Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Lebanon 1967

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: Lebanon 1967

International Mission Name: Lebanon 1967

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Middle East

Location: Beirut, Lebanon

Mission Date: 5 June 1967 - 8 June 1967

Canadian Operations: No Canadian Op Name

Mandate:

If required, airlift to Lahr, Germany Canadian embassy staff and other Canadian nationals evacuated from Beirut.

Mission Notes:

After months of increasing tension and belligerency, war between Egypt, Israel and Syria on 5 June 1967, the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) had just completed evacuating the Canadian contingent of the United Nations Emergency Force (UNEF) and was in the process of completing their transfer back to Canada.

With the outbreak of war, the Department of External Affairs requested the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) place an aircraft on standby in Nicosia. External Affairs would arrange the evacuation of Embassy staff from Beirut, Lebanon to Nicosia. The CAF would then fly them and any other Canadian nationals to Lahr, Germany. On 5 June 1967 a C-130 Hercules was diverted to Nicosia, where it was placed on 12-hour standby. Late on the afternoon of 7 June 1967, the decision was made in Ottawa that the Hercules could be released from its standby posture – this was early on the 8th in Nicosia. The aircraft left on the 8th, with just the crew onboard.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Liban 1967

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Liban 1967

Nom de la mission internationale: Liban 1967

Organisation: Gouvernement du Canada

Mandat: Si nécessaire, d’évacuer à Lahr en Allemagne le personnel de l’ambassade canadienne et les citoyens canadiens de Bierut.

Région géographique: Moyen-Orient

Lieu: Bierut, Liban

Date: 5 juin 1967 - 8 juin 1967

Opération canadienne: Aucun nom canadien

Notes sur la mission:

Après des mois de l’augmentation de la tension et belligérance, la guerre entre l’Égypte, Israël et Syrie le 5 juin 1967, l’Aviation royale du Canada (ARC) venait juste de complété l’évacuation du contingent canadien de la Force d’urgence des Nations Unies (FUNU) et était en train de procéder à leur retour au Canada.

Avec le déclenchement de la guerre, le Ministère des Affaires extérieures a demandé qu’un avion soit en attente en Nicosie, le Ministère des Affaires extérieures devait voir à l’organisation de l’évacuation du personnel de l’ambassade de Bierut, du Liban à Nicosie. Les Forces Armées Canadiennes (FAC) les aurait transporté et des citoyens canadiens de Nicosie à Lahr. Le 5 juin 1967 un C-130 Hercule a été détourné vers Nicosie et de-là l’avion et son équipage en disponibilité de 12 heures. Tard dans l’après-midi du 7 juin 1967, la décision a été prise à Ottawa que le Hercule sera libéré de son statu d’attente dans les premiers heures du 8 juin 1967. L’avion a quitté Nicosie le 8 juin avec seulement son équipage.