Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation TUNDRA

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Emergency Force (UNEF)

International Mission Name: United Nations Emergency Force (UNEF)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Middle East

Mission Date: 5 November 1956 - 17 June 1967

Canadian Operation: Operation TUNDRA

Canadian Mission Date: January 1959

Mission Notes:

In 1956 United Nations Emergency Force was created, with contingents being provided from ten nations. Finland and Indonesia committed troops for a limited period, which resulted in the withdrawal of these personnel in December and September 1957 respectively. In December 1958, Colombia withdrew its contingent, creating a shortage of personnel to perform the required tasks. The United Nations began the process of finding replacement troops, asking Canada for a contribution of one rifle company. The name for this reinforcement of Canada’s contribution to UNEF was Op TUNDRA.

On 28 January 1958, a meeting chaired by the Army’s Director General Plans and Operations was held in Ottawa. The Chief of the General Staff had directed that the rifle company be drawn from 2nd Battalion, The Royal Canadian Regiment. The plan called for 150 to deploy if Cabinet approved the commitment. In the end, cabinet did not approve the request and no members of 2 RCR deployed.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Opération TUNDRA

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale : Force d’urgence des Nations Unies (FUNU)

Nom de la mission internationale : Force d’urgence des Nations Unies (FUNU)

Organisme responsable : Organisation des Nations Unies

Région géographique : Moyen-Orient

Date de début : 5 novembre 1956 - 17 juin 1967

Opération canadienne : Opération TUNDRA

date de la mission canadienne : janvier 1959

Notes sur la mission :

En 1956, la Force d’urgence des Nations Unies a été créée avec des contingents provenant de 10 pays. La Finlande et l’Indonésie ont fourni des troupes pour une période limitée, de sorte qu’elles se sont retirées en décembre et en septembre 1957 respectivement. En décembre 1958, la Colombie a retiré son contingent, ce qui a entraîné un manque de personnel pour effectuer les tâches requises. Les Nations Unies ont entrepris de trouver des troupes de remplacement et ont demandé au Canada de fournir une compagnie de fusiliers. Ce renfort fourni par le Canada à la FUNU a pris le nom d’opération Tundra.

Le 28 janvier 1958, une réunion présidée par le Directeur général - Plans et opérations, de l’Armée de terre, s’est tenue à Ottawa. Le Chef d’état-major général avait ordonné que la compagnie de fusiliers soit fournie par le 2e Bataillon, The Royal Canadian Regiment (RCR). Le plan prévoyait l'affectation de 150 soldats sous réserve de l’approbation du Cabinet. En fin de compte, le Cabinet n’a pas approuvé la demande et aucun membre du 2 RCR n’a participé à un déploiement.