Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation SCIMITAR

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

SCIMITAR
Description: A K25 Loader pulls away from a CF Boeing. Part
of the airlift of supplies to Qatar for Op Scimitar.

International Information

International Operation Name: Gulf War

International Mission Name: Gulf War

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Middle East

Location: Kuwait, Iraq

Mission Date: 1 August 1990 - 6 April 1991

Mission Mandate: To enforce the UN Security resolutions on Iraq and remove Iraqi forces from Kuwait.

United Nations Security Council Resolution 660, 2 Aug 1990
United Nations Security Council Resolution 661, 6 Aug 1990
United Nations Security Council Resolution 665, 25 Aug 1990
United Nations Security Council Resolution 678, 29 Nov 1990

Mission/Operation Notes:

Asserting that Kuwait was properly an integral part of Iraq – its 19th province – the Government of Saddam Hussein launched an invasion of the oil-rich state on 2 August 1990. Kuwait was occupied in less than a day.

The United States immediately began to put together a coalition to protect Saudi Arabia and its oil fields, and to persuade Iraq to leave Kuwait. Indeed, on 7 August Saudi Arabia asked the US to station American troops on its territory to protect the Kingdom.

The United Nations also took up the issue. On 2 August the Security Council approved Resolution 660, which asserted that Iraq posed a threat to peace and demanded that it withdraw its forces from Kuwait. When no progress was made, resolution No. 661 was passed on 6 August, launching an embargo against all transactions with Iraq, except for the delivery of medical supplies and foodstuffs. This was a Chapter VII resolution.

With the embargo having limited effect, the Security Council passed Resolution No. 665 on 25 August under Chapter VII authorizing maritime forces to use measures commensurate with enforcing Resolution 661. The final significant act was Resolution 678 passed on 29 November. It authorized the use of force to ensure Iraqi compliance with all Security Council resolutions if Iraq did not withdraw from Kuwait by 15 January 1991.

The Iraqi military seemed to pose a significant threat. The army had over 1,000,000 soldiers, including the Republican Guard of almost 80,000 troops. The army had over 5,500 tanks, including the most modern T-72s, and over 3,000 artillery pieces. The Iraqi Air Force was assessed as having a highly credible capability. In terms of equipments, it had over 750 French and Soviet aircraft including 500 fighters and fighter-bombers. These included Mirage F-1, MiG- 21, MiG-23, MiG-25 and MiG-29 fighter and interceptor aircraft and Sukhoi Su-20/22 and Su-25 close support aircraft. In addition, the air defence system included some modern and capable French and Soviet equipment.

Offensively, Iraq fielded a variety of surface-to-surface missiles, including Scuds, and while these were not the most accurate types, they could reach targets as far away as Israel.

Most worrisome was the fact that Iraq was known to have chemical weapons – blister agents like mustard gas as well as nerve agents like sarin and tabun – and the means of delivering them. And of course, such weapons had been used intentionally in the long drawn-out war against Iran.

Although efforts at finding a negotiated settlement continued, coalition forces gathered strength in Saudi Arabia and other Gulf States from August 1990 to January 1991. Ultimately, Security Council Resolution 678 gave Iraq until 15 January to withdraw its forces from Kuwait. That did not happen, and at 0300 Baghdad time on 17 January 1991, an air campaign was launched against Iraqi military targets in Kuwait and Iraq. Designated Operation Desert Storm, at the outset the air campaign was designed to destroy Iraq’s command, control, and communications infrastructure and its air defence system. Fielded forces were attacked thereafter. For its part, Iraq launched its first Scud against Saudi Arabia on 17 January, and began blowing up oil wells in Kuwait on 22 February.

The ground war commenced on 24 February, and coalition forces made rapid progress against Iraqi troops, which had been shattered by over a month of aerial bombardment. The next day Iraq launched Scud missiles against Israel in attempt to draw that country into the fighting and, perhaps, break-up the US-led coalition. Israel did not take the bait, and by 28 February, after just 100 hours of ground operations, the Iraqis had been pushed out of Kuwait. US President George H. Bush declared a unilateral cease-fire that same day; Iraq agreed to abide by the terms and the UN Resolutions on 3 March, and the official cease-fire came into effect on 6 April.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (SCIMITAR)

Name: Op SCIMITAR

Date: 15 September 1990 - 6 November 1990

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

While the Canadian warships were on their way to the Persian Gulf, Prime Minister Brian Mulroney announced on 14 September 1990 that Canada would also contribute CF-18s to provide air cover for the Canadian warships. The aircraft would provide Combat Air Patrols (CAP) for the Canadian ships and provide an interception capability in case of Iraqi Air Force flights outside Iraqi airspace.

The CF-18s came from 409 Squadron at CFB Baden, Germany, augmented by aircraft and personnel from 421 and 439 Squadrons and supported by 1 Air Maintenance Squadron. In preparation for the move, 22 Hercules and Boeing flights were made between 20 and 24 September to transport required supplies from Canada to Baden. The deployment, given the name Operation SCIMITAR, started on 4 October with the first Hercules flights to Doha, Qatar. The first six CF-18s left Baden on 7 October, arriving in Doha on the 8th. Six and then four more aircraft arrived in Doha on 11 and 12 October. The Canadian facilities at Doha were named “Canada Dry” at the suggestion of a Qatari official who had lived in Canada.

This deployment used two thirds of the available crews of 436 Squadron flying the CC-130 Hercules, as well as crews from 435 Squadron also flying the Hercules and 437 Squadron flying the Boeing 707. A total of 101 flights were made between 4 and 15 October – 91 by Hercules and 10 by the Boeings. Over 1500 tons of freight, 135 tons of baggage and 1,400 personnel were ferried to Doha. Not only did this include the personnel required to service and support the CF-18s, but also members of the 3rd Battalion, The Royal Canadian Regiment for security.

Op SCIMITAR, which had started with the authorizing message on 15 September, ended on 6 November when Commodore Summers assumed command of all Canadian forces in the Gulf. The CF-18s then became part of Operation FRICTION.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) SCIMITAR

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

SCIMITAR
Description : Une chargeuse K25 s’éloigne d’un Boeing des
FAC. Activité liée au transport aérien d’approvisionnements
jusqu’au Qatar dans le cadre de l’Op SCIMITAR.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Guerre du Golfe

Nom de la mission internationale: Guerre du Golfe

Mandant: Organisation des Nations Unies

Région géographique: Moyen-Orient

Lieu: Iraq, Koweït

Date: 2 août 1990 - 6 avril 1991

Mandat:

Faire respecter les résolutions du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies par l’Irak et veiller au retrait des forces irakiennes du Koweït.

Les résolutions 660 (2 août 1990), 661 (6 août 1990), 665 (25 août 1990) et 678 (29 novembre 1990) du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies

Notes sur la mission:

Jugeant que le Koweït faisait partie intégrante de l’Iraq (sa 19e province en fait), le gouvernement de Saddam Hussein a envahi militairement ce riche État pétrolier le 2 août 1990. Les Iraquiens ont occupé le Koweït en moins d’une journée.

Les États-Unis ont aussitôt entrepris de former une coalition pour protéger l’Arabie saoudite et ses champs pétroliers et pour obliger l’Iraq à renoncer au Koweït. D’ailleurs, le 7 août, l’Arabie saoudite a demandé aux Américains de stationner des troupes sur son territoire pour défendre le royaume.

L’Organisation des Nations Unies s’est aussi attaquée au problème. Le 2 août, le Conseil de sécurité a approuvé la résolution 660 affirmant que l’Iraq représentait une menace pour la paix et exigeant le retrait des forces iraquiennes du Koweït. Étant donné que les négociations piétinaient, le Conseil a adopté le 6 août la résolution 661 dans le but d’imposer un embargo sur toutes les transactions avec l’Iraq, sauf pour les livraisons de fournitures médicales et de produits alimentaires. Cette résolution reposait sur le Chapitre VII de la Charte.

L’embargo ayant des effets limités, le Conseil de sécurité a voté le 25 août la résolution 665 en vertu du Chapitre VII de la Charte, qui autorisait les forces navales à recourir aux moyens nécessaires pour faire respecter la résolution 661. La dernière mesure importante a été l’adoption le 29 novembre de la résolution 678, qui permettait le recours à la force pour contraindre l’Iraq à respecter toutes les résolutions du Conseil de sécurité, dans l’éventualité où les Iraqiens ne se seraient pas retirés du Koweït au 15 janvier 1991.

Les forces armées iraquiennes paraissaient impressionnantes et dangereuses. L’armée comptait plus d’un million de soldats, dont la Garde républicaine aux effectifs de près de 80 000 membres. Les troupes disposaient de plus de 5 500 chars d’assaut, entre autres les T 72 les plus modernes, et de plus de 3 000 pièces d’artillerie.

La force aérienne iraquienne était très puissante selon les estimations. En termes d’équipement, elle possédait au-delà de 750 avions français et soviétiques, dont 500 chasseurs et chasseurs-bombardiers. Mentionnons notamment des chasseurs et intercepteurs Mirage F 1, MiG-21, MiG-23, MiG-25 et MiG-29 ainsi que des avions d’appui rapproché Sukhoi Su 20/22 et Su 25. En outre, la défense antiaérienne de l’Iraq pouvait miser sur certains des équipements français et soviétiques les plus modernes et efficaces. Du point de vue offensif, l’Iraq alignait divers missiles sol sol, notamment des Scuds qui, bien qu’assez peu précis, pouvaient atteindre des cibles aussi éloignées qu’Israël.

Aspect particulièrement inquiétant, on savait que l’Iraq disposait d’armes chimiques, soit des agents vésicants comme le gaz moutarde et des agents neurotoxiques comme le sarin et le tabun, ainsi que la capacité de les émettre. Et, évidemment, les Iraquiens avaient déjà utilisé ces armes à l'intérieur du pays et durant la longue guerre contre l’Iran.

En dépit des efforts continus pour arriver à un règlement négocié, les pays de la coalition ont massé progressivement des forces en Arabie saoudite et dans d'autres États du golfe Persique d'août 1990 à janvier 1991. Finalement, le Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU a adopté la résolution 678 enjoignant l’Iraq de retirer ses troupes du Koweït avant le 15 janvier. Le régime iraquien ayant refusé d’obtempérer, à 3 h heure de Bagdad le 17 janvier 1991, la coalition a lancé une campagne aérienne contre des objectifs militaires Iraquiens au Koweït et en Iraq. Appelée opération Desert Storm, la campagne aérienne visait au départ à détruire les infrastructures de commandement, de contrôle et de communications et les installations de défense antiaérienne de l’Iraq. Par la suite, les troupes sur le terrain ont été à leur tour bombardées. L’Iraq a répliqué en lançant le 17 janvier un premier missile Scud contre l’Arabie saoudite, puis a entrepris le 22 février de faire sauter les puits de pétrole au Koweït.

L’offensive terrestre a débuté le 24 février, les forces de la coalition progressant rapidement face aux troupes iraquiennes qui avaient été décimées durant plus d’un mois par les bombardements aériens. Le lendemain, l’Iraq a lancé des missiles Scud contre Israël afin d’entraîner ce pays dans le conflit et dans l’espoir peut être de rompre la coalition dirigée par les États Unis. Mais Israël n’a pas mordu à l’appât et, le 28 février, après des opérations terrestres ayant duré à peine 100 heures, les Iraquiens ont été expulsés du Koweït. Le jour même, le président américain, George H. Bush, a décrété un cessez le feu unilatéral; l’Iraq a accepté le 3 mars de se conformer aux conditions et aux résolutions de l’ONU, et le cessez le feu est entré officiellement en vigueur le 6 avril.

Opération canadienne:

Opération SCIMITAR : 15 septembre au 6 novembre 1990

Alors que les navires militaires canadiens étaient en route vers le golfe Persique, le premier ministre Brian Mulroney a annoncé le 14 septembre 1990 que le Canada allait également déployer des avions CF-18 pour assurer la couverture aérienne des navires canadiens. Les avions seraient chargés des patrouilles aériennes de combat (CAP) pour les navires et constitueraient une capacité d’interception si les forces de l’air irakiennes entreprenaient des vols à l’extérieur de l’espace aérien de l’Irak.

Les avions CF-18 provenaient du 409e escadron de la BFC Baden, en Allemagne. À ceux-ci s’ajoutaient des avions et du personnel du 421e escadron et du 439e escadron soutenus par le 1er escadron de maintenance (Air). Il a fallu 22 vols des Hercule et de Boeing entre le 20 et le 24 septembre pour transporter le matériel nécessaire du Canada à Baden en vue du déploiement, qui portait le nom d’opération Scimitar. L’opération a commencé le 4 octobre avec les premiers vols de Hercule jusqu’à Doha, au Qatar. Les six premiers avions CF-18 ont quitté Baden le 7 octobre et sont arrivés à Doha le lendemain. Six autres avions, puis quatre autres, sont arrivés à Doha les 11 et 12 octobre. Les installations canadiennes à Doha ont été appelées « Canada Dry » à la suite de la proposition d’un dignitaire de Qatar qui avait déjà habité au Canada.

Ce déploiement a demandé la participation des deux tiers des membres d’équipage disponibles du 436e escadron pour piloter les Hercule CC 130, ainsi que des membres d’équipage du 435e escadron pour les Hercule et du 437e escadron pour les Boeing 707. Au total, il y a eu 101 vols du 4 au 15 octobre, c’est-à-dire 91 par Hercule et 10 par Boeing. Plus de 1500 tonnes de matériel, 135 tonnes de bagages et 1400 militaires ont emprunté ce pont aérien jusqu’à Doha. Les vols transportaient non seulement le personnel requis pour le service et le soutien des CF-18, mais aussi les membres du 3e bataillon du Royal Canadian Regiment, pour la sécurité.

L’opération Scimitar, qui avait commencé avec le message d’autorisation du 15 septembre, s’est terminée le 6 novembre quand le commodore Summers a pris en charge le commandement de toutes les Forces canadiennes déployées dans le Golfe. Les avions CF-18 ont alors été intégrés à l’opération Friction.