Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation United Nations Observer Group in Lebanon

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

United Nations Observer Group in Lebanon

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Observer Group in Lebanon

International Mission Name: United Nations Observer Group in Lebanon (UNOGIL)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Middle East

Location: Lebanon

Mission Date: 14 June 1958 - 9 December 1958

Mission Mandate:

United Nations Security Council Resolution 128(SCR 128/1958)

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (United Nations Observer Group in Lebanon)

Name: United Nations Observer Group in Lebanon

Date: 21 June 1958 - 24 December 1958

Canadian Task Force Name Abbreviation: UNOGIL

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement:

To ensure that there is no illegal infiltration of personnel or supply of arms or other materiel across the Lebanese borders.

Mission Notes:

Lebanon was a troubled country in 1958. Not only was there dissatisfaction with its sectarian based political structure, but there was also evidence that the newly created United Arab Republic of Egypt and Syria was supplying arms and agents to dissident factions. Civil war seemed imminent. Responding to a call from President Camille Chamoun, on 11 June 1958 the Security Council authorized the Secretary General to create an observer group to “ensure that there is no illegal infiltration of personnel or supply of arms or other materiel across the Lebanese borders”.

Despite its mandate, which included the words “to ensure,” UNOGIL’s role was strictly limited to observation and analysis: it had no authority to take action to prevent illegal infiltration or to arbitrate local disputes. However, the belief in New York was that a quick UN response would have an effect in and of itself, and to that end Secretary General Dag Hammarskjold requested UNTSO to provide UNOGIL’s initial personnel. Accordingly, nine officers, including one Canadian, were made available and were in Beirut by 15 June; but the task of patrolling 278 miles of the Lebanon-Syria border was clearly beyond such a small group. UNOGIL grew in size, with Canada dispatching ten additional officers by 21 June. Seven more were dispatched in August, as UNOGIL’s strength was increased to two hundred in order to cope with an even more perplexing situation resulting from Lebanon’s direct request to the United States to provide American troops outside the UN framework to help prevent the outbreak of a civil war and to counter new threats based in Iraq and Jordan. They landed in mid-July, but their presence was not entirely helpful given American relations with some of Lebanon’s neighbours.

In an effort to expedite and smooth the withdrawal of the Americans, whose presence had clearly added to the tension, Hammarskjold recommended that the UNOGIL establishment be increased to five hundred, and to that end Canada provided an additional fifty-six officers and men. Other countries also increased their commitments, and accordingly It was in mid-November 1958 that UNMOGIL reached its peak strength of 591 personnel from twenty-countries manning forty-nine positions, manning eighteen surveillance aircraft and employing 290 vehicles for ground patrols.

By 9 December the mission was largely over. The elections that had been held in July brought forward an administration that was acceptable to most factions; the Americans left Beirut on 25 October; normal diplomatic relations were being restored with the United Arab Republic; and on 17 November, the Lebanese government requested that UNOGIL be disbanded. UNOGIL itself made the same recommendation. As a result, the first Canadians left a week later and all had returned to Canada by Christmas.

The Canadian contingent to UNOGIL numbered 77: 71 officers and 6 non-commissioned officers. One of the officers, a lieutenant-colonel, was in charge of UNOGIL’s ground operations. A further two officers and two NCOs on loan from UNTSO and UNEF also served with UNOGIL.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Groupe d'observation des Nations Unies au Liban

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Groupe d'observation des Nations Unies au Liban

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Groupe d'observation des Nations unies au Liban

Nom de la mission internationale: Groupe d’observation des Nations unies au Liban (GONUL)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Moyen-Orient

Lieu: Liban

Date: 14 juin 1958 - 9 décembre 1958

Mandat de la mission :

Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies, résolution 128 (1958)

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Groupe d'observation des Nations Unies au Liban)

Nom: Groupe d'observation des Nations Unies au Liban

Date: 6/21/1958 - 12/24/1958

Abréviation de la Force opérationnelle canadienne: GONUL

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Faire en sorte qu’il n’y ait aucune infiltration ou envoi d’armes ou d’autre matériel aux frontières libanaises.

Historique de la mission :

Le Liban était un pays en difficulté en 1958. Non seulement sa structure politique basée sur les confessions suscitait-elle l’insatisfaction, mais des preuves indiquaient que la nouvelle République arabe unie d’Égypte et Syrie envoyaient des armes et des agents aux factions dissidentes. Une guerre civile semblait imminente. Répondant à l’appel du président Camille Chamoun, le 11 juin 1958, le Conseil de sécurité a autorisé le secrétaire général à créer un groupe d’observation pour « faire en sorte qu’il n’y ait aucune infiltration illégale de personnel ou envoi illégal d’armes ou d’autre matériel aux frontières libanaises ».

Malgré son mandat, qui comprenait l’expression « faire en sorte que », le Groupe d’observation des Nations unies au Liban (GONUL) devait se limiter à des fonctions d’observation et d’analyse : il n’avait aucun pouvoir d’intervention pour empêcher les infiltrations illégales ou pour régler des différends locaux. New York était toutefois d’avis qu’une réaction rapide de l’Organisation des Nations unies (ONU) aurait un effet en soi. Aussi le secrétaire général Dag Hammarskjöld a-t-il demandé à l’Organisme des Nations unies chargé de la surveillance de la trêve (ONUST) de fournir le personnel initial du GONUL. Neuf officiers, y compris un Canadien, ont été mis en disponibilité et se sont donc rendus à Beyrouth avant le 15 juin; la surveillance de la frontière libano-syrienne, qui s’étendait sur 447 kilomètres, dépassait toutefois la capacité d’un groupe aussi restreint. Le GONUL a vu sa taille augmenter, le Canada lui accordant dix officiers de plus au 21 juin. Sept officiers supplémentaires ont été envoyés en août, alors que l’effectif du GONUL atteignait deux cents membres, pour mieux composer avec une situation devenue plus complexe avec la demande du Liban aux États-Unis d’envoyer des troupes, à l’extérieur du cadre de l’ONU, pour empêcher l’éclatement d’une guerre civile et contrer les nouvelles menaces qui s’exerçaient sur le pays en Iraq et en Jordanie. Les troupes américaines étaient là à la mi-juillet, mais leur présence n’était pas des plus utiles en raison des relations entre les États-Unis et les voisins du Liban.

Afin d’accélérer et de faciliter le retrait des Américains, dont la présence n’avait manifestement fait qu’ajouter de l’huile sur le feu, Hammarskjöld a suggéré d’augmenter l’effectif du GONUL à cinq cents membres, d’où l’envoi de 56 autres officiers et hommes par le Canada. D’autres pays ont aussi accru leur engagement, de sorte que, à la mi-novembre 1958, le GONUL comptait 591 militaires de 20 pays, qui occupaient 49 positions et auxquels avaient été affectés 18 avions de surveillance et 290 véhicules pour les patrouilles sur le terrain.

Le 9 décembre, il était évident que la mission était terminée : les élections qui avaient eu lieu en juillet avaient permis de porter au pouvoir une administration acceptable à la plupart des factions; les Américains avaient quitté Beyrouth le 25 octobre; des relations diplomatiques normales avaient été rétablies avec la République arabe unie. Aussi, le 17 novembre, le gouvernement libanais a demandé la dissolution du GONUL, qui avait formulé une recommandation semblable. Une semaine plus tard, des Canadiens revenaient au pays, et tous étaient de retour avant Noël.

Le contingent canadien dans le GONUL s'est élevé à 77 militaires : 71 officiers et 6 sous-officiers. L’un des officiers, un lieutenant-colonel, était le responsable des opérations sur le terrain du GONUL. Deux autres officiers ainsi que deux sous-officiers prêtés par l’ONUST et la Force d’urgence des Nations unies (FUNU) ont aussi servi avec le GONUL.