Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation ACTIVE SKIES

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

ACTIVE SKIES
Photo by Public Affairs Photographer Warrant Officer Robert
Granger, Director General Public Affairs, Ottawa.

Master Warrant Officer Peter Veldhuizen, an Imagery
Technician with Open Skies Canada, demonstrates
operation of the camera control console for the Russian
inspectors in preparation for the Canadian observation
flight in Russia.

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation ACTIVE SKIES

International Mission Name: Operation ACTIVE SKIES

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: North America

Location: Canada

Mission Date: 1 January 2002 - Present

Mission Mandate: To promote confidence, predictability and stability by allowing over-flights of signatory states.

Mission/Operation Notes:

The idea of an open skies treaty, which would allow signatory states to overfly each other’s territory to promote confidence, predictability and stability, goes back to the Eisenhower administration in the United States in 1955. But it was not until 1990 that a Canadian-Hungarian initiative led to the first meetings in Vienna, supported by the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe. The participants were NATO and Warsaw Pact members, whose negotiations resulted in the Open Skies Treaty signed on 24 March 1992. However, the treaty did not come into effect until 1 January 2002, after the last of the signatories ratified the treaty. Originally, there were 22 signatories, but that number is increasing.

The treaty allows signatories to conduct overflights of other signatory states in unarmed military aircraft. A sensor suite on each aircraft allows specific instruments to take measurements over an area pre-specified in the notification of an inspection. The sensors include optical framing and panoramic cameras, video cameras and synthetic aperture radars, with infra-red line scanners coming into use in 2006. The data gathered is shared with any signatory requesting the information. The treaty also created the Open Skies Consultative Commission in Vienna as a consultative body, to clarify issues and to propose amendments to the treaty. The hope is to reduce the fear and instability resulting from suspicions of secret weapons development and deployment.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (ACTIVE SKIES)

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Canadian participation in the Open Skies Treaty consists of three different operations. Op ACTIVE SKIES involves Canada’s conducting a treaty overflight over the territory of another signatory. Op TRANSIT SKIES involves an aircraft from another country overflying Canada enroute to a country in which an overflight will be conducted. Op PASSIVE SKIES involves an actual overflight of Canada.

The value of the Open Skies Treaty can be seen in the fact that it is being considered in South America either as a bilateral or multilateral arrangement between neighbours. Similar treaties have been generated as part of the Dayton Accord (Bosnia-Herzegovina) and between Hungary and Romania, the latter having been in force since 1992.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) ACTIVE SKIES

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

ACTIVE SKIES
Photo: Adjudant Robert Granger, photographe des Affaires
publiques, Sous ministre adjoint (Affaires publiques), Ottawa.

L’Adjudant-maître Peter Veldhuizen, un technicien en imagerie
au sein de l’équipe canadienne « Ciels ouverts », montre le
fonctionnement de la console de contrôle de caméras à des
inspecteurs russes en préparation du vol d’observation
canadienne en Russie.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération Active Skies

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération Active Skies

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Amérique du Nord

Lieu: Canada

Date: 1 janvier 2002 - Présent

Mandat de la mission: Accroître la confiance, la prévisibilité et la stabilité en autorisant des survols au-dessus des États signataires.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

L’idée d’un traité sur le régime de ciel ouvert permettant aux États signataires d’effectuer des vols au-dessus du territoire de chacun pour accroître la confiance, la prévisibilité et la stabilité remonte à l’administration Eisenhower aux États-Unis, en 1955. Mais c’est seulement en 1990 qu’une initiative conjointe du Canada et de la Hongrie a mené aux premières réunions en ce sens à Vienne, avec l’appui de la Conférence sur la sécurité et la coopération en Europe. Les pays de l’OTAN et les États membres du Pacte de Varsovie ont participé à ces négociations, qui ont abouti à la signature du Traité Ciels ouverts le 24 mars 1992. Toutefois, ce traité n’est entré en vigueur que le 1er janvier 2002, une fois ratifié par le dernier des États signataires. Il y avait au départ 22 pays adhérents, mais leur nombre augmente.

Le traité autorise les États signataires à effectuer des survols au-dessus des autres États signataires avec des appareils militaires non armés. Grâce à un ensemble d’instruments de détection à bord de chaque appareil, on peut prendre des mesures précises par rapport à un secteur indiqué au préalable dans la notice d’inspection. Les moyens de détection comprennent des caméras à monture optique et panoramiques, des caméras vidéos et des radars à synthèse d'ouverture. Depuis 2006, on utilise également des balayeurs linéaires infrarouge. Les données recueillies sont transmises à tout pays signataire qui souhaite les obtenir. Ce traité a aussi établi à Vienne la Commission consultative « Ciels ouverts », qui est chargée de clarifier les enjeux et de proposer des modifications au contenu du traité. Ce dernier a été conclu dans l’espoir de diminuer les craintes et l’instabilité dues aux soupçons selon lesquels d’autres pays mettent au point et utilisent des armes secrètes.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (ACTIVE SKIES)

Historique de la mission :

Le Canada participe aux activités entourant le Traité Ciels ouverts dans le cadre de trois opérations distinctes. L’opération Active Skies correspond aux survols effectués par des appareils canadiens au-dessus d’autres pays signataires. L’opération Transit Skies porte sur les appareils étrangers qui passent au-dessus du Canada afin d’aller survoler un autre pays. Enfin, l’opération Passive Skies désigne les vols effectués au dessus du Canada.

Le Traité Ciels ouverts s’avère très utile, comme en témoigne l’intention des pays sud-américains de conclure des accords bilatéraux ou multilatéraux similaires avec les États voisins. Des traités semblables ont été conclus dans le cadre de l'Accord de Dayton (Bosnie-Herzégovine) de même qu’entre la Hongrie et la Roumanie, ce dernier traité s’appliquant depuis 1992.