Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Iran 1962

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: Iran 1962

International Mission Name: Iran 1962

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Mandate: On 4 September 1962, Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) Air Transport Command (ATC) sent an aircraft on a mission of mercy to Iran.

Region Name: Middle East

Location: Bou’in-Zahra, Qazvin Province; Teheran, Iran

Mission Date: 4 September 1962 - 7 September 1962

Mission Notes:

Iran is an earthquake center of the world, lying between the converging Eurasian and Arabian Plates. The 1962 Bou’in-Zahra earthquake occurred on 1 September 1962 in the area of Bou’in-Zahra, Qazvin Province, Iran. The massive, magnitude 7.1 earthquake caused 12,225 fatalities.

In response, the Government of Canada provided a grant that the Canadian Red Cross used to buy blankets and medicine, as well as authorizing an RCAF aircraft to fly the supplies to Iran. The cargo consisted of medical supplies, food, blankets and clothing donated by Federal Health Department and Red Cross.

The flight of a CC-106 Yukon aircraft originated at RCAF Station Trenton with 12,000 lb load of supplies. Then, it flew to Toronto for a further 6,000 lbs of cargo and picked up two members of the Red Cross. The Yukon headed for Marville, France. After a ten-hour flight and two-hour refuelling stop, the aircraft began the final leg of journey to Teheran, landing at 3:00 AM on 5 September 2008.

The Red Lion and Sun Society unloaded the supplies into their trucks. They delivered the supplies to the village of Boeen, some 80 kilometres from Teheran. The Yukon logged some 14,000 miles (21 000 kilometres) and 39 flying hours on this round-trip, arriving back in Trenton on 7 September.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Iran 1962

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Iran 1962

Nom de la mission internationale: Iran 1962

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Mandat: Le 4 Septembre 1962, le Groupe transport aérien de l’Aviation royal du Canada (ARC) a envoyé un avion pour une mission de secours en Iran.

Région géographique: Moyen-Orient

Lieu: Bou’in-Zahra, province de Qazvin en Iran

Date: 4 septembre 1962 - 7 septembre 1962

Information sur la mission:

L’Iran est un centre de tremblements de terre en étant situé dans la convergions des plaques tectoniques eurasien et arabique. Le tremblement de terre Bou’in-Zahra est arrivé le 1er Septembre 1962 dans la région de Bou’in-Zahra, province de Qazvin en Iran. Il y a eu 12 225 décès dus au tremblement de terre d’une magnitude de 7,1.

La réponse du gouvernement du Canada a accordé une somme d’argent à la Croix rouge canadienne pour acheter des couvertures et des médicaments et de même autoriser l’Aviation royale du Canada (ARC) de transporter par avion les fournitures en Iran. La cargaison comprend des médicaments, nourriture couvertures et habillement donnés par le Ministère de la Santé fédérale et la Croix rouge.

Le vol de l’avion CC-106 Yukon a commencé à la Station de l’ARC Trenton avec 12 000 lb de cargaison. Il a fait un arrêt à Toronto pour prendre en charge une autre cargaison de 6 000 lb et embarquer deux membres de la Croix rouge. L’avion s’est envolé en direction de Marville, France. Suite à un envolé de dix heures et une escale d’avitaillement de deux heures, l’avion a commencé son étape finale. L’avion atterri à Téhéran à 3 heures du matin le 5 septembre 2008.

La Société du Lion et du Soleil Rouge a déchargé la cargaison dans leurs camions. La société a délivré la cargaison au village de Boeen, situé à environ 80 kilomètres de Téhéran. Le Yukon a enregistré dans son journal de bord 14 000 miles (21 000 kilomètres) et 39 heures de vol dans son voyage aller-retour en arrivant à Trenton le 7 septembre.