Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation PROMENADE

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

PROMENADE

International Information

International Operation Name: PROMENADE

International Mission Name: PROMENADE

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Middle East

Location: Persian Gulf

Mission Date: 9 February 1995 - 1 May 1995

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (PROMENADE)

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement: To assist in the promotion of Canadian technology at various locations in Persian Gulf states

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

The government of Canada, and specifically the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, had been considering the use of a Canadian Patrol Frigate as a means to showcase Canadian technology and support Canadian trade initiatives. The location for this showcase would be the Arabian Gulf, where Kuwait and Saudi Arabia were considering purchases of naval vessels.

Operation PROMENADE had originally been scheduled for the summer of 1994; however it was delayed. HMCS Fredericton received word of her upcoming deployment on 13 January 1995. Departing on 9 February, Fredericton sailed to the Mediterranean Sea, stopping in Souda Bay, Greece from 21 to 27 February to perform routine maintenance, including an overall painting of the ship.

Fredericton’s first official duties as a trade representative for Canada were in Kuwait City from 12 to 16 March. Here she hosted a number of official functions for Saint John Shipbuilding Limited (SJSL) and the Canadian Embassy in Kuwait, as well as conducting a day-sail for Kuwaiti VIPs. The next stop was in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates (UAE), from 18 to 24 March where she participated in the annual International Defence Exhibition and again acted as host for SJSL and Canadian Embassy functions.

Although originally intended as a rest and relaxation port, Fredericton’s visit to Dubai, UAE, (24 to 27 March) included the obligatory functions. Canadians living in Dubai enjoyed the ship’s hospitality and invited many sailors to spend the day with them or attend a desert barbecue. Enroute to Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, on 5 April Fredericton responded to a distress call from the 15 metre sailing vessel Longo Barda off the Somali coast. The sailing boat, which was returning to Britain from a sailing race in Australia, was under attack from pirates. As it happened, the container ship Maersk Antwerp arrived on the scene first and forced the pirates to withdraw.

The final official visit for the showcase was in Jeddah, from 8 to 10 April. After spending five days in Haifa, Israel, Fredericton headed back to Halifax on 17 April stopping briefly in Naples to pick up the conference table for the G7 Summit, being held in Canada in 1995. The ship returned to Halifax on 1 May.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) PROMENADE

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

PROMENADE

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération PROMENADE

Nom de la mission internationale: PROMENADE

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Moyen-Orient

Lieu: Golfe Persique

Date: 9 février 1995 - 1 mai 1995

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (PROMENADE)

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne: Aider à la promotion des technologies canadiennes à différents endroits dans les États du golfe Persique.

Historique de la mission:

Le gouvernement du Canada, et plus particulièrement le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI), s’étaient penchés sur la possibilité d’utiliser une frégate de patrouille canadienne pour exposer les technologies canadiennes et soutenir les initiatives commerciales du pays. Cette « exposition » se dirigerait vers le golfe Persique, où le Koweït et l’Arabie saoudite songeait à acheter des navires militaires.

L’opération Promenade, d’abord prévue pour l’été 1994, a dû être retardée. Le NCSM Fredericton a reçu un préavis de déploiement le 13 janvier 1995. Le navire s’est mis en route pour la mer Méditerranée le 9 février et il a fait escale dans la baie de Souda, en Grèce, du 21 au 27 février pour la maintenance périodique et la peinture complète du navire.

Du 12 au 16 mars, le Fredericton a rempli son premier mandat de représentant commercial pour le Canada dans la ville de Koweït. Il y a été l’hôte d’un certain nombre de réceptions officielles pour Saint John Shipbuilding Limited (SJSL) et l’ambassade du Canada au Koweït. Le navire a aussi effectué une promenade d’un jour pour des dignitaires du Koweït. Abu Dhabi aux Émirats arabes unis (AE) était l’escale suivante. Là, le navire a participé, du 18 au 24 mars, à l’International Defence Exhibition (l’Exposition internationale de défense) annuelle et a encore été l’hôte de réceptions pour SJSL et l’ambassade de Canada.

Même si l’escale au port de Dubaï aux Émirats arabes unis du 24 au 27 mars devait constituer une pause pour l’équipage, le Fredericton devait également y tenir des réceptions officielles. Les Canadiens établis à Dubaï ont pu profiter de l’hospitalité du navire et ont invité de nombreux marins à passer la journée avec eux ou à participer à un barbecue dans le désert. Le 5 avril, en route vers Djedda, en Arabie saoudite, le Fredericton a répondu à l’appel de détresse lancé par le Longo Barda, un voilier de 15 mètres, près des côtes somaliennes. Le voilier, qui retournait en Grande-Bretagne après une course en Australie, était attaqué par des pirates. Premier arrivé sur les lieux, le cargo porte-conteneurs Maersk Antwerp avait obligé les pirates à reculer, mais l’arrivée du Fredericton les a vraiment obligés à repenser leurs affaires.

La dernière visite officielle de la « tournée » était prévue à Djedda, du 8 au 10 avril. Le Fredericton a encore fait office d’hôte le premier jour et a offert des visites la deuxième journée. Après une escale de cinq jours à Haïfa, en Israël, le Fredericton s’est mis en route pour Halifax le 17 avril et a fait une courte escale à Naples pour embarquer la table de conférence du Sommet du G7, qui allait avoir lieu au Canada en 1995. Le navire est arrivé à Halifax le 1er mai.