Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Lebanon 1956

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: Lebanon 1956

International Mission Name: Lebanon 1956

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Middle East

Location: Lebanon

Mission Date: 24 April 1956 - 3 May 1956

Mandate:

To deliver Canadian Red Cross supplies to Lebanon

Mission Notes:

On 16 March 1956 a magnitude 6.0 earthquake struck Lebanon. With its epicenter located near Sidon, it caused 136 deaths, destroyed 6000 buildings and damaged 1700 more. As aid and assistance rushed into the country, the International Red Cross collected over $615,000 (USD, 1956).

On 24 April, a 426 Squadron North Star aircraft left Montreal for Beirut. Onboard was medicine and relief supplies donated by the Canadian Red Cross. The aircraft arrived in Beirut on 28 April, returning to Montreal on 3 May.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Liban 1956

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Liban 1956

Nom de la mission internationale: Liban 1956

Mandant: Gouvernement du Canada

Mandat: Livrer des fournitures de la Croix-Rouge au Liban.

Région géographique: Moyen-Orient

Lieu: Liban

Date: 24 avril 1956 - 3 mai 1956

Notes sur la mission:

Le 16 mars 1956, un séisme de magnitude 6, dont l’épicentre était situé près de Sidon, a secoué le Liban. Il a causé la mort de 136 personnes, a détruit 6000 édifices et en a endommagé 1700 autres. La communauté internationale s’est empressée d’apporter aide et secours, et la Croix-Rouge internationale a recueilli plus de 615 000 $ (en dollars américains de 1956).

Le 24 avril, un avion North Star du 426e escadron a quitté Montréal en direction de Beyrouth. Il transportait des médicaments et des approvisionnements de secours offerts par la Croix-Rouge canadienne. Il est arrivé à Beyrouth le 28 avril et est reparti pour Montréal le 3 mai.