Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Mexico 1985

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Active Skies Image

International Information

International Operation Name: Mexico 1985

International Mission Name: Mexico 1985

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: North America

Location: Mexico

Mission Date: 19 September 1985 - 26 September 1985

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement: To airlift aid to Mexico City after a major earthquake.

Operation Notes:

Mexico City is built upon an ancient lake, which since the Spanish conquest of the Aztecs has been slowly filled in to allow for the expansion of the city. During earthquakes, the compacted clay vibrates much like a bowl of jelly. The magnitude 8.1 earthquake (the Michoacan Earthquake) that struck Mexico on 19 September caused little damage to towns built on solid ground near the epicentre, 320 km southeast of Mexico City. However, the soil under Mexico City accentuated the vibrations of the earth and wreaked havoc on 5 to 10 story buildings – large areas of the city were literally shaken apart with over 3500 buildings destroyed or seriously damaged. The earth’s movements created the most damaging earthquake in Mexico City’s history. More than 10,000 people perished with over 40,000 injured.

International assistance was almost immediate. Aid and relief brigades came from Algeria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, France, Germany, Great Britain, Israel, the Netherlands, Nicaragua, Panama, Spain, Switzerland, Venezuela, the United States, and 27 other nations. 681 tons of medicines were sent, and 353.5 tons of instruments and medical equipment; 1637.6 tons of food, 1432.5 tons of machinery and vehicles, 137.3 tons of accessories, 1253.7 tons of clothing, blankets and camping equipment, 43 tons of other equipment and 159.8 tons of rescue equipment.

On 19 September, a 424 Squadron Buffalo flew to Mexico City with a cargo of blankets and medical supplies. The two crews included Search and Rescue technicians and were prepared to evacuate Canadians who wished to leave. As there were no users of this service, the Buffalo and crews were offered to the Mexican Government but were not employed. They returned to Canada on the 26th. A CF Hercules also transported 14 civilian rescue workers and brought relief supplies from CFB Edmonton to Mexico City.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Mexique 1985

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Mexique 1985

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Mexique 1985

Nom de la mission internationale: Mexique 1985

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Amérique du Nord

Lieu: Mexique

Date: 19 septembre 1985 - 26 septembre 1985

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne: Transporter de l’aide à Mexico par voie aérienne après un séisme majeur.

Historique de la mission:

Mexico est construite sur un ancien lac qui, depuis la conquête du pays des Aztèques par les Espagnols, a été lentement rempli afin de permettre à la ville de s’agrandir. Pendant un tremblement de terre, l’argile compactée vibre comme un bol de gelée. Le séisme d’une magnitude de 8,1 (dit du Michoacán) qui a secoué le Mexique le 19 septembre n’a causé que peu de dommages aux villes bâties sur le sol ferme près de l’épicentre, à 320 km au sud-est de Mexico. Mais le sol sous la ville de Mexico a accentué les vibrations de la terre et a fait des ravages sur des édifices de 5 à 10 étages –de vastes secteurs de la ville ont littéralement été dévastés, avec plus de 3 500 immeubles détruits ou sérieusement endommagés. Les mouvements de la terre ont causé le séisme entraînant le plus de dommages dans l’histoire de Mexico. Plus de 10 000 personnes ont péri et 40 000 ont été blessées.

L’aide internationale a été presque immédiate. Des brigades d’aide et de secours sont venues d’Algérie, de Belgique, du Brésil, du Canada, de Colombie, du Costa Rica, de Cuba, de France, d'Allemagne, de Grande-Bretagne, d’Israël, des Pays-Bas, du Nicaragua, du Panama, d'Espagne, de Suisse, du Venezuela, des États Unis et de 27 autres nations. On a envoyé 681 tonnes de médicaments, et 353,5 tonnes d’instruments et d'équipement médicaux; 1 637,6 tonnes de nourriture; 1 432,5 tonnes de machinerie et de véhicules; 137,3 tonnes d’accessoires; 1 253,7 tonnes de vêtements, de couvertures et de matériel de camping; 43 tonnes d’autre matériel; et 159,8 tonnes de matériel de sauvetage.

Le 19 septembre, un Buffalo du 424e Escadron s’est envolé à destination de Mexico avec une cargaison de couvertures et de fournitures médicales. Les deux équipes comprenaient des techniciens en recherche et en sauvetage et étaient prêtes à évacuer les Canadiens qui souhaitaient quitter le Mexique. Comme personne ne voulait utiliser ce service, le Buffalo et son équipage ont été offerts au gouvernement du Mexique, qui n'y a pas eu recours. Ils sont retournés au Canada le 26. Un Hercules des FC a également transporté 14 secouristes civils et des fournitures de secours de la BFC Edmonton à Mexico.