Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation United Nations Emergency Force I

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

United Nations Emergency Force I

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Emergency Force I

International Mission Name: United Nations Emergency Force I (UNEF I)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Middle East

Location: Sinai

Mission Date: 5 November 1956 - 17 June 1967

Mission Mandate:

UNEF I was established to secure and supervise the cessation of hostilities, including the withdrawal of the armed forces of France, Israel and the United Kingdom from Egyptian territory and, after the withdrawal, to serve as a buffer between the Egyptian and Israeli forces.

Canadians in International Mission Command Position: Major-General E.L.M. Burns

Mission/Operation Notes:

The State of Israel was created on 14 May 1948 following United Nations acceptance of the Palestine Partition plan embodied in Resolution 181 adopted on 29 November 1947. Despite having broad international support Israel was attacked by its neighbours on 15 May 1948. The fighting continued into 1949 until the United Nations managed to broker ceasefire or armistice agreements with most of the belligerents. These agreements brought neither peace nor stability to the Middle East, however, because they did not resolve a fundamental problem: how to provide permanent, secure, and viable homelands for the Palestinians and Israelis in a way acceptable to all within the limited territories available for that purpose. Tensions remained high; there were calls on the parts of some governments for Israel’s destruction; and when, in October 1956, Egypt, Jordan, and Syria announced the creation of a joint unified military command for their armed forces, the Israeli government was understandably alarmed.

At the same time, relations between Egypt and the United States, United Kingdom, and France were deteriorating over the issue of access to the Suez Canal. Britain had given up its right to defend the Canal Zone and withdrawn from the area in June 1956. Shortly thereafter, the United States and the UK declined to help Egypt finance the Aswan dam project. On 26 July, therefore, Egypt nationalised the Suez Canal, announcing that transit fees would be used to finance the Aswan project.

Britain and France both regarded Egypt’s seizure of the canal as a threat to their national security interests and as an attack on the rights of shareholders in the canal. By August they began planning an attack on Egypt to regain control of the Suez and, as part of a complex political manoeuvre, brought Israel into the plan as a co-belligerent.

Israel attacked Egypt on 29 October. Britain and France then intervened on 31 October, ostensibly to separate the Egyptian and Israeli forces and ensure free passage for shipping through the Canal until a peace could be brokered; but some suspected that the British and French invasion forces would not soon leave. At the United Nations, the United States and the Soviet Union began immediate efforts to force a cease-fire and an Israeli withdrawal. An Extraordinary Meeting of the General Assembly was convened on 1 November, approving a resolution calling for an immediate cease-fire. Fearing that any such cease-fire would be temporary, Lester Pearson, Canada’s Secretary of State for External Affairs, promoted the idea of a UN force to separate the two combatants and to allow (and encourage) the British and French forces to withdraw. This idea gradually took form in General Assembly Resolutions 998 to 1000 on 4-5 November, which established an international emergency force under United Nations Command - what would soon become the United Nations Emergency Force (UNEF) - and appointed Major-General E.L.M. Burns of Canada as the force commander.

UNEF’s mandate was to secure a cease-fire, supervise the withdrawal of foreign troops, and observe and patrol the armistice line. Militarily, UNEF was to prevent clashes between Egyptian and Israeli forces by interposing itself between the two sides. Despite the overwhelming support for Resolution 1000 in the UN General Assembly, Israel refused to allow UNEF forces onto its territory. Egypt agreed to their presence on Egyptian soil on condition that it was free to revoke its agreement at any time. It also insisted that UNEF troops stationed on Egyptian soil would have no authority over Egyptian territory or citizens.

Because UNEF would have to leave when asked to do so by Egypt - and Israel had not accepted its presence on Israeli territory -- it was not the fully consensual effort usually upheld as the ideal of typical ‘blue beret’ peacekeeping; but in other ways it set the standard for all future such missions. It was UNEF, for example, which initially adopted the light blue headdress now viewed as the universal symbol of UN operations. More important, the idea of an armed force interposing itself between two combatants to keep the peace was born here, at least in the post-Second World War context.

The first UN forces to arrive were from the United Nations Truce Supervisory Organization (UNTSO), which set up a temporary headquarters in Cairo from which to prepare for the UNEF forces. They arrived on 12 November and were followed on the 15th and 16th by Colombian, Danish and Norwegian forces who arrived in Egypt by air. By February 1957, UNEF comprised 6,073 personnel, from ten nations. This number decreased to 3,378 at the time of UNEF’s withdrawal in May 1967. Indonesia and Finland had agreed to short-term commitments and withdrew their forces in September and December 1957. The Colombians withdrew in December 1958.

UNEF achieved its first objective relatively quickly. Once sufficient personnel were in place, and after some prompting by General Burns, the British and French started withdrawing from the Canal Zone in mid-December and were gone completely by 22 December. The withdrawal of Israeli forces took a little longer, but they too were gone by 22 January except for areas along Sharm el-Sheikh and the Gaza Strip, their place being taken by UNEF troops. In the case of the former, Israel wished to ensure that Egypt would not re-impose a blockade on Israeli access once it reoccupied the territory along the Gulf of Aqaba, but following negotiations and discussions at the UN, Israel withdrew from Sharm el-Sheik between 8 and 12 March. Israel’s concerns about the Gaza Strip were related to its previous use as a staging point for guerrilla incursions into Israel. Again, after discussions, Israel withdrew from this area and UNEF forces entered the Gaza Strip on the night of 6/7 March.

By then, UNEF was already heavily engaged in clearing minefields, repairing roads damaged during the fighting, overseeing prisoner of war exchanges and providing security for the British and French warships that cleared the Suez Canal itself of mines. But the major task was to ensure that fighting did not break out again, and to that end UNEF manned some eighty observations posts, conducted mobile patrols, and carried out air surveillance of the frontier region.

For ten years UNEF had great success in keeping the Israeli-Egyptian frontier secure, and the number of incidents there paled in comparison with those occurring on Israel’s borders with Jordan and Syria. But by 1967 the level of tension throughout the region was rising (control of water in the headwaters of the Jordan River and increased terrorist activity directed against Israel from bases in Syria and Jordan were particular problems) and on 16 May 1967, as was his right, the Egyptian President ordered UNEF to leave his country. The Six-Day war began three weeks later, on 5 June, and fifteen UNEF personnel (fourteen Indian and one Brazilian) still in the Gaza Strip awaiting repatriation were killed as fighting occurred around them. When the war was over, Israel was left in possession of the entire Sinai peninsula, Gaza, the West Bank, and the Golan Heights, and UNTSO returned to the new Egyptian-Israeli frontier to resume its monitoring mission.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (United Nations Emergency Force I)

Name: United Nations Emergency Force I

Date: 6 November 1956 - 31 May 1967

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

The Canadian government naturally supported the Pearson UNEF proposal, and plans to contribute a Canadian contingent to UNEF were well underway before Resolution 1000 was formally adopted. It was assumed in Ottawa that Canada would send an infantry battalion - 1st Battalion, The Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada - but she had also been asked for support elements and an armoured reconnaissance squadron. The plan was designated Operation RAPID STEP, and because of the changes noted below, three quite separate contingencies end up being covered by that name. RAPID STEP 1 was the proposed deployment of 1 QOR; RAPID STEP 2 covered the actual force despatched between November 1956 and January 1957; and RAPID STEP 3 dealt with the armoured recce squadron sent in March 1957.

RAPID STEP 1 began on 7 November 1956, when the aircraft carrier HMCS Magnificent was ordered back to Halifax at best speed to serve as transport for the Canadian contingent. Arriving in Halifax on 13 November, she underwent a rapid transformation to allow army stores to be loaded, a task that was completed by 18 November. Awaiting the “Maggie” were the 950 men of 1 QOR who had been flown from Calgary to Halifax by 435 Squadron in a two-day period starting November 13th.

The Queen’s Own would not deploy once Egyptian President Gamal Abdel Nasser objected to their selection because - the story goes - their name was too British-sounding and their uniforms too British-looking. It has been suggested, however, that these were simply excuses, and that what was important to Nasser was that he be able to show to his own people that Egypt had not surrendered its sovereignty by accepting UNEF and that it could still exert national control by insisting upon certain conditions. In this interpretation, The Queen’s Own were simply a handy and a useful target. Whatever the reason - and it must be remembered not only that all Canadian Army uniforms at the time closely resembled British uniforms, but also that several Regiments and Corps in the Canadian Army carried the word Royal in their title - on 11 December Canada agreed that 1 QOR would not deploy, and Operation RAPID STEP 1 came to a close. Over the next week, all the embarked stores were disembarked.

In the meantime, General Burns had suggested that Canada should despatch logistics personnel, of which UNEF was desperately short, and his proposal was agreed to. Thus began RAPID STEP 2. Once again HMCS Magnificent was loaded with materiel and equipments and with nearly five hundred officers and men primarily from the Royal Canadian Corps of Signals, Royal Canadian Army Service Corps, Royal Canadian Ordnance Corps, and Royal Canadian Electrical and Mechanical Engineers as well as four de Havilland Otter aircraft of the Royal Canadian Air Force. She slipped her lines on 29 December and departed for the Middle East, arriving off Port Said on 12 January 1957. In the meantime, RCAF Transport Command airlifted the remaining personnel to Italy beginning 21 November and then, in Operation READY LIFT, began ferrying Canadian and other UN personnel to Abu Suweir, Egypt. North Stars from 426 Squadron made the trans-Atlantic crossing, while C-119 Boxcars crewed by 435 and 436 Squadrons flew across the Mediterranean. Twelve Boxcars were eventually committed to the task, and by the end of December they had carried 1712 passengers and 306 tons of freight.

Eight of the C119s returned to Canada in January, but the RCAF maintained a strong presence in the area with four Boxcars of what was now designated No 114 Communications Flight as well as the two Dakotas and four Otters No 115 Communications Flight. The former, now renamed No 114 Air Transport Unit, left for Canada in January 1958, while the Dakotas of No 115 Air Transport Unit were eventually replaced by DHC-4 Caribou. These, like all the other aircraft deployed with UNEF, had their Canadian markings muted or removed altogether, to be replaced by the words United Nations on the sides of the fuselage.

The land component, meanwhile, was organised in four newly created units reflecting the functional nature of the Canadian commitment: 56 Canadian Signal Squadron, 56 Canadian Transport Company, 56 Canadian Infantry Workshop and Canadian Base Units, Middle East. Subsequently, when it was found that UNEF lacked a light reconnaissance capability, 56 Canadian Recce Squadron, formed largely from Lord Strathcona’s Horse (Royal Canadians) and The Royal Canadian Dragoons, was created and despatched under the designation RAPID STEP 3. It deployed to the Middle East in March 1957, and with its arrival the strength of CANUNEF stood at 1007, all ranks. Its initial task was to occupy a buffer zone between the Egyptian Army and the Anglo-French forces waiting to withdraw. The first to enter this zone were engineers who, from 1 December 1956, began the risky job of clearing mines. Once the foreign forces had withdrawn from Egypt, the main tasks of the Canadians were to conduct reconnaissance, monitor the armistice line, investigate violations and maintain a “UN” presence. 115 ATU meanwhile conducted aerial reconnaissance flights, resupplied UNEF troops, and transported UNEF senior personnel to meetings in Egypt and Israel.

In time UNEF’s presence produced sufficient stability on the Sinai frontier to allow the UN to reduce its size. The Canadian Recce Squadron was not replaced at the end of its 1966 tour, while the amalgamation of the infantry workshop and transport company into Canadian Base Unit (UNEF) in October 1963 had already reduced Canada’s commitment to 780 personnel.

When Egypt demanded that UNEF leave its territory on 16 May 1967, Canada was among the countries that tried to persuade President Nasser to rescind his request. But when these attempts proved fruitless, the UN had to react, and withdrawal was the only course of action. The RCAF began to evacuate the Canadian contingent on 29 May, finishing the job two days later. The Six Day War began on 5 June.

The United Nations presence in the Middle East was not able to prevent the outbreak of war in 1967, but it does not follow that UNEF itself had failed. Rather, in a region alive with tension, UNEF had managed to make the Sinai perhaps the most secure and stable frontier area of all, and that was no minor accomplishment. Thirty-one Canadians died on UNEF service, most in vehicular accidents.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Force d'urgence des Nations Unies I

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Force d'urgence des Nations Unies I

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Force d'urgence des Nations Unies I

Nom de la mission internationale: Force d’urgence des Nations Unies I (FUNU I)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Moyen-Orient

Lieu: Sinaï

Date: 5 novembre 1956 - 17 juin 1967

Mandat de la mission :

La Force d’urgence des Nations Unies (FUNU I) a été établie pour garantir et superviser la cessation des hostilités et le retrait des forces armées françaises, israéliennes et britanniques du territoire égyptien et pour ensuite servir de tampon entre les forces égyptiennes et israéliennes.

Canadien(s) dans un poste de commandement de la mission internationale: Major-General E.L.M. Burns

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

L’État d’Israël a été créé le 14 mai 1948 après l’approbation par les Nations Unies du Plan de partage de la Palestine concrétisée dans la résolution 181 adoptée le 29 novembre 1947. Malgré l’immense soutien international, Israël s’est fait attaquer par ses voisins le 15 mai 1948. Les combats se sont poursuivis jusqu’en 1949, année où les Nations Unies sont intervenues pour établir un cessez-le-feu ou un armistice avec la plupart des belligérants. Ces accords n’ont cependant apporté ni paix ni stabilité au Moyen-Orient, car ils n’ont pas réglé un problème fondamental : assurer aux Palestiniens, tout comme aux Israéliens, des territoires permanents, sûrs et utilisables, d’une façon acceptable par tous dans les limites des terres réservées à cet effet. Les tensions sont demeurées élevées : certains gouvernements ont même appelé à la destruction d’Israël. Et quand, en octobre 1956, l’Égypte, la Jordanie et la Syrie ont annoncé la création d’un commandement militaire interarmées unifié pour leurs forces, le gouvernement israélien a été naturellement alarmé.

Par ailleurs, les relations de l’Égypte avec les États-Unis, le Royaume-Uni et la France se détérioraient à cause de la question de l’accès au canal de Suez. La Grande-Bretagne avait renoncé à son droit de défendre le canal et s’en était retirée en juin 1956. Peu de temps après, les États-Unis et le Royaume-Uni ont refusé d’aider l’Égypte à financer son projet du barrage d’Assouan. Par conséquent, l’Égypte a nationalisé le canal le 26 juillet et a annoncé que les frais de traversée seraient utilisés pour le financement du projet.

La Grande-Bretagne et la France ont toutes deux considéré la saisie du canal par l’Égypte comme une menace à leur sécurité nationale et une atteinte aux droits des actionnaires du canal. En août, elles ont commencé à planifier une attaque contre l’Égypte pour reprendre le contrôle du canal de Suez et, dans le cadre d'une manœuvre politique complexe, elles ont fait participer Israël à leur plan comme cobelligérant.

Israël a attaqué l’Égypte le 29 octobre. La Grande-Bretagne et la France sont ensuite intervenues le 31 octobre, sous prétexte de séparer les forces égyptiennes et israéliennes et d’assurer aux bateaux la traversée gratuite du canal en attendant de conclure un accord de paix; mais certains se sont doutés que la présence des forces britanniques et françaises se prolongerait plus que prévu. Aux Nations Unies, les États-Unis et l’Union soviétique ont immédiatement entamé des négociations pour imposer le cessez-le-feu et le retrait d’Israël. L’Assemblée générale a organisé une réunion extraordinaire le 1er novembre et a approuvé une résolution appelant à un cessez-le-feu immédiat. De crainte qu’un tel cessez-le-feu ne dure pas, Lester Pearson, secrétaire d’État aux Affaires extérieures de l’époque au Canada, a favorisé l’idée d’une intervention de l’ONU pour séparer les deux camps et aider (et inciter) les forces britanniques et françaises à se retirer. Cette idée s’est progressivement exprimée dans les résolutions 998 à 1000 de l’Assemblée générale, adoptées les 4 et 5 novembre. Ces résolutions ont établi une force d’urgence internationale sous le commandement des Nations Unies - qui allait très vite devenir la Force d’urgence des Nations Unies (FUNU). Le Major-général E.L.M. Burns, du Canada, a été nommé commandant de la Force aux termes de ces résolutions.

La FUNU avait pour mandat d’assurer un cessez-le-feu, de superviser le retrait des troupes étrangères et d’observer et patrouiller la ligne de cessez le feu. Sur le plan militaire, la FUNU devait s’interposer pour prévenir les conflits entre les forces égyptiennes et israéliennes. En dépit du soutien écrasant à l'égard de la résolution 1000 à l’Assemblée générale de l’ONU, Israël a interdit son territoire à la FUNU. L’Égypte, par contre, a permis sa présence sur son sol à condition qu’elle puisse revenir sur sa décision quand elle le voulait. Elle a insisté également sur le fait que la présence des troupes de la FUNU ne leur conférait aucune autorité sur le territoire égyptien ni sur les citoyens.

À cause de la condition imposée à la FUNU par l'Égypte - et parce qu’Israël avait refusé sa présence sur son territoire -, ce scénario ne représentait pas tout à fait les efforts conventionnels idéaux typiques des « bérets bleus ». Mais, à d’autres égards, cette situation a permis d'établir les normes pour les futures missions de ce genre. C’est la FUNU, par exemple, qui a adopté la première la coiffure militaire bleue considérée de nos jours comme le symbole universel des opérations de l’ONU. Plus important encore, l’idée d’une force armée intervenant entre deux combattants pour maintenir la paix est née là, du moins dans le contexte de l’après-guerre.

Les premières forces onusiennes qui ont débarqué venaient de l’Organisme des Nations Unies chargé de la surveillance de la trêve (ONUST), qui a provisoirement installé son quartier général au Caire, depuis lequel il se préparerait à l’arrivée des forces de la FUNU. Celles-ci sont arrivées le 12 novembre et ont été suivies, les 15 et 16, par les forces colombiennes, danoises et norvégiennes, venues en Égypte par avion. En février 1957, la FUNU avait rassemblé 6 073 militaires de 10 nations. Ce nombre a chuté à 3 378 après le retrait de la FUNU en mai 1967. L’Indonésie et la Finlande avaient accepté d’écourter leurs engagements et avaient retiré leurs forces en septembre et décembre 1957. Les Colombiens se sont retirés en décembre 1958.

La FUNU a atteint son premier objectif assez vite. Une fois le personnel requis en poste, et après une incitation du Général Burns, les Britanniques et les Français ont commencé à se retirer du canal à la mi-décembre et, au 22 décembre, ils étaient tous partis. Le retrait des forces israéliennes a été un peu plus long, mais elles aussi avaient définitivement quitté les lieux le 22 janvier, sauf dans les zones le long de Charm el-Cheikh et de la bande de Gaza, leur place ayant été occupée par les troupes de la FUNU. Dans ce dernier cas, Israël voulait s’assurer que l’Égypte ne réimposerait pas de blocus sur son accès au territoire qui longe le golfe d’Akaba une fois réoccupé, mais à la suite de négociations à l’ONU, Israël s’est retiré de Charm el-Cheikh entre le 8 et le 12 mars. Les préoccupations de l’État hébreu au sujet de la bande de Gaza s’expliquaient par le fait qu’elle avait déjà constitué un point de relais pour les intrusions des guérilléros en Israël. Mais là encore, après des négociations, les troupes israéliennes se sont retirées de la région et les forces de la FUNU y sont entrées la nuit du 6 au 7 mars.

À ce stade, la FUNU s’était déjà appliquée à déminer les champs, à restaurer les routes endommagées durant le combat, à surveiller les échanges de prisonniers de guerre et à couvrir les navires de guerre britanniques et français qui déminaient le canal de Suez lui-même. Mais la plus importante tâche consistait à s’assurer que le combat n’éclaterait pas de nouveau et, à cette fin, la FUNU a affecté des troupes à quelque 80 postes d’observation, a effectué des patrouilles mobiles et a assuré la surveillance aérienne de la frontière.

Pendant 10 ans, la FUNU a réussi à assurer la sécurité à la frontière égypto-israélienne, et le nombre d’incidents à cet endroit était faible par rapport à tous ceux qui se produisaient à la frontière d’Israël avec la Jordanie et la Syrie. Mais, en 1967, le niveau de tensions dans la région s'accroissait (le contrôle des eaux du cours supérieur du Jourdain et la montée des activités terroristes contre Israël menées à partir de bases en Syrie et en Jordanie étaient particulièrement inquiétants). Le 16 mai 1967, comme c’était son droit, le Président égyptien a ordonné à la FUNU de quitter le pays. La guerre des Six Jours a éclaté trois semaines plus tard, soit le 5 juin, et 15 membres de la FUNU (14 Indiens et un Brésilien), restés dans la bande de Gaza en attendant d’être rapatriés, ont été tués au cours des combats. À la fin de la guerre, Israël avait pris possession de toute la péninsule du Sinaï, de Gaza, de la Cisjordanie et du plateau du Golan. L’ONUST est donc retourné à la nouvelle frontière égypto-israélienne pour reprendre sa mission de contrôle.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Force d'urgence des Nations Unies I)

Nom: Force d'urgence des Nations Unies I

Date: 6 novembre 1956 - 31 mai 1967

Historique de la mission:

Le gouvernement canadien avait naturellement soutenu la proposition de M. Pearson à la FUNU et avait planifié l’envoi d’un contingent canadien auprès de celle-ci bien avant que la résolution 1000 ne soit adoptée officiellement. À Ottawa, on supposait que le Canada enverrait un bataillon d’infanterie - 1er Bataillon, The Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada (1 QOR) -, mais on lui avait également demandé des éléments de soutien et un escadron blindé de reconnaissance. Le plan a été baptisé opération Rapid Step et, à cause des changements indiqués plus loin, trois éléments de contingence complètement distincts avaient fini par être regroupés sous ce même nom : Rapid Step 1 était l’opération proposée pour le déploiement du 1 QOR; Rapid Step 2 a été confiée à la force envoyée entre novembre 1956 et janvier 1957; et Rapid Step 3 était l’opération de l'escadron blindé de reconnaissance affecté en mars 1957.

L’opération Rapid Step 1 a commencé le 7 novembre 1956 lorsque le porte-avions NCSM Magnificent a reçu l’ordre de revenir à Halifax à toute vitesse pour transporter le contingent canadien. Arrivé à destination le 13 novembre, il a subi une transformation rapide pour permettre le chargement du matériel militaire. La tâche a été achevée le 18 novembre. Les 950 hommes du 1 QOR, qui avaient été transportés de Calgary le 13 novembre par le 435e Escadron et qui étaient arrivés à Halifax deux jours plus tard, attendaient le « Maggie ».

Le Queen’s Own Rifles ne s’était pas déployé parce que le président égyptien, Gamal Abdel Nasser, s’était opposé à sa sélection, car - d’après les rumeurs - son nom était de consonance trop britannique et les uniformes de ses membres ressemblaient trop à ceux des Britanniques. On a soutenu, cependant, qu’il s’agissait là de simples excuses et que l’important pour le président Abdel Nasser était de montrer à son peuple que l’Égypte n’avait pas renoncé à sa souveraineté en acceptant la présence de la FUNU sur son territoire et qu’elle pouvait toujours exercer le contrôle national en imposant certaines conditions. Dans ce sens, le Queen’s Own Rifles étaient simplement une cible utile et à portée de la main. Peu importe la raison, - et il ne faut pas oublier non seulement que tous les uniformes de l’Armée canadienne à l’époque ressemblaient beaucoup à ceux des Britanniques, mais aussi que le nom de plusieurs corps et régiments canadiens comprenait le mot « royal » - le 11 décembre, le Canada a convenu que le 1 QOR ne se déploierait pas et que l'opération Rapid Step 1 était arrivée à sa fin. La semaine suivante, tout le matériel chargé a été déchargé.

Par ailleurs, le Général Burns avait suggéré que le Canada envoie du personnel de la logistique, dont la FUNU avait grand besoin. Sa proposition a été acceptée. Ainsi a commencé l’opération Rapid Step 2. Le NCSM Magnificent a été de nouveau chargé de matériel et d’équipements et il comptait près de 500 officiers et hommes à bord, issus principalement du Corps royal canadien des transmissions, du Corps royal de l’intendance de l’Armée canadienne, du Corps royal canadien des magasins militaires et du Corps royal canadien des ingénieurs électriciens et mécaniciens, ainsi que quatre avions De Havilland Otter de l’Aviation royale du Canada (ARC). Il a levé l’ancre le 29 décembre en direction du Moyen-Orient. Il est arrivé à Port-Saïd le 12 janvier 1957. Pendant ce temps, le Commandement du transport de l’ARC a transporté en Italie les derniers membres du personnel à partir du 21 novembre et ensuite, lors de l’opération Ready Lift, il a commencé à transporter du personnel canadien et d'autre personnel onusien au port d'Abu Suweir, en Égypte. Des avions North Star du 426e Escadron ont été envoyés du Canada, tandis que des C119 Boxcar dont l’équipage était composé des membres du 435e Escadron et du 436e Escadron ont été envoyés depuis l’Europe. Douze Boxcar ont été finalement consacrés au transport et, à la fin du mois de décembre, ils avaient transporté 1 712 passagers et 306 tonnes de matériel.

Huit des C119 sont rentrés au Canada en janvier, mais l’ARC a maintenu une présence marquée dans la région avec quatre Boxcar qui faisaient partie de ce qu’on appelait alors la 114e Escadrille de communication ainsi que les deux Dakota et les quatre Otter de la 115e Escadrille de communication. La première, devenue la 114e Unité de transport aérien, est rentrée au Canada en janvier 1958, alors que les Dakota de la 115e Unité de transport aérien ont été finalement remplacés par les DHC-4 Caribou. Leurs marques distinctives canadiennes, comme celles de tous les autres aéronefs déployés avec la FUNU, ont été remplacées par les mots Nations Unies sur les côtés du fuselage.

La composante terrestre, par ailleurs, a été structurée en quatre nouvelles unités reflétant le côté fonctionnel de l’engagement canadien : le 56e Escadron canadien des transmissions, la 56e Compagnie canadienne de transport, le 56e Atelier d’infanterie du Canada et les unités des bases canadiennes au Moyen-Orient. Par la suite, lorsqu’on s'est rendu compte que la FUNU manquait d’une capacité légère de reconnaissance, le 56e Escadron de reconnaissance du Canada, formé en majorité du Lord Strathcona’s Horse (Royal Canadians) et du Royal Canadian Dragoons, a été créé et envoyé sous le nom d'opération Rapid Step 3. Il s’est déployé au Moyen-Orient en mars 1957 et, avec son arrivée, l'effectif de la force du Contingent canadien de la Force d’urgence des Nations Unies (CANUNEF) a été porté à 1 007 militaires de tous grades. Sa tâche initiale était d’occuper une zone tampon entre l’armée égyptienne et les forces françaises et britanniques attendant de se retirer. Ce sont des membres du génie qui ont été les premiers à pénétrer dans cette zone et qui ont commencé les opérations risquées de déminage à partir du 1er décembre 1956. Une fois les forces étrangères retirées d’Égypte, les Canadiens devaient principalement s’occuper de la reconnaissance, de la surveillance de la ligne de cessez-le-feu, des enquêtes sur les violations et du maintien de la présence de l'ONU. La 115e Unité de transport aérien a par ailleurs effectué des vols de reconnaissance aérienne, ravitaillé les troupes de la FUNU et transporté les hauts responsables de la FUNU à des réunions en Égypte et en Israël.

Avec le temps, la FUNU a réussi à assurer une stabilité suffisante à la frontière du Sinaï pour permettre à l’ONU de réduire l’effectif de la Force. L’Escadron de reconnaissance du Canada n’a pas été remplacé à la fin de son affectation de 1966, tandis que la fusion de l’atelier d’infanterie et de la compagnie de transport pour constituer l’unité de base canadienne (FUNU) en octobre 1963 avait déjà réduit l'effectif canadien à 780 personnes.

Lorsque l’Égypte a exigé que la FUNU quitte son territoire le 16 mai 1967, le Canada faisait partie des pays qui avaient essayé de convaincre le président Abdel Nasser de revenir sur sa décision. Mais ces interventions avaient échoué. L’ONU s’était donc vue obligée d’agir et le retrait était la seule chose à faire. L’ARC a commencé à évacuer le contingent canadien le 29 mai et a achevé le retrait deux jours plus tard. La guerre des Six Jours a éclaté le 5 juin.

La présence des Nations Unies au Moyen-Orient n'a pu empêcher le déclenchement de la guerre en 1967, mais cela ne signifie pas que la mission de la FUNU a échoué. Au contraire, elle a réussi à faire du Sinaï, région où la tension était forte, la région frontalière peut-être la plus stable et la plus sûre de toutes, ce qui est tout de même un exploit d'importance. Trente et un Canadiens ont perdu la vie au service de la FUNU, la plupart dans des accidents de la route.