Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation PEACE WINGS

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

PEACE WINGS
Air to air view of 4 CF-101 Voodoo Aircraft flying
in formation over the mountains.

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation PEACE WINGS

International Mission Name: Operation PEACE WINGS

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: North America

Location: United States

Canadian Forces (CF) Information (PEACE WINGS)

Name: PEACE WINGS

Date: 2 July 1970 - 10 January 1972

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement: To exchange 58 older Canadian CF-101 Voodoo aircraft for 66 improved USAF F-101.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

The fifty-eight CF-101 Voodoo which Canada was contributing to North American air defence were nearing the end of their useful operational life by 1969, their performance and capabilities having fallen below those of the more modern Soviet bombers they were meant to intercept. However, as these same Soviet bomber aircraft were themselves becoming less important as a threat to North America – by now, the ballistic missile was the principal Soviet offensive weapon – the question of whether the Voodoos should be replaced (and by what) was a difficult one from the standpoint of cost. As it happened, the United States had available a number of Voodoo aircraft which been modified to permit better low-level performance and whose weapons systems (including radar, radar-detection, and electronic counter-measures) had been improved significantly. It was known that these could be made available to Canada, and on 6 October 1969 a plan was approved to exchange Canada’s fifty-eight CF-101s for sixty-six upgraded USAF Voodoos, the cost difference to be borne by using PINETREE radar-line cost-sharing credits. As a result, Canada would be able to meet its NORAD commitments until at least 1975.

The exchange of aircraft was given the name Operation PEACE WINGS. It began on 2 July1970 when the agreement was signed with the United States and continued until 10 January 1972 when the last of the improved F-101s arrived in Canada.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) PEACE WINGS

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

PEACE WINGS
Vue air-air de quatre appareils CF-101 Voodoo
volant en formation au-dessus des montagnes.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération PEACE WINGS

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération PEACE WINGS

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Amérique du Nord

Lieu: États-Unis

Renseignements de l'opération des FC (PEACE WINGS)

Nom: PEACE WINGS

Date: 2 juillet 1970 - 10 janvier 1972

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne: Échanger 58 vieux chasseurs canadiens CF101 Voodoo contre 66 appareils F101 de l’USAF plus modernes.

Historique de la mission:

En 1969, les 58 chasseurs CF101 Voodoo représentant la contribution canadienne à la défense aérienne de l’Amérique du Nord arrivaient au terme de leur durée utile; d’ailleurs, leur performance et leurs capacités étaient devenus inférieures à ceux des bombardiers soviétiques plus récents qu’ils étaient chargés d’intercepter. Cependant, les bombardiers soviétiques étant eux mêmes devenus une menace secondaire pour l’Amérique du Nord, puisque les Soviétiques misaient désormais sur les missiles balistiques comme arme offensive principale, il était difficile de juger s’il valait la peine de remplacer les chasseurs Voodoo (et par quel modèle), du point de vue des coûts. Or, les États-Unis avaient en trop plusieurs chasseurs Voodoo modifiés pour permettre une meilleure performance à basse altitude et dotés de systèmes d’armes considérablement perfectionnés (notamment un radar, des moyens de détection radar et des contre-mesures électroniques). Sachant que le Canada pouvait les acquérir, le 6 octobre 1969, les autorités des FC ont approuvé un plan en vue d’échanger 58 chasseurs CF101 canadiens contre 66 appareils Voodoo améliorés de l’USAF; la différence de coûts serait assumée grâce aux crédits de partage des coûts s’appliquant au réseau de radar PINETREE. Cette solution de rechange allait permettre au Canada de respecter ses engagements dans le cadre du NORAD au moins jusqu’en 1975.

Cet échange a reçu le nom d’opération Peace Wings. Il a débuté le 2 juillet 1970 avec son approbation par le gouvernement américain et s’est poursuivi jusqu’au 10 janvier 1972, date de l’arrivée au Canada du dernier des appareils F101 améliorés.