No Higher Purpose: The Official Operational History of the Royal Canadian Navy in the Second World War, 1939-1945 Volume II Part 1



by W.A.B Douglas, Roger Sarty, Michael Whitby with Robert H. Caldwell, William Johnston and William G.P. Rawling


In April 1943, the Royal Canadian Navy assumed responsibility for Canadian Northwest Atlantic Command, the only operational area to be run by a Canadian Commander-in-Chief during the Second World War. No Higher Purpose, Part 1 of the Official Operational History of the RCN in the Second World War, describes the RCN's long, challenging journey from the outbreak of the war in September 1939 to the momentous events of Spring 1943.

Based upon extensive research in Canadian, British, American and German archives, No Higher Purpose describes the mobilization of the naval service during the first half of the war, measures its response to the demanding, ever-changing strategic situations that confronted the Allies, and analyses the service of our ships and sailors on the North Atlantic, Pacific and Mediterranean seas as well as the defence of Canadian waters.

With the main focus on the Battle of the Atlantic, this important and well-illustrated history demonstrates how Canadian naval forces proved indispensable to victory in that most critical campaign of the Second World War.

Part 2, which will cover operations until the end of the war, will be published in both languages in 2006/2007.

Rien de plus noble : Histoire officielle de la Marine royale du Canada pendant la Deuxième Guerre, 1939-1945 Volume II, Partie 1



par W.A.B Douglas, Roger Sarty, Michael Whitby et Robert H. Caldwell, William Johnston et William G.P. Rawling.


Au mois d'avril 1943, la Marine royale du Canada prenait charge du Commandement canadien de l'Atlantique du nord-ouest, la seule zone opérationnelle qui fut confiée à un commandant en chef canadien pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. La première partie de l'histoire officielle des opérations de la MRC pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, intitulée Rien de plus noble, raconte la longue et difficile progression accomplie depuis le début de la guerre, au mois de septembre 1939, jusqu'à ce tournant décisif du printemps 1943.

S'appuyant sur des recherches approfondies dans les archives canadiennes, britanniques, américaines et allemandes, Rien de plus noble décrit la mobilisation du service naval pendant la première moitié de la guerre, évalue ses réponses aux exigences de la situation stratégique toujours changeante des Alliés et analyse la performance de nos navires et de nos marins, aussi bien dans les océans atlantiques et pacifiques que dans la Méditerranée et à l'intérieur des eaux territoriales canadiennes.

Cette histoire riche et abondamment illustrée, en s'intéressant de façon particulière à la Bataille de l'Atlantique, montre le rôle indispensable joué par la marine canadienne dans cette phase cruciale de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

La deuxième partie, couvrant le reste des opérations jusqu'à la fin de la guerre, paraîtra vers 2006-2007, en anglais comme en français.