Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation VAGABOND

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

(Left) MWO Eyres, Supr OR Bor, CFB Petawawa, and
WO. Hogan check the files of personnel being
processed through the Departure Assistance Group
(DAG) prior to their deployment in Iran/Iraq with

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Iran-Iraq Military Observer Group

International Mission Name: United Nations Iran-Iraq Military Observer Group (UNIIMOG)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Middle East

Location: Iran and Iraq

Mission Date: 20 August 1988 - 28 February 1991

Mission Mandate:

Established to verify, confirm and supervise the cease-fire and the withdrawal of all forces to the internationally recognized boundaries, pending a comprehensive settlement.

Mission/Operation Notes:

Iran and Iraq began what would become an eight-year war in September 1980 - a war in which neither side was able to gain a lasting advantage. Although conducted mainly on land, at sea the operations conducted by the two sides had implications for the entire Arabian Gulf region (and, indeed, international commerce and the world economy) during the so-called “Tanker War”, when attacks on each other’s shipping threatened to disrupt the flow of oil in a major way. Because of these broader implications, it was during this period that the United Nations began to work to bring resolution to the conflict. In 1984, for example, the UN established a presence in both Baghdad and Teheran when it seconded two teams of three officers from personnel tasked to the United Nations Truce Supervision Organization (UNTSO), and one senior official of the United Nations Secretariat.

In time, the UN’s diplomatic efforts paid dividends. In July 1987 the Secretary General was able to engage the Security Council in the peacemaking process, and within six days it generated a plan through Resolution 598 to arrange a cease-fire and a subsequent withdrawal of all forces to the internationally recognised borders between Iraq and Iran. The United Nations Iran-Iraq Military Observer Group (UNIIMOG) would monitor compliance and chair a dispute resolution group - but due to intransigence on both sides, in the end the latter would meet only once.

Top of Page

Canadian Forces (CF) Information (VAGABOND)


Date: 8 August 1988 - 28 February 1991

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Under the designation Operation VAGABOND, Canada announced that it would contributed to UNIIMOG on 8 August 1988. Just two days later, a reconnaissance party of five left for the operational area; the entire contingent, including fifteen UNMOs and a communications unit of approximately five hundred soldiers and 150 vehicles would follow soon thereafter.

The UNMOs were to establish the cease-fire lines, monitor compliance with the cease-fire, investigate any violations of the same and supervise the withdrawal of all Iranian and Iraqi military forces to their own territory. The communications unit - 88 Canadian Signals Squadron - was formed specifically for this operation, primarily from troops based at Canadian Forces Bases Petawawa and Kingston. Its task was to set up a communications system in both Iran and Iraq for use by UNIIMOG civilian staff members. By March 1989 the Canadian signallers had completed their task and were on their way back to Canada.

In January 1991, the two parties agreed to convene a technical meeting of military experts to discuss and resolve the issue of disputed positions along the internationally recognized borders between the countries. By the end of the month the Iranian Army had withdrawn from thirteen of seventeen disputed positions and Iraq had left twenty-three of twenty-nine such positions - all under the watchful eyes of the UNMOs. With UNIIMOG’s mandate about to expire, the Secretary General recommended that it be extended one month to allow supervision of the withdrawal of the belligerent forces from the remaining positions. That occurred in Iran, but before the work could be completed in Iraq the UN had to withdraw its forces because of the impending conflict following Iraq’s invasion of Kuwait.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) VAGABOND

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

VAGABOND
(À gauche) L’Adjum Eyres, superv SRB, BFC Petawawa,
et l’Adj Hogan vérifient les dossiers du personnel
traités par l’entremise du Groupe d’aide au départ
(GAD) avant le déploiement des militaires en Iran/Iraq
auprès de la GOMNUII.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Groupe d'observateurs militaires des Nations Unies pour l'Iran et l'Iraq

Nom de la mission internationale: Groupe d'observateurs militaires des Nations Unies pour l'Iran et l'Iraq (GOMNUII)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Moyen-Orient

Lieu: Iran et Iraq

Date: 20 août 1988 - 28 février 1991

Mandat de la mission:

Vérifier, confirmer et surveiller l’application du cessez le feu et le retrait de toutes les forces de part et d'autre des limites reconnues internationalement en attendant un règlement global.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

L’Iran et l’Iraq ont entamé en septembre 1980 une guerre qui allait durer huit ans et dans laquelle ni l’un ni l’autre camp n’a réussi à obtenir un avantage durable. Même s’il s’agissait surtout d’affrontements terrestres, les actions navales des deux camps ont eu des répercussions pour l’ensemble de la région du golfe Persique (et, par ricochet, sur le commerce international et l’économie mondiale) pendant la soi disant « guerre des pétroliers », lorsque les attaques réciproques contre la marine marchande adverse laissaient appréhender une grave interruption des approvisionnements en pétrole. Étant donné les implications à grande échelle, c’est durant cette période que l’ONU a commencé à chercher des solutions pour résoudre le conflit. Ainsi, en 1984, l’ONU s’est établie à la fois à Bagdad et à Téhéran en y envoyant deux équipes de trois officiers membres du personnel affecté à l’Organisme des Nations Unies chargé de la surveillance de la trêve (ONUST), et un haut responsable du Secrétariat des Nations Unies.

Les efforts diplomatiques de l’ONU ont fini par porter leurs fruits. En juillet 1987, le Secrétaire général a pu obtenir la participation du Conseil de sécurité au processus de rétablissement de la paix; en moins de six jours, le Conseil a élaboré un plan présenté dans la résolution 598 permettant la conclusion d’un cessez le feu et le retrait subséquent de toutes les forces en lice de part et d'autre des frontières entre l’Iraq et l’Iran reconnues internationalement. Le Groupe d’observateurs militaires des Nations Unies pour l’Iran et l’Iraq (GOMNUII) devait surveiller l’application du cessez-le-feu et présider un groupe de règlement des litiges; toutefois, à cause de l’intransigeance des deux camps, celui ci ne s’est réuni qu’une seule fois.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (VAGABOND)

Nom: VAGABOND

Date: 8 août 1988 - 28 février 1991

Historique de la mission:

Le 8 août 1988, le Canada a annoncé sa participation au GOMNUII, sous le nom d’opération Vagabond. À peine deux jours plus tard, un détachement de reconnaissance de cinq membres s’est rendu dans la zone d’opérations, suivi peu après par l’ensemble du contingent, soit 15 observateurs militaires de l'ONU et une unité de communications comptant environ 500 soldats et 150 véhicules.

Les observateurs militaires de l’ONU devaient fixer les lignes de cessez le feu, vérifier le respect du cessez le feu en faisant enquête sur toutes les violations, et surveiller le repli de la totalité des troupes iraniennes et iraquiennes sur leur propre territoire. L’unité de communications, le 88e Escadron des transmissions du Canada, a été expressément constituée pour cette opération, surtout à partir des effectifs des bases de Petawawa et Kingston. Sa tâche consistait à installer un réseau de communications à la fois en Iran et en Iraq pour le personnel civil du GOMNUII. En mars 1989, les préposés aux transmissions canadiens sont rentrés au pays, leurs tâches étant terminées.

En janvier 1991, les deux parties visées ont accepté de tenir une réunion technique d’experts militaires pour discuter du problème des positions contestées le long des frontières reconnues internationalement et pour tenter d’y trouver une solution. À la fin du mois, les troupes iraniennes s’étaient retirées de 13 des 17 positions contestées et les troupes iraquiennes, de 23 des 29 positions en litige, le tout sous le regard attentif des observateurs militaires de l’ONU. Juste avant l’expiration du mandat du GOMNUII, le Secrétaire général a recommandé sa prolongation pendant un mois afin de surveiller le retrait des forces des positions restantes. Cette surveillance a pu se faire en Iran, mais il a fallu que l’ONU retire son personnel d’Iraq avant la fin du processus à cause du conflit sur le point d’éclater par suite de l’invasion du Koweït par l’Iraq.