Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation MERCATOR

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: Maritime Interdiction Force

International Mission Name: Maritime Interdiction Force

Mandating Organization:
United Nations Security Council resolution 661, 6 August 1990 (Chapter VII)
United Nations Security Council resolution 687, 3 April 1991 (Chapter VII)
United Nations Security Council resolution 1483, 22 May 2003

Mandate: To enforce United Nations economic sanctions against Iraq.

Region Name: Middle East

Location: Arabian Gulf; Iraq

Mission Date: 3 April 1991 - 22 May 2003

Mission Notes:

On 6 August 1990, the United Nations Security Council placed economic sanctions on Iraq after its invasion of Kuwait (resolution 661/1990). At the end of the Gulf War, the Security Council passed resolution 686, calling upon Iraq to comply with provisions concerning the treatment of hostages, prisoners of war and other measures. This was followed by Resolution 687 of 3 April 1991, which indicated that the full trade embargo would remain in place pending periodic reviews every 60 days of Iraqi compliance with the terms of the resolution. The embargo against Iraq was cancelled by Security Council resolution 1483, 22 May 2003 after the American-led invasion of Iraq.

Canadian Operation:

Operation MERCATOR: 1 August to 26 October 1998

Op MERCATOR was the fifth Canadian contribution to the MIF. HMCS Ottawa began preparations for this deployment in March 1998, including exercising with the USS Abraham Lincoln Battle Group (ALBG), with which she would sail to the Arabian Gulf. On 16 June, Ottawa left Esquimalt, to meet up with the ALBG. Enroute, 50 sailors participated in the cleaning and maintenance of the Sai Won Commonwealth Military Cemetery in Hong Kong, completed with a small ceremony in which a wreath was laid.

On 1 August, Ottawa and the ALBG arrived in the Arabian Gulf theatre of operation. After several days rest and maintenance in Manama, Bahrain, she conducted her first patrol, starting on 5 August. It terminated on 17 August after conducting 25 hailings and 8 boardings. After two days in Kuwait City, Ottawa started her second patrol, conducting surge operations in the northern Gulf, under the direction of the USS Valley Forge. On 31 August, Ottawa entered Dubai to conduct a short work period in which many crew members returned to Canada for a quick reunion with their families, while others met their spouses in Dubai.

HMCS Ottawa’s third patrol started on 12 September and continued to the 28 September. Four sailors from the United Arab Emirates navy were embarked for two days for familiarization. The patrol terminated with a visit to Qatar, where they hosted a cocktail party for Qatari guests and Canadian expatriots. The latter also opened their homes to the sailors so they could enjoy some home-cooked meals and escape the confines of the ship. Ottawa commenced her fourth patrol on 3 October, transiting the Straits of Hormuz on the 10 October enroute to Muscat, Oman. After three days there, the ship and crew conducted their final patrol in the Gulf. In three months of operations, HMCS Ottawa conducted five patrols with over 105 hailings and 35 boardings.

On 26 October the ALBG departed the operations area, heading back to the West Coast of North America, arriving in Esquimalt on 8 December after port visits to Freemantle, Melbourne and Sydney, Australia, and Pearl Harbor, Hawaii.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) MERCATOR

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Force maritime d’interdiction

Nom de la mission internationale: Force maritime d’interdiction

Organisation mandante:
Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, résolution 661 du 6 août 1990 (chapitre VII)
Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, résolution 687 du 3 avril 1991 (chapitre VII)
Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, résolution 1483 du 22 mai 2003

Mandat: Assurer l’application des sanctions économiques des Nations Unies contre l’Iraq.

Région géographique: Moyen-Orient

Lieu: le golfe Persique; Iraq

Date: 3 avril 1991 - 22 mai 2003

Notes sur la mission:

Le 6 août 1990, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a pris des sanctions économiques contre l’Iraq à la suite de l’invasion du Koweït par ce dernier (résolution 661 de 1990). À la fin de la guerre du Golfe, le Conseil de sécurité a adopté la résolution 686, demandant à l’Iraq de respecter les dispositions concernant le traitement des otages, les prisonniers de guerre et autres mesures. Celle-ci a été suivie de la résolution 687 du 3 avril 1991 qui indiquait que l’embargo commercial total serait maintenu en attendant les réévaluations périodiques (tous les 60 jours) de la conformité de l’Iraq aux dispositions de la résolution. Cet embargo a été levé le 22 mai 2003 par la résolution 1483 du Conseil de sécurité après l’invasion de l’Iraq par les Américains.

Opération canadienne:

Opération MERCATOR : Du 1er août au 26 octobre 1998

L’Opération MERCATOR a constitué la cinquième participation du Canada à la MIF. Le NCSM Ottawa a commencé à se préparer à ce déploiement en mars 1998, notamment en effectuant des exercices avec le USS Abraham Lincoln Battle Group (ALBG), avec lequel le navire est parti pour le golfe Persique. Le 16 juin, le Ottawa a quitté Esquimalt pour rejoindre le ALBG. En cours de route, 50 marins ont participé au nettoyage et à l’entretien du cimetière militaire du Commonwealth Sai Won à Hong Kong, qui ont été suivis d’une petite cérémonie au cours de laquelle une couronne a été déposée.

Le 1er août, l’Ottawa et l’ALBG sont arrivés dans la zone du théâtre du Golfe Arabo-Persique. Après plusieurs jours de repos et de maintenance à Manama, à Bahreïn, il a effectué sa première patrouille qui a commencé le 5 août et s’est terminée le 17 août après avoir procédé à 25 interpellations et à 8 arraisonnements. Après deux jours à Koweït, le Ottawa a commencé sa deuxième patrouille, menant des opérations intensifiées dans le nord du Golfe sous la direction du USS Valley Forge. Le 31 août, le Ottawa a atteint Doubaï pour effectuer une période courte au cours de laquelle de nombreux membres de l’équipage sont repartis au Canada afin d’avoir une brève réunion avec leurs familles alors que d’autres ont rencontré leurs conjoints à Doubaï.

La troisième patrouille du Ottawa a commencé le 12 septembre et s’est poursuivie jusqu’au 28 septembre. Quatre membres de la marine des Émirats arabes unis ont été embarqués pendant deux jours pour une période de familiarisation. La patrouille s’est terminée par une visite au Qatar où l’équipage a organisé un cocktail pour des Qatariens et des expatriés canadiens. Ces derniers ont également ouvert leurs demeures aux marins afin qu’ils puissent profiter de bons repas de cuisine familiale et échapper à l’espace confiné du navire. Le Ottawa a débuté sa quatrième patrouille le 3 octobre, passant le 10 octobre par le détroit d’Ormuz en route vers Mascate, à Oman. Après y avoir passé trois jours, le navire a effectué sa dernière patrouille dans le Golfe. En trois mois d’opérations, le NCSM Ottawa a effectué cinq patrouilles totalisant plus de 105 interpellations et 35 arraisonnements.

Le 26 octobre, le ALBG a quitté la zone des opérations, repartant vers la côte Ouest de l’Amérique du Nord pour arriver à Esquimalt le 8 décembre, après avoir fait des escales à Freemantle, Melbourne et Sydney, en Australie, et à Pearl Harbor, à Hawaï.