Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation UNARMED WARRIOR

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation UNARMED WARRIOR

International Mission Name: Operation UNARMED WARRIOR

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Europe; Middle East

Location: Germany; Iraq

Mission Date: 10 January 1991 - 9 March 1991

Mandate:

To create a new unit, 4 Canadian Medical Group to served as an evacuation company in Germany under the direction of US Army.

Mission Notes:

Casualties from the Gulf War were airlifted to Europe and sent to local hospitals. From late December 1990, US Forces in Europe (USFE) had been seeking additional ambulance assistance, and on 2 January 1991 the Commander USFE asked the Commander Canadian Forces Europe (CFE) for help, reminding him that Canadian casualties would also benefit. NDHQ approved the participation of Canadian personnel.

Dubbed Operation UNARMED WARRIOR, the operation started on 10 January and involved the creation of a new unit, 4 Canadian Medical Group (4 CMG), consisting of and supported primarily by personnel from 4 Field Ambulance and 4 Service Battalion in CFE. 4 CMG served as an evacuation company under the direction of 421 (US) Evacuation Battalion, operating from the US base at Ramstein, and under the tactical command of the 7 (US) Medical Command.

The total strength of 4 CMG was 175 personnel and included seven multi-purpose buses, 10 Mercedes Benz ambulances and two 1 ½ ton field ambulances. 4 CMG could provide 154 spaces at a time for stretcher patients and walking wounded. Because of the superior quality of the Mercedes ambulances, they were the first choice for transporting casualties who did not require air transport within Europe.

With the ceasefire ending the Gulf War, the Canadians returned to CFB Lahr between 4 and 9 March. Other NATO forces assumed the responsibilities vacated by the Canadians.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) UNARMED WARRIOR

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération UNARMED WARRIOR

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération UNARMED WARRIOR

Organisme responsable: Organisation des Nations Unies

Région géographique: Europe; Moyen-Orient

Lieu: Allemagne; Iraq

Date: 10 janvier 1991 - 9 mars 1991

Mandat:

Faire appliquer les résolutions 660 (2 août 1990), 661 (6 août 1990), 665 (25 août 1990) et 678 (29 novembre 1990) du Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU en Irak et retirer les troupes irakiennes du Koweït.

Notes sur la mission:

Les blessés étaient aéroportés du Golfe vers l’Europe, puis envoyés dans des hôpitaux locaux. Vers la fin décembre 1990, les Forces américaines en Europe ont commencé à rechercher une assistance ambulancière supplémentaire. Aussi, le 2 janvier 1991, leur commandant a demandé aux Forces canadiennes Europe (FCE) de leur prêter main forte, en leur rappelant que les victimes canadiennes en profiteraient aussi. Le Quartier général de la Défense nationale a approuvé la participation du personnel canadien.

Lancée le 10 janvier, l’opération nommée Unarmed Warrior a nécessité la création d’une nouvelle unité, le 4e groupe médical du Canada (4e GMC), essentiellement composé et appuyé du personnel de la 4e ambulance de campagne et du 4e bataillon de services des FCE. Le 4e GMC a servi de compagnie d’évacuation sous la direction du 421e bataillon d’évacuation (É.-U.), qui opérait à partir de la base américaine de Ramstein, elle-même sous la supervision tactique du 7e commandement médical (É.-U.).

L’effectif total du 4e GMC comptait 175 militaires. On lui avait affecté sept autobus polyvalents, 10 ambulances Mercedes Benz et deux ambulances de campagne d’une tonne et demie. Le 4e GMC pouvait recevoir 154 patients sur civière et blessés légers. En raison de leur qualité supérieure, les ambulances Mercedes étaient préférées pour le transport des blessés qui n’avaient pas besoin d’être aéroportés en Europe.

Avec le cessez-le-feu qui a mis fin à la guerre du Golfe, les Canadiens sont rentrés à la base des Forces canadiennes de Lahr entre le 4 et le 9 mars. D’autres forces de l’OTAN ont alors assumé les responsabilités abandonnées par les Canadiens.