Hussein.

Avec sa résolution 1483, le Conseil de sécurité espérait que l’ONU pourrait jouer un rôle dans la construction d’une nouvelle société iraquienne caractérisée par l'ouverture et, à cette fin, diverses organisations onusiennes ont commencé des opérations là-bas. Pour coordonner l’effort de l’ONU, le Conseil de sécurité a autorisé la création de la Mission d’assistance des Nations Unies pour l’Iraq (MANUI) le 14 août 2003 (résolution 1500). Au moins sept bureaux de l’ONU devaient être créés et s'ajouter aux organisations comme l’UNICEF, le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement (PNUD) et le Bureau de la coordination des affaires humanitaires (BCAH), déjà présentes en Iraq.

Le 19 août 2003, les insurgés ont fait exploser une voiture piégée à l’extérieur du bureau du représentant spécial du Secrétaire général (RSSG) de l’ONU en Iraq. L’explosion a tué 22 membres de la MANUI. Le RSSG, Sergio Vieira de Mello, a été tué et le bureau des droits de la personne et des travaux politiques a été en grande partie détruit. L’ONU a alors retiré de l’Iraq la majorité du personnel de la MANUI et, en décembre, elle nommait un RSSG intérimaire, Ross Mountain.

Si la présence du personnel de la MANUI restait minimale en Iraq, elle augmentait à Chypre, en Jordanie et au Koweït pour appuyer les efforts en Iraq. Les Iraquiens ont été invités à s’aider davantage eux-mêmes tandis que l’ONU trouvait de nouvelles manières d’améliorer son soutien au peuple iraquien. Le personnel de la MANUI a aussi commencé à planifier un retour futur de l’ONU en Irak.

Le 8 juin 2004, le Conseil de sécurité a approuvé la résolution 1546. Ce mandat établi en vertu du Chapitre VII prévoyait que l’ONU jouerait un rôle de chef de file dans la création d’un système efficace de services civils et sociaux, aiderait au développement, à l’aide humanitaire et à la reconstruction, et planifierait l’élection iraquienne, laquelle devait s’accompagner d’un recensement complet. Le paragraphe 30 approuvait de plus la création d’une unité de sécurité et de protection de quatre éléments pour protéger le personnel et les installations de la MANUI en Iraq, en collaboration avec les autorités iraquiennes. Les Fidji ont réagi en fournissant 157 militaires pour protéger les 64 membres du personnel international de la MANUI et un nombre non recensé d’Iraquiens. La MANUI comptait aussi 70 employés à Chypre, en Jordanie et au Koweït. Trois conseillers militaires assistaient aussi le nouveau RSSG, Ashraf Jehangir Qazi, du Pakistan, en le conseillant sur les questions militaires et la sécurité.

Opération canadienne

Opération IOLAUS : 2 octobre 2004 - 9 juillet 2007

Un officier des Forces canadiennes a servi auprès de la MANUI. Dans le cadre de l’opération Iolaus, le 2 octobre 2004, un lieutenant-colonel a été envoyé en Iraq pour un an comme conseiller militaire auprès du RSSG. Entre autres fonctions, il était chargé de conseiller le RSSG sur les répercussions militaires et sur l’état de la sécurité en Iraq. Il a aussi établi un détachement provisoire de l’ONU à Basra et a aidé à la coordination d’un quartier général de l’ONU sur le terrain d’un ancien palais de Saddam Hussein, à Basra. D'autres officiers ont poursuivi ce travail jusqu'à la fin de la mission, le 9 juillet 2007.