Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation LOOKOUT

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation LOOKOUT

International Mission Name: Operation LOOKOUT

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: North America

Mission Date: 8 January 1960 - March 1964

Mission Mandate: The Government of Canada approved the Royal Canadian Air Force's participation with the United States Air Force(USAF) in the development of a ballistic missle detection system.

Mission/Operation Notes:

In the late 1950s, the United States and Soviet Union were rapidly developing more and more advanced intercontinental ballistic missiles (ICBMs). Along with the development of the missiles, both nations were studying means of detecting any incoming missiles. In the United States the Advanced Research Projects Agency (name changed to DARPA in 1972) was designing satellite-based systems to observe ICBMs by detecting the heat from the launch vehicle and then the heat from the warhead re-entering the earth’s atmosphere.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (LOOKOUT)

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Canada was asked to take part in the program, not only because of NORAD and the defence of North America, but also through the work being done by the DND’s Canadian Armaments and Research Development Establishment (CARDE). CARDE was conducting studies on the composition of the atmosphere using infra-red equipment on high-latitude balloons. In addition, Canada had a very useful aircraft for the program. The CF-100 Canuck could reach an altitude of 45,000 feet while equipped in its tip tanks with instruments designed for infra-red detection. It also could carry a heavy payload, had an excellent range and was extremely stable.

Phase I
On 21 September 1959, Air Force Headquarters authorized participation in Operation LOOKOUT, as the Canadian portion of the tests were called. By this time, the ARPA program had been transferred to the USAF. RCAF participation would include two CF-100 Canucks, two flight crews and 24 airmen, plus two defence scientists from CARDE. They would deploy to Ascension Island in the South Atlantic. On 8 January 1960, the two CF-100s (serial numbers 18439 and 18453) flew to the island on the island, accompanied by a 426 Squadron North Star and a C-119 from 436 Squadron carrying the airmen and scientists. During operations from Ascension, the CF-100s measured the infra-red emissions from nose cones re-entering the atmosphere.

Phase II
The second phase would extend from April to June 1961 from Patrick Air Force Base, Florida, where the CF-100s would measure the plume from launches. On tracking flights the CF 100s worked as a team with C-119 and U-2 sensing aircraft.

Phase III
Phase III would continue the work of Phase II, from Patrick AFB and also were be made from Eleuthera, Mayaguana and San Salvador downrange in the Bahamas, commencing September 1961.

On 20 February 1962, the CF-100s at an altitude of 40,000 feet observed the launch of astronaut John Glenn into space. Other astronaut launches included those of Alan Sheppard, Walter Schirra, Scott Carpenter and Gordon Cooper.

During the Lookout missions, and as a favour to NASA, the CF-100s also tested the infra-red scanner that was later deployed on the Nimbus weather satellite.

The CF-100 detachment returned to Canada in the spring of 1964. Over 150 missile launches were observed during phases II and III.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) LOOKOUT

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale : Opération LOOKOUT

Nom de la mission internationale : Opération LOOKOUT

Mandat de l'opération : Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique : Amérique du Nord

Date de début : 8 janvier 1960

Date de fin : mars 1964

Mandat de la mission : Le gouvernement du Canada a approuvé la participation de l’Aviation royale du Canada (ARC) avec la Force aérienne des États-Unis (USAF) dans le développement de systèmes de détection de missiles balistiques.

Notes sur la mission :

Vers la fin des années 1950, les États-Unis (É-U) et l’Union soviétique mettaient au point à un rythme accéléré de missiles balistiques intercontinentaux (ICBM) de plus en plus avancés. Tout en développant des missiles, les deux pays font des recherches dans le but de détecter l’approche des missiles ennemis. Aux É-U l’«Advanced Research Projects Agency» (le nom a changé pour DARPA en 1972) était en train de désigner un système satellitaire pour observer les ICBM en détectant la chaleur du lanceur et de la chaleur quand la charge militaire rentrait dans l’atmosphère terrestre.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (LOOKOUT)

Notes sur la mission :

Le Canada a été prié de participer à ce programme de recherche, non seulement en raison d’être membre du NORAD et des impératifs de la défense de l’Amérique du Nord, mais aussi par le biais des travaux effectués par l’Établissement de recherches et de perfectionnement de l'armement (ÉRPA) relevant du Ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN). ÉRPA faisait des études sur la composition de l’atmosphère en utilisant des ballons équipés d’instruments de détection à infrarouge en latitude élevée. Par ailleurs, le Canada disposait d’un modèle d’avion très utile pour ce programme d’expérimentation. Le CF 100 Canuck pouvait atteindre 45 000 pieds d’altitude tout en transportant des équipements de détection infra-rouge dans les réservoirs de bout d’aile. Aussi, l’avion pouvait transporter une charge utile lourde, offrait un excellent rayon d’action et était extrêmement stable.

Phase I
Le 21 septembre 1959, le Quartier général de la Force aérienne a autorisé la participation à l’Opération Lookout, nom attribué de la composante canadienne des essais. Entretemps, le programme de ARPA a été transféré à l’USAF. La participation de l’ARC a inclus deux CF-100 Canuck, deux équipage de vol et 24 personnel de l’aviation, plus deux scientifiques de l’ÉRPA. Ils se sont déployés à l’Île de l’Ascension dans l’Atlantique sud. Du 8 janvier 1960, deux CF-100 Canuck (numéro de série 18439 et 18453) ont gagné l’île et accompagné un avion North Star du 426e Escadron et un C-119 de 436e Escadron transportant le personnel et les scientifiques. Au cours des opérations sur l’île de l’Ascension, les CF-100 ont mesurés l’émission de l’infra-rouge par la réentrée des ogives dans l’atmosphère.

Phase II
La deuxième phase des travaux, a eu lieu d’avril à juin 1961 à partir de la base aérienne de Patrick en Floride, où les CF-100 ont mesurés le panache au décollage d’engins spatiaux. Les CF-100 ont travaillé de concert avec un C-119 et un U-2 de la USAF sur les suivis des vols.

Phase III
La phase 3 des travaux, réalisés également à de la base de la Force aérienne Patrick à partir de septembre 1961, et aussi à partir de Eleuthera, Mayaguana et San Salvador au Bahamas, consistait à poursuivre les essais de la phase II. Le 20 février 1962, les CF-100 Canuck à une altitude 40 000 pieds ont observé le décollage de l’astronaute John Glenn dans l’espace. Ils ont également assisté au lancement des astronautes de Alan Sherppard, Walter Schirra, Scott Carpenter et Gordon Cooper. Au cours des activités dans le cadre de l’opération Lookout, et en guise de faveur pour la NASA, les avions CF 100 ont aussi fait l’essai du détecteur à infrarouge devant être installé sur le satellite météorologique Nimbus. Le détachement des CF-100 sont retournés au Canada au printemps de 1964. Durant les phases II et III de la série d’essais, les appareils ont observé depuis la base de Patrick le lancement de plus de 150 missiles.