Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation SOUTHERN WATCH

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation SOUTHERN WATCH

International Mission Name: Operation SOUTHERN WATCH

Mandating Organization:
United Nations Security Council Resolution 688 (5 April 1991)
United Nations Security Council Resolution 949 (15 October 1994)

Region Name: Middle East

Location: Iraq

Mission Date: 26 August 1992 - 19 March 2003

Canadian Operation

No Canadian operations name26 August 1992 to 19 March 2003

Mandate:

To enforce a no-fly zone over southern Iraq.

Mission Notes:

At the end of the Gulf War, the Shi’ite population of southern Iraq (the “marsh Arabs”) rebelled against the rule of the predominantly Sunni regime of Saddam Hussein. Although the Shi’ite are the majority in Iraq, they suffered repression from the regime, including religious repression.

The Iraqi military started a campaign to end the insurrection, using helicopters and enforcing their will with repressive measures. The United Nations Security Council passed Resolution 688 (5 April 1991) calling upon Iraq to end the repression of its population and allow humanitarian agencies to provide assistance. While Iraq chose in some measure to abide by the Resolution in northern Iraq where the Kurds had also rebelled, it did not do so in the south. But because international attention was focused upon the Kurds and their plight, the Shi’ites’ in the south continued to be targeted by the Iraqi military and received little support.

After consultation with a number of coalition partners, on 26 August 1992 American President George Bush announced the creation of a no-fly zone in southern Iraq, below the 32nd parallel (moved to the 33rd parallel in 1996). All Iraqi fixed and rotary wing aircraft were banned from flights in the no-fly zone. Operation SOUTHERN WATCH was created with this announcement. Most of the subsequent two years passed with few Iraqi violations of the ban; however, Saddam Hussein’s threats of violence against neighboring states, as a means to end sanctions against Iraq, created apprehension among the Gulf States and in the United Nations.

On 15 October 1994, the Security Council passed Resolution 949 demanding that Iraq withdraw its forces from its southern borders and that it not threaten neighbors or UN operations. This was backed up by the use of Chapter VII of the UN Charter. Operation SOUTHERN WATCH henceforth had Chapter VII backing to ensure that Iraq did not deploy any new units into the southern border region, and that it not use military force to threaten its neighbors or UN operations. Among the nations participating were the United States, Britain, France and Saudi Arabia, with support from 22 other nations.

Initially, American, British and French forces conducted the AWACS patrols. After 15 December 1996, France withdrew from the AWACS operations, although it continued to support Coalition operations in the Persian Gulf with men and equipment. The AWACS monitored the airspace in and north of the no-fly zone, watching for Iraqi attempts to violate the zone or lure Coalition into surface-to-air missile traps. AWACS also controlled Coalition air strikes against Iraq in December 1998 after Iraq expelled UN arms inspectors (Operation DESERT FOX).

Canada’s participation in Operation Southern Watch stems from participation in AWACS operations during and after the Gulf War. The Canadian personnel were part of the Canadian Contingent 552nd Air Control Wing at Tinker Air Force Base, Oklahoma. The Canadians are integrated into the four squadrons on the wing, participating in the wing’s operations.

With the commencement of Operation IRAQI FREEDOM on 19 March 2003 (20 March in Iraq), Operation Southern Watch ended.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) SOUTHERN WATCH

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération SOUTHERN WATCH

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération SOUTHERN WATCH

Organisation mandante:
Résolution 688 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies (5 avril 1991)
Résolution 949 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies (15 octobre 1994)

Région géographique: Moyen-Orient

Lieu: Iraq

Date: 26 août 1992 - 19 mars 2003

Opération canadienne

Sans nom 26 août 1992 au 19 mars 2003

Mandat:

Appliquer une zone d’interdiction aérienne au-dessus du Sud de l’Irak

Notes sur la mission:

À la fin de la guerre du Golfe, la population chiite du Sud de l’Irak (les « Arabes des marais ») s’est rebellée contre le régime à prédominance sunnite de Saddam Hussein. Bien que les chiites soient majoritaires en Irak, ils ont fait l’objet de répression de la part du régime, notamment sur le plan religieux.

Les militaires irakiens ont entrepris une campagne pour mettre fin à l’insurrection, à l’aide d’hélicoptères et de mesures répressives. Le 5 avril 1991, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a adopté la résolution 688, exigeant de l’Irak qu’il mette fin à la répression de sa population et permette aux organismes humanitaires d’apporter de l’aide. Bien que l’Irak ait choisi de se conformer à la résolution dans une certaine mesure, au Nord du pays, où les Kurdes s’étaient également rebellés, il ne l’a pas fait dans le Sud. Comme l’attention de la communauté internationale était concentrée sur les Kurdes et leurs souffrances, les chiites du Sud ont continué d’être ciblés par les militaires irakiens et n’ont reçu que peu d’appui.

Après avoir consulté un certain nombre de ses partenaires de la coalition, le 26 août 1992, le président des États-Unis George H. Bush a annoncé la création d’une zone d’interdiction aérienne au Sud de l’Irak, au-dessous du 32e parallèle (ce qui a été changé pour le 33e parallèle en 1996). Aucun avion irakien, qu’il soit à voilure fixe ou tournante, n’avait le droit de voler dans cette zone. Cette annonce a créé l’opération Southern Watch. Pendant une bonne partie des deux années suivantes, il y a eu peu de violations de la part de l’Irak; mais les menaces de violence de Saddam Hussein contre les États voisins, afin de mettre fin aux sanctions contre l’Irak, ont créé un climat d’appréhension au sein des États du Golfe et aux Nations Unies.

Le 15 octobre 1994, le Conseil de sécurité a adopté la résolution 949, qui exigeait que l’Irak retire ses forces des frontières du sud et qu’il ne menace pas les pays voisins ou les opérations de l’ONU. Cette résolution était appuyée par le recours au chapitre VII de la Charte des Nations Unies. L’opération Southern Watch recevait donc un appui aux termes du chapitre VII pour faire en sorte que l’Irak ne déploie plus de nouvelles unités dans la région de la frontière méridionale, et qu’il n’utilise pas la force militaire pour menacer ses voisins ou les opérations de l’ONU. Les États-Unis, la Grande-Bretagne, la France et l’Arabie Saoudite participaient notamment à l’opération, appuyés par 22 autres nations.

Au départ, les forces américaines, britanniques et françaises effectuaient les patrouilles AWACS. Après le 15 décembre 1996, la France s’est retirée des opérations AWACS, mais elle a continué à appuyer les opérations de la coalition dans le golfe Persique en fournissant des hommes et de l’équipement. Les AWACS surveillaient l’espace aérien dans la zone d’interdiction et au nord de celle-ci, afin de déceler toute tentative par les Irakiens de violer la zone ou d’attirer la Coalition dans des pièges où ils seraient frappés par des missiles surface-air. Les AWACS ont également contrôlé les frappes aériennes contre l’Irak en décembre 1998, après que celui-ci eut expulsé les inspecteurs en armements de l’ONU (opération Desert Fox).

La participation du Canada à l’opération Southern Watch résulte de sa participation aux opérations AWACS pendant et après la guerre du Golfe. Le personnel militaire canadien faisait partie du contingent canadien de la 552e unité de contrôle aérien de la base des forces aériennes de Tinker, en Oklahoma. Les Canadiens ont été intégrés aux quatre escadrons de l’unité et ont participé à ses opérations.

L’opération Southern Watch a pris fin le 19 mars 2003 (20 mars en Irak), quand l’opération Iraqi Freedom a débuté.