Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Lebanon 1975

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Lebanon 1975

International Information

International Operation Name: Lebanon 1975

International Mission Name: Lebanon 1975

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Middle East

Location: Lebanon

Mission Date: 9 October 1975 - 30 November 1975

Mission Mandate:

To evacuate Canadian nationals from Lebanon

Mission/Operation Notes:

Lebanon has a varied ethnic melange. About half the population is Muslim (Shi'ite, Sunni or Druze) while another half is Christian. By 1976 Palestinian refugees, who had left their lands following the creation of Israel (1948) and the three Arab-Israeli Wars (1956, 1967 and 1973) were also an important demographic (and political) factor. Dissatisfaction with the prominent role accorded to the Christian community by the Lebanese Constitution was especially high among the Palestinians. When on 13 April 1975 gunmen killed four members of the Phalangist (Christian) political party during an assassination attempt on Pierre Jumayyil, the Phalangist leader, it was widely believed that the gunmen had been Palestinian. Consequently, a group of Phalangists attacked a bus carrying Palestinians through a Christian area, killing about 26 of the passengers. The next day fighting erupted between Phalangists and Palestinians. The government could not act effectively as it became fractured over whether to use the army to suppress the fighting. As various groups began to choose sides, Lebanon descended into civil war.

The fighting resulted in some nations suggesting that their nationals should leave the country. As fighting continued into 1976, the United States conducted an evacuation of its nationals and Embassy staff in June and July of that year.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (Lebanon 1975)

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement:

To evacuate Canadian nationals from Lebanon

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

In Canada, the civil war raised the possibility that Canadian nationals might need to be evacuated. On 9 October 1975, a 436 Squadron CC-130 Hercules was placed on standby in case an airlift was required. The standby period lasted into November, with no date specified as to when it ended.

A briefing note prepared in 1979 indicates that Canadian and other nationals were evacuated from Lebanon in 1976. The note unfortunately does not provide any supporting information.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Liban 1975

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Liban 1975

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Liban 1975

Nom de la mission internationale: Liban 1975

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Moyen-Orient

Lieu: Liban

Date: 9 octobre 1975 - 30 novembre 1975

Mandat de la mission :

Évacuer du Liban les ressortissants canadiens.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

La population du Liban représente une mosaïque ethnique. Environ la moitié des Libanais sont de religion musulmane (shi'ites, sunnites ou druzes), les autres étant chrétiens. En 1976, les réfugiés palestiniens, qui avaient quitté leurs terres par suite de la création d'Israël (1948) et des trois guerres arabo-israéliennes (1956, 1967 et 1973), constituaient aussi un important facteur démographique (et politique). L'insatisfaction découlant du rôle prépondérant accordé à la collectivité chrétienne par la Constitution libanaise était particulièrement grande parmi les Palestiniens. Lorsque, le 13 avril 1975, des tireurs ont tué quatre membres du Parti phalangiste (chrétien) au cours d’une tentative d’assassinat visant Pierre Gemayel, le chef de ce parti, on a généralement pensé qu'il s'agissait de l'œuvre de Palestiniens. Par conséquent, un noyau de phalangistes a attaqué un autobus rempli de Palestiniens qui traversait un quartier chrétien, tuant 26 passagers. Le lendemain, les combats ont éclaté entre phalangistes et Palestiniens. Le gouvernement avait pratiquement les mains liées à cause des divisions quant au recours à l’armée pour arrêter les combats. À mesure que les divers clans choisissaient leur camp, le Liban a sombré dans la guerre civile.

Ces affrontements ont convaincu certains pays de la nécessité d’évacuer leurs ressortissants. Les combats ayant continué l’année suivante, les États Unis ont évacué leurs citoyens et le personnel de leur ambassade en juin et juillet 1976.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Liban 1975)

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Évacuer du Liban les ressortissants canadiens.

Historique de la mission :

Au Canada, cette guerre civile laissait envisager la nécessité éventuelle d’évacuer les citoyens canadiens. Le 9 octobre 1975, on a donc mis en attente un appareil Hercules CC130 du 436e Escadron advenant la nécessité d’une évacuation. La période d'attente s’est prolongée en novembre, mais on ne dispose d'aucune précision quant à la date de fin.

Selon une note d’information rédigée en 1979, des citoyens du Canada et d’autres pays ont été évacués du Liban en 1976. Malheureusement, la note ne donne aucun autre renseignement à ce sujet.